Herb Lodde & Sons Roofing Ltd

Roofing
4129 Harvester Road. Unit D Burlington ON L7L 0C1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Roofing
Herb Lodde & Sons Roofing Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

96%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 2 timesBest of 2019winner 2 times

Reviews for Herb Lodde & Sons Roofing Ltd

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (146 reviews)

Sort by

Marco Canzoneri from St. Catharines
Marco Canzoneri from St. Catharines
1 review St Catharines, ON
9/10

Roof Repair

My wife and I woke up to water dripping on our bed. Most people I called couldn't come out for weeks. Steve from Herb Lodde & Sons was able to fit me in short notice, same day. The next morning they had a tarp on my My roof was repaired within the week, on budget and my roof is better than before. Great work, friendly service. Thank you HL&S team.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We consider a leaky roof something that needs immediate attention. Glad to hear it's better than ever!

Thanks,

Heather Lodde

Bob Bosch from St. Catharines
Bob Bosch from St. Catharines
2 reviews Saint Catharines, ON
10/10

re-roof

My roof was approx 20 years old and in need of replacement. I contacted Herb Lodde Roofing and the did an excellent job re-roofing my house. The site was left as they found it. They went over the whole yard and driveway with a magnet and picked up any nails. I would recommend this company to any one who needs a new roof.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We pride ourselves on our quality work and that includes the clean-up. Thanks for the kind words, Bob.

All the Best,

Heather Lodde

Joe from St. Catharines
Joe from St. Catharines
1 review Saint Catharines, ON
2/10

Two bdr apartment renovation

I wanted new floors, new kitchen, new washroom, front door, closet doors and two bedroom doors, all trim and baseboards, all painting, and some soundproof insulation between two walls. The workmanship is very 2nd rate.

The floor has gaps between the jambs and the floor, no undercut done. They used normal insulation between the walls, so I can still hear my tenants and they can hear me. Lots more painting needs to be done, you can see where it needs it. All the doors need more paint, brush strokes everywhere. Caulking not done properly, gaps everywhere. Counter has chip marks at the edge where it was cut. All the plumbing leaked. I had to have it fixed right away, no one would come so my tenant who is a plumber fixed it so they could use the water and the sink the first night they moved in. Work space was very messy. Little scratches on the new floor since junk was all over it. Thinset splashed onto the washer and dryer and the laundry tub where it was mixed, the tenant cleaned it. Not enough of the same tiles in the washroom, so a different tile was put down, you can see the difference. No tiles were sealed to make it more water resistance, they said they don’t do that, so now I will have to seal it. They like to dictate what a customer should have. I wanted it sealed, he said no. Backsplash doesn’t have edges put with it, so sharp edges are present. Wrong counter top for the counter, so it didn’t fit properly. Paint on all the new hinges and on the fixtures. Square cuts, rounded hinges, except two hinges are square. I was told the painting of the doors wasn’t included in the contract and they did it for free. This wasn’t mentioned at all in the beginning. I thought when you install a new door, part of it is to paint it. I asked for a new front door, and asked him will you do everything on it. He said yes. They left the trim unpainted and just plaster around the door, so I have to get a tall ladder to finish sanding it and paint the trim and wall. All of the new trim feels grainy with bumps on it, not smooth at all. No grout under the baseboard in the washroom. I fought with the boss to get them to remove the toilet to at least grout underneath it. He kept saying that no one does that. Can’t talk about any issues with fighting or being accused for wanting freebies even though I said I will pay for extras. Some of the paint will come off the jambs since it wasn’t prepped first, it is already bubbling ready to crack. Some of the baseboard heaters were not screwed back , I now have to do it, but there is a big space behind it since they removed some of the baseboard and didn’t put nothing back there. Dust was everywhere, so the tenant cleaned it all. Screws and a smoke alarm backing was painted over. Above the kitchen counters, on the ceiling is unfinished, you can see where the existing cupboards were, like a lot, it’s bumpy and yellow. Some of the mudding wasn’t sanded and it’s all bumpy and painted over. A switch plate was cut in half and now is cracked. The tenants have a daughter that could get a finger in there and be cut or electrocuted. I will have to either move the box or cut the trim and put a new plate on. Two closet poles was thrown out so I had to buy two new ones. The tub spout shot water backwards and went in-between the new wall and into my basement. They took almost a week to fix it, so the tenants had to take baths everyday, which is more money for us to pay.

When I hired them he said he would get a few guys in there, but most of the time it was one guy working from morning till night. I could have done it myself if that was the case. I hired this company to get the job done on time and with “Quality.” The job was not done on time, and even before it was finished, I kept getting phone calls to come in and sign the papers. I called the boss to come and look at the job. he would not come and when he did, it was because my wife told the secretary that we won’t sign till he comes to look. When I was telling him about the tile, he just said it was a different box of tiles, but the same tiles. And when I was going to tell him about some other stuff, he said that I got freebies like the painting of the doors that I had no idea about. The contract is very vague and when questioned about it, he grew upset. I felt I couldn’t tell him about anything since twice it was a fight on the phone. I didn’t want any more confrontations, so we signed the papers to be able to rid them from my house. I now have to fix all the problems, it’s a good thing I used to be a renovator and a painter and have the tools for it, imagine if I was an old lady. I don’t know anything about the roofing side of this company so I won’t talk bad about that, but do not trust them in your house for any work. The quality is very low, 2nd rate. For $30, 000 I expected a lot more, and more perfection, not where I have to go and fix everything. The boss would never check their work and see if it was done right. I know I can’t do anything about it since we signed the papers already to say the work is finished. But I couldn’t take the stress or the arguments anymore. This review is to save others stress and their money. I told them if you do a good job I will hire you to do a full basement reno, I have a large unfinished basement. I also told them that my dad needed a drop ceiling put in, but he wanted to see what kind of work they do. After he saw the work, he refused to have them in his house. He hired someone else to install the drop ceiling. Since the injury of my arm, I am not able to continue to do renovations jobs for other people. Now I have people calling me asking me to recommend someone else. I told them not to hire Quality interiors that is part of Herb Lodde. I told them I don’t know about their roofing but for indoor renos, hire someone else besides them. I got a call the other day to install 700sqf of hardwood flooring. I gave the job to another company. Quality Interior took my money, and I will pay, I’m good for it, but we are not happy with the work at all.

The workers were very nice and respectful and hard working. If anyone wants to see if I'm truthful, you are more than welcome to take a look. docj4life@gmail.com

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Joe,
I want to apologize for taking so long to reply to your review. I have to say, I took the review very personally on both a professional & personal level. I have worked in the construction industry for over 20 years and have never been accused of not doing a quality job. I take great pride in the work that we do as a company & great pride in the people we employ. I’ve read your review numerous times so that I can approach your issues with our work on a professional level, rather than an emotional level.
I feel as though we have a very detailed contract outlining the scope of work to be done, but perhaps we could become even more detailed as the issues you had with our work were not part of our contract. (sealant, back splash, door paint) We feel it’s important for the customer to know exactly what they can expect & perhaps there were too many assumptions made on your part, that we were not clear about.
It’s also difficult to work under an extremely tight time line. Inevitably in construction, things don’t always go as planned, so it is also our job to let the customer know that although we will do our very best to get the job done on schedule, there has to be a little room for flexibility to offset such constraints. The more constraints we have for time, leaves us with no additional time to do any extra’s the customer might want done. I believe I was at the job site on at least 5 occasions to go over this with you.
I refuse to go into any mudslinging about what was said or done on your part & am more than happy to go over your issues with you. I am confident in the work we have done for you. Our employee’s are very experienced, knowledgeable, and pleasant and I will stand behind all work set out in our contract. As I have said before to you, my door is always open, & my phone is always on.
Thank you,
Manny DeMelo

Mark Nicholls from Welland
Mark Nicholls from Welland
1 review Welland, ON
10/10

Roofing

Amazing service!!! In the summer of 2013, the roof of my 18 year old home needed replacement. I interviewed all the major roofing companies in the Niagara Region, and ended up selecting Lodde Roofing. As a business owner myself, I took the selection very seriously. In January of 2014, I needed service from Lodde roofing during our tough winter. While the problem I was experiencing was not even part of their work, Lodde Roofing was everything you would hope to experience from a vendor. They were prompt, focused, professional and simply amazing. Even though the problem i was experiencing was not part of the work they did, they promptly assisted me, and DID NOT even charge me for their assistance. This is a great company and extremely professional. I would STRONGLY recommend them for anyone's roofing needs in the Niagara Region. In many instances, you get what you pay for,…by selecting Lodde Roofing, I got far more value. You can bet that they will be my only call the next time I need any roofing. Worth every penny i paid, and was standing there even after the initial sale. I cannot say enough about them and my satisfaction in their initial work and follow-up service. Best Choice in the region for roofing.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the kind words, Mark. I'm happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

All the Best,

Heather Lodde

John from Woodland Hills
John from Woodland Hills
1 review Woodland Hills, CA
9/10

roof and siding

The crew that they had was great. When they originally came out to give a quote on my roof they made some suggestions and helped me decided what would be best. They were polite, efficient and most importantly honest and straightforward. The crew wanted to get the job done, so they spent an extra three hours at the end of the night. I was impressed with their work ethic. I’m satisfied with the workmanship and have hired them again to do a siding project. I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

One of the biggest compliments we can get from a customer is having them hire us for a second (or third..or fourth...) project. We really appreciate your continued business.

Best Regards,

Heather Lodde

Dave from Burlington
Dave from Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

shingles replaced

Right from the time he came into our house to the time they left was a good experience. We had our shingles replaced. with 50 years lifetime warranty shingles. I’ve passed their name on to at least 5 or 6 people. They are people you can trust, you don’t feel like you’ve been ripped off. It was a pleasure doing business with them; they followed through on what they said they would do. It was an overall good experience. which is rare these days.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It's good to hear you're happy with the work we did. Thanks for passing our name along to your friends, Dave.

Best Regards,

Heather Lodde

Tony from Woodland Hills
Tony from Woodland Hills
1 review Woodland Hills, CA
10/10

redid roof

Herb Lodde & Sons redid our roof, they did a good job. Very clean very, professional, always were on time. I hired them because they have a history of doing quality work in the community I live in.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our reputation is only as good as our last job, so we take pride in every project we complete. If you ever need anything else, don't hesitate to call.

All the Best,

Heather Lodde

Hildi from Woodland Hills
Hildi from Woodland Hills
1 review Woodland Hills, CA
10/10

replaced our windows, our patio doors, they cleaned all the balconies.

They replaced our windows, our patio doors, they cleaned all the balconies. The patio doors were all done at once as well as the balconies, the windows we did over time. We are happy with the work, they are great to work with. If there was a problem they would come right out to fix it, no hassle.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, Hildi. I'm glad to hear you're satisfied with the work we did.

Best Regards,

Heather Lodde

John from Woodland Hills
John from Woodland Hills
1 review Woodland Hills, CA
9/10

roof and more

The first job they did was replacing the roof. We then hired them again to completely renovate our bathroom. The bathroom is fabulous, we have no complaints! On both jobs they did a very good job, were clean and on time. If there were ever any changes that needed to be made they explained in detail what they were and made sure we were ok with it. We will most likely be hiring them back to do a skylight job and are sure that will handle just as wonderfully as their past work. We have been extremely pleased with the job they have done.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm happy to hear you love your new roof and renovated bathroom. Thank you for choosing us again and again.

All the Best,

Heather Lodde

Don from Woodland Hills
Don from Woodland Hills
1 review Woodland Hills, CA
10/10

backyard reno

We had an extensive renovation of our backyard done. We moved into the house in 2010 and liked the house but we did not like the backyard. It had a lot of gardens with upkeep, and fences needed repair. So we had the backyard gutted, a new deck put in, new fencing, new shed, and also had a roof put over half of the deck. The crew is courteous, friendly, and one of the things we really admired was how easy they were to get along with, they go the extra mile. We contracted them because we weren’t looking for something really cheap, our concern was quality at a reasonable price and we got the final product we were looking for. We gave them an idea of what we were looking for and they came through with the design and a variety of suggestions all of which were very good. We’ve hired them back to do other jobs and they have returned in the spring to help plough and dig out a section of the front yard for increased parking. I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, Don. We really appreciate your continued business.

All the Best,

Heather Lodde

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Herb Lodde & Sons Roofing Ltd

Herb Lodde & Sons Roofing are a full service roofing company specializing in all aspects of roofing including, cedar, laminate, flat, skylights & suntunnels in the Burlington, St. Catherines and Hamilton area

Herb Lodde & Sons Roofing also offers the following through our sister company, Quality Exteriors & Custom Interiors: siding, windows, doors, eaves trough, decks, fences and custom renovations.

Herb Lodde & Sons Roofing uses the brands CertainTeed Master Shingler and Gentek Premium Renovator's.

We are Velux Certified Installers and GAF Master Elite Certified.

Herb Lodde & Sons Roofing is also a member of the Better Business Bureau, Niagara Home Builders Association, Chamber of Commerce. We offer a 10 year workmanship warranty.

CATEGORIES
Roofing
SERVICES
We provide quality roof replacement and repair, siding installation, and insulation for customers throughout Southern Ontario, from Oakville to the Niagara region.
BRANDS
GAF Master Elite Certified CertainTeed Master Shingler Gentek Premium Renovator's Velux Certified Installers
WEBSITE
http://www.lodderoofing.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1964
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
40
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Cash, Visa, MasterCard, Debit
MEMBERSHIPS
Better Business Bureau, Niagara Home Builders Association, Chamber of Commerce
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
10-Year Workmanship
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.