Clarke Koi Ponds Inc

Garden Centres
10-763 Warden Avenue Toronto ON M1L
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Garden Centres in Scarborough Junction  >  Clarke Koi Ponds Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Clarke Koi Ponds Inc

Average customer rating:
7 10 (4 reviews)

Sort by

Connie Thomson in Whitby
Connie Thomson in Whitby
5 reviews Whitby, ON

Pond Rebuild

We moved into our house and discovered we had a Koi pond in the back yard that was leaking and in terrible shape. Randall came out and repaired the pond best he could and the fish survived the winter. We saved up and booked an appointment with him to completely rebuild and enlarge the pond this year. We had a idea what we wanted but Randall suggested that we use our existing stones to rebuild our pond which would not only save us money but would create a more natural look. He and Matt enlarged our pond and created a beautiful and very natural waterfall. When they were finished, the rebuild exceeded our expectations. We absolutely love our new pond and so do our Koi. Thank you Randall and Matt for a job well done.
Randal, Sean, Lauren and Matt who we have dealt with are terrific! Whenever we have had a problem or questions they respond immediately which we find is great customer service. We would highly recommend this company. They are very professional and certainly know their business.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Deanne in Toronto
Deanne in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

Koi Pond Cleaning and Maintenance

I would not recommend this company to any friends or family based on the service that we have received. We purchased our home last fall which came with a koi fish pond. As maintenance of this pond was new to us, we reached out to Clarke Koi to assist with opening the pond this spring and to give us some general guidance on taking care of the fixture.

They have provided no guidance whatsoever. They have been very difficult to work with and when they came out a few weeks ago to open the pond, a portion of the pump system was damaged. We asked them to come back to have a look at what went wrong after they stopped by and they straight up refuse to come back. We have paid them almost $1,000 in fees and are left with a broke down pond and no direction.

We have made some calls around the city and there appear to be some other companies which are more supportive of their clients. I would suggest anyone looking to get assistance with backyard ponds go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

we are shocked at this review which is a complete fabrication of events.

Last fall we did a pond closing for this client and although they objected to the invoice amount we made a compromise and they then paid the reduced amount

 early in the spring this individual came into the shop and spent approximately an hour as we went over his filter, replaced + cleaned  parts while explaining  the functioning of it to him.  It was a very modest sale for the amount of time we spent but we have no complaints about that

On May 19th We performed a pond opening myself the owner did the opening personally.  The client spent almost all the time outside with me going over the system so he could understand it better. We worked together and it took several hours the get things operational

This is a concrete pond. We set up his filter and pumps and I  gave him guidance and answered his questions.  He paid his invoice in full with no complaints p

Over five weeks later he called and said his pond is leaking and that he wanted us to come back for free to find out what the issue was. He suggested that he never had a problem before we came - although he just moved in as he States. I told him that we cannot work for free and gave him some advice on how to troubleshoot the leak and if he wanted us to come out we would but there would have to be a charge. He didn't agree

Again the key points are he performed the pond opening with me and then five weeks later he tells me the system is leaking 2 inches a day or so. Why was there no contact within one or two week after the opening ? In his review he mentions damage to the pumping system. There was absolutely no damage done to his pump or his pond by myself. Firstly I would take accountability if i ever damaged a clients property and secondly as he was alongside me why didn't he notice this damage that I did? During the phone conversation the other day he mentions no such damage to me, just that the pond is leaking a lot..

We have been in business a long time and have a great track record. We are in this business for the right reasons. This is just a callous attempt to defame us simply because we will not work for free. The challenges of small business I suppose
Randall Clarke

Jay in Toronto, Ontario
Jay in Toronto, Ontario
8 reviews Toronto, ON

Supplies & service for my little city pond

Clarke Koi Ponds is where I do all my shopping for pond supplies including high quality fish food, nets, pumps, etc. They've also done some great work to upgrade my pond in the past. My best experience has been working directly with the owners, Randall & Lauren, especially on any issues that require more in-depth knowledge.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jay
Thanks so much for the kind words. We are so happy that you have had a good experience both with our service teams on the road, and in the store! As you know, we are always here to help

Su from Etobicoke
Su from Etobicoke
3 reviews Etobicoke, ON

Cleaned pond

We moved into a house with a pond and fish and knew nothing about caring for them. With the help of Clarke koi ponds, we got the pond cleaned out and put a UV filter on the pond.
The fish are very happy and we even got offspring last year.
They are very helpful and don't mind giving advice over the phone for concerns about the fish.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Su
Thanks for the kind words! We appreciate your business
It's a lot to learn, but I'm sure that you are an expert by now!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.