Aegis Locksmiths A Division Of Aegis Lockworks Ltd

Locks & Locksmiths
7020 82 Avenue NW Edmonton AB T6B0E7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Locks & Locksmiths in Strathcona  >  Aegis Locksmiths A Division Of Aegis Lockworks Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

73%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Aegis Locksmiths A Division Of Aegis Lockworks Ltd

Average customer rating:
8.2 10 (10 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Installing electronic deadbolts

Aegis Locksmiths A Division Of Aegis Lockworks Ltd
780-465-0182
7020 82 Avenue NW
Edmonton
AB
T6B0E7
CANADA

I got these guys to come install two electronic deadbolts I had bought previously. They were unable to figure out how after reading through the instructions. I later had a friend come over who has never installed one before and managed to get it no problem by the provided instructions.

Was this review helpful?
Karen M from Edmonton
Karen M from Edmonton
6 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Lock Rekeying

I needed two Weiser deadbolts re-keyed on my exterior doors. I called Aegis yesterday and although they could have sent someone right away, I asked for service today. Ron arrived at the agreed upon time, reviewed the work to be done, and then advised me of the extra costs I may have due to the possibility of the smart locks failing. After that he set to work and had the job done in about 15-20 minutes or maybe even less. Very nice gentleman, professional and easy to talk to, and I appreciated his extra tips and information about my doors/locks. Quality service all around. I highly recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Tara from Edmonton
Tara from Edmonton
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Locks Re-keyed on Newly Purchased Home

We pre-booked Aegis several days in advance to re-key all of the locks after we took possession of our new home. The gentleman who did the service called on the requested day to confirm what time we wanted him to come over. The work didn't take long and he was professional and polite. He was also not phased that we had a number of other people around the house working on the same day - just went about his thing and did a great job!

Was this review helpful?
Megan from Edmonton
Megan from Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Re-key & key cutting

I had a work vehicle re-keyed and new keys cut last week by Aegis. The staff were extremely helpful and completed the re-key and key cutting in an hour! I would recommend Aegis to my friends and family and will return for future services as needed. Thanks Aegis!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Mihaela Ilovan from Edmonton
Mihaela Ilovan from Edmonton
3 reviews Edmonton, AB

First Review

10/10

Rekey whole home

We just moved in our first home and wanted to rekey all the locks in the house and the garage. I called Aegis this morning, they gave me an estimate and told me they could send in a guy to do the job on the same day. Sure enough, just before noon, Michel (Mike) came in, and in less than an hour he rekeyed six locks and made me five sets of keys. He was very knowledgeable and personable and the whole interaction with him and his company was a pleasurable, stress-free experience. I will definitely use them again when we decide to upgrade the locks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Susan McLeod from Edmonton
Susan McLeod from Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
2/10

Locks rekeyed

I called this company based on the reviews. I asked for my two locks to be changed. I didn't know that I should have asked for them to be "re-keyed". The locksmith asked how many new keys I would like and I asked for 3. He asked if I would like new brass door knobs. Since I don't know anything about re-keying locks, I assumed they had to be replaced so I said yes. He asked to use my current key, so I gave it to him. He then replaced the door knobs and keyed them to my current key. He said the job was finished.
I asked him why the new locks worked with my current key when I wanted the locks changed. He said that I had only requested new door knobs. I said I asked that the locks be changed and why did he ask me how many new keys I would need? He said that he hadn't asked me that and began to argue with me. He said I should have asked for the locks to be re-keyed if that's what I wanted. He then re-keyed the locks as requested, but was annoyed and quite impolite.

He gave me the bill which was now $252.00 (including tax). He had crossed out the old amount and added the extra for his communication mistake.

I would not recommend this company to anyone because he did not communicate clearly and became quite argumentative with the customer (me) and was clearly annoyed.

Later, he called me (after he'd seen the review) and tried to find out what was wrong. Although he wasn't as argumentative this time, he did not offer to compensate me or try to make the job satisfactory. In fact, now the new keys and door knobs do not work properly and I have to jiggle them for several minutes before they finally open. I am afraid that one day they won't open at all, so now I only lock the deadbolt (which still works with my old keys). I sincerely wish I had never contacted this company.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We have reviewed this customer's concerns and attempted to resolve this matter to her satisfaction. Unfortunately there still appears to be a communication problem. The invoice in which she claims the labour was increased to cover the "communication mistake" was actually reduced. On our copy of the invoice the original amount is still visible and the new labour charge is less. She was not charged to rekey her locks and she was not charged for keys. This was all explained to her at the time. Her locks were in very poor condition and needed replacing and she did get the keys changed as she wanted and new locks installed for less money than it would have been if she had been charged for the whole entire job.

We have tried to contact her to offer to reinstall her old locks, however she did not return our calls. We have done our best to make her happy and her complaints appear to be based on incorrect information.

Thomas from Edmonton
Thomas from Edmonton
14 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

rekey 3 locks

I called to get some locks re-keyed. They came within a couple of hours and did all the work as originally quoted over the phone. The locksmith also provided a few security recommendations. Extremely professional service, would recommend.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
CP in Sherwood Park
CP in Sherwood Park
8 reviews ARDROSSAN, AB
10/10

Awesome work

Had 5 locks rekeyed and new keys cut all within 1 hour and Very pleased with their work. Skip the big box stores and support our local guys! Job well done!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Cathy King in Edmonton
Cathy King in Edmonton
1 review EDMONTON, AB
10/10

Doors Locks Replaced

We needed the lock replaced on all of our doors. Paul came out and did a fantastic job. Efficient, courteous and provided us with tips to ensure the security of our home.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Sarah in Edmonton
Sarah in Edmonton
2 reviews Edmonton, AB

First Review

10/10

Keys

Aegis Lockworks is just an amazing company. They have a great team working there who is always willing to help. Evan is an amazing person to deal with and Yvonne who answers the phone is just a pleasure to talk to. Everyone there is absolutely wonderful. I would definitely recommend them!!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.