Excel Homes

Builders
200-1710 14 Avenue NW Calgary AB T2N 1M5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

77%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Excel Homes

Average customer rating:
7.7 10 (160 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
1/10

Poor customer service

Very poor customer service. Have had to fight for the service that the promise in the purchase agreement. Six month walk thru issues still outstanding after one year. One year walk thru done but no response or follow up by excell. All in all the worst company I have dealt with regarding warranty of it product and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
T&G in Walden
T&G in Walden
1 review Calgary, AB
1/10

Sub Standard Driveway - Refusal to Repair

We moved into our new home in December, 2017. We were unable to seal our driveway due to winter weather. By April when the snow finally melted the driveway was pitted all over. Excel refused to repair as it wasn't over 10% of the total driveway affected. Other builders in the area took responsibility for sub par concrete work and had the driveways sandblasted and sealed. We now have a 10 month old home with a driveway that requires expensive repair work. Excel has been a challenge to work with. They are certainly willing to fix small items, paint chips, damaged lights, etc. but not anything major. If this is what Excel considers acceptable work, I am very concerned about the overall quality of our new home.

Was this review helpful?
Sekhon Savinderpal in Calgary
Sekhon Savinderpal in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Worst home buying experience

Worst home buying experience
Paid much than my friend
And got alot frustrating
As every problem with home is said to be normal
No one even hear what you want they have only no
Never care for your feelings
Thanks and Sorry if this hurt someone

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sekhon, We are so sorry to hear that this was your experience with us. If you would be willing to discuss your concerns further, we would love to look into them and try to make things right. Thank you.

LL in High River
LL in High River
1 review High River, AB
2/10

VERY DISSATISFIED ABOUT AFTER SALES CUSTOMER SERVICES

On the day of they came for the "11 month warranty assessment", I report my damaged driveway, the Excel Homes staff refuse to fix it and said "Excel Home can do nothing about it, it is your problem not to maintenance well the house." THEN HE LEFT! until now, no staff come again to do my 11 month warranty assessment, they just pass it.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi LL, We are so sorry to hear that you have items in your home which have not yet been inspected as part of your 11 month walkthrough. If you could please get in touch with us at: customercare@excelhomes.ca with your address and information, we will set up an inspection for you right away. Thank you.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
2/10

Savanna Calgary NE

The quality is not up to the standards. I island in the kitchen wobbles even if kids walk 6 feet in the surrounding. The floor feels like card board as it is too noisy in bigger rooms. Their rep initially realized that there are issues bit later he said its normal. I have checked my friends house brand new from Homes by Avi there is no such issue with the island. I was already doubting the way the finished the house in no time and hand it over to us. The back side room on top of garage was shaking like in earthquacks when the wind was gusting only 60 km/h. Again their rep said next time please make a video or let us know if there is any crack occur.
I m contineously following up with him but he is using delaying tactics with me.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that this is the experience that you have had. Could you please reach out to our Customer Care team at: customercare@excelhomes.ca and provide them with your information so that we can have your concerns investigated further? Thank you!

Rodricks in Calgary
Rodricks in Calgary
1 review Cochrane, AB
10/10

First Time Home Buyers

We are first time home buyers and had a lot of questions, but Charla, Macy and Josip were very helpful throughout our homebuilding process. They were very patient and had an answer to all our questions. We love our new home but we really wish some of the changes/choices we wanted to make were considered instead we were told they are builder choices and cannot be changed. I would still recommend Excel Homes as its a painless buying/ building process.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing your experience and for your kind words about Charla, Maci and Josip :) We hope you are settling in well in Heartland, and welcome to the Excel family! :)

Kristen B. in Calgary
Kristen B. in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
8/10

Stunning home in MountainView

Stunning home! The Brentwood in Mountainview is unlike any floor plan I have ever seen. It works so perfectly and people are just stunned at our beautiful home. I enjoy every minute of cooking in that stunning kitchen!! Great sales and construction team. I really can't say enough for the experience. My only negative review is that I wish we could make more changes when it came to windows and lighting. For the price of the home, I felt that was a bit on the cheap side.... but overall I would definitely recommend to build with them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kristen, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We hope you are settling in well in Mountainview! Welcome to the Excel family :)

Michael in Calgary
Michael in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
2/10

Excel Mahogany

The sales team was friendly and knowledgable but was misleading with regard to timelines and quality. The quietly of the construction was average at best. Excel pushed the schedule on many homes in the area to try and build them too fast. This lead to people taking possession of the homes prior to Excel having the land title. This resulted in additional charges to the home owners from the bank. Excel refused to respond to requests for us to recover these funds from them. After four months of calls and emails we recovered 2/3 of the funds. We are now living in the home for 6 months and the exterior is still not complete. I would not recommend building with Excel.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Michael, Thank you again for your feedback. With regards to the land title concern, we absolutely understand the position that this situation put you all in, and we have been working with our developer partners to ensure that this does not happen again going forward.

The issue with the registration was not something that we had any control over, and we wish that would could have had the information earlier than we did to make our customers aware. There was a delay on the developer side which was out of their control, and then a larger delay due to the system crashing at the land title office. Though it was out of our control, we feel terrible for the ways in which our customers were affected and that is why we tried to provide you with something to help take the sting out of the situation.

If there are any exterior items that you are concerned about completion of, please let us know and we will look into this for you right away.

Thank you,

Michelle Rogers-Customer Experience Manager

ARBaker in Cochrane
ARBaker in Cochrane
1 review Cochrane, AB
10/10

Service

If you are in the market for a well designed, quality home, look no further than Excel Homes in Sunset Ridge, Cochrane, AB.

Specifically, if you are looking for someone to guide you through the process and navigate every aspect of designing your home, look no further than Area Sales Manager Michelle Walker.

My husband and I recently designed a home with Michelle and were nothing less than impressed with her level of service and expertise. Neither one of us are particularly easy to please, being in the service industry ourselves. It was nice to finally receive service that not only met but exceeded our expectations.

Michelle was knowledgeable, kind, patient, never pushy and very understanding. We had several questions that we needed answers on in order to move past certain parts in the process and Michelle diligently sought those answers from experts in her industry.

Michelle is a genuinely good person with a desire to help. She’s not happy until you’re happy. Having someone like this on our side was tremendous. Her standards are far above ‘bare minimum.’

She is proud of the company she works for, backs their product and their practices 100%. Excel Homes is lucky to have such an advocate working for them.

I have no doubt that they see her value but I feel it’s important to spread the word and sing her praises. Give credit where credit is due.

If you are considering building, I recommend Excel Homes. If you want the best service and representation available, work with Michelle- she will take care of you.

Michelle Walker - highest recommendation to this fabulous woman!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We are so happy to hear that you had such a great experience with Michelle and will be sure to pass this along to her. Welcome to Sunset Ridge and the Excel family!

Michelle Rogers-Customer Experience Manager

Cynthia in Calgary
Cynthia in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Quality of Heartland

I am so happy with my new Excel home. From the moment I began my new home search I felt as though I would be satisfied with this company because of their caring attitudes. They have continued to prove themselves with their professionalism.
Heartland is a fantastic community and I am anxious to see how it continues to grow.
If I could change anything in my home it would be the bathtub and the colour of my siding.
I feel excited knowing I am a part of this community.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Cynthia! Thank you so much for sharing your experience :) Welcome to Heartland and the Excel family! :)

Michelle Rogers-Customer Experience Manager

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Excel Homes

Excel Homes is a forward-thinking, energetic company, committed to creating innovative and thoughtfully designed homes. Since building our first house in 1988 we’ve focused on the evolving needs of our homebuyers to provide unparalleled value.

Looking to minimize our environmental footprint, and find new ways to add value, we joined the Built Green® program in 2007. To date we’ve built over 2,200 Built Green® homes, are the second largest registrant in Canada, and are the proud recipients of a Built Green® Champion Award.

With 25-years of experience, over 10,000 single-family homes built, and 50 builder awards for design excellence, Excel Homes is honoured to be one of greater Calgary’s leading builders.

CATEGORIES
Builders
WEBSITE
http://www.excelhomes.ca/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1988
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.