Canada Flooring & Rugs

Floor Retailers
1243 Dundas Street East Whitby ON L1N 2K6
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Floor Retailers in Whitby  >  Canada Flooring & Rugs
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

37%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Canada Flooring & Rugs

Average customer rating:
3.5 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Bowmanville, ON
10/10

Hardwood installation

I love my new floors, I got walnut hand scraped floor and I got it for an amazing price, and looks amazing and the installers are very professional and kind.

Was this review helpful?
Jack
Jack
1 review Courtice, ON
0/10

Carpet installation

This is one of the worst experiences I have ever had. The owner is absolutely unwilling to fix the mistakes of his workers and himself. Firstly, I sat down with David to initially discuss the type of carpet I wanted to install. He assured me that the carpet we chose was both durable and would withstand foot traffic, pets etc. After this initial meeting we paid him and we later called him to set up a time to install the carpet as the particular type of carpet was out of stock. At this time we were not given an invoice. The carpet was installed by two men, with one man doing most of the work. This man told us that the carpet was very fragile and that if we want to move furniture etc. we needed to pick it up before moving it as the carpet would pull. We also noticed that many of the seams in the doorways were extremely evident which indicated that the installation was faulty. We then proceeded to contact David to voice our concerns and once again asked him for a copy of the invoice and to come and take a look at the carpet. He refused to provide the invoice but did look at the carpet. He came over with some tools and said that the carpet was very fragile and would need special care. These words were not uttered prior to the installation or during our meeting with him when we originally decided on the carpet. Fast forward approx. 6 months and we have at least 100 pulls in the carpet. We contacted David to ask for his assistance in rectifying this matter whereby he told us that there was nothing he could do and that we needed to contact the manufacturer. During this conversation I again asked for the invoice. He insisted that I had the invoice and refused to provide it. After I sent several emails begging for the invoice he finally provided it. The manufacturer looked at the carpet shortly after and later provided me with a letter stating that there were no defects with the carpet instead explained the existence of a large amount of pulls on vacuuming, walking with rough feet, pets, walking on the carpet with shoes or heels etc. all of which indicated how cheap and fragile this carpet really is which again was not mentioned when we initially agreed upon this type of carpet prior to installation. David still refuses to provide any sort of customer service to repair or replace this carpet even though he knows we were taken advantage of and agreed to install this carpet under false pretenses. This type of attitude and behavior is deplorable and this man should not be in business if he has absolutely no consideration or willingness to back his product and services with appropriate attention and customer care. BUYER BEWARE!!

*The pictures include a cracked baseboard as a result of the carpet installation and scratches to our oak stair case.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Judy from Bowmanvile, ON
Judy from Bowmanvile, ON
1 review Oshawa, ON
10/10

Excellent Service!

I don't know why there are bad reviews for this place because I went there today after going to 5 other places for hardwood floor and they all had prices that were too high for cheaper quality or the customer service was HORRIBLE. My husband and I, along with our 2 boys came into Canada Flooring & Rugs & was greet by the owner David. We explained to him what we were looking for & right away he found what we wanted & at the price we wanted! Our whole experience was AMAZIN! David was so sweet to my boys, made jokes with them, made them laugh, he & I even had joked back & forth. He also answered all my questions fully, & taught me so much! I honestly think this is the best place to go if you ever need flooring. We will definitely be coming back & will recommend it to all our family & friends! We came out of there happy customers! Thank You David!

Was this review helpful?
derek in Whitby
derek in Whitby
1 review Whitby, ON
0/10

Living room

The owner is rude! I purchased bamboo flooring from the whitby location. And the next week I went back for transitions 6 days later. He assured me it was the same color. Got it home and it wasn't even close. When I tried to get my money back or get the correct color I was told they don't have the correct color and can't get it and wouldn't give me my money back just a store credit. I will never do business here again. And he lost alot of future business from me. Owner is rude.!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Return policy clearly is printed on the Invoice: "Exchange or Store Credit within 30 Days" ...

Dave from Courtice
Dave from Courtice
1 review Courtice, ON
0/10

Hardwood floor and rug install

Extremely displeased. Hardwood install was done by one man. He used damaged wood and wouldn't replace it, the baseboards are horrible, some not even nailed in. There are numerous damages caused by him during the install. Transitions are damaged and are squeaky. Contacted the store many times but they refuse to send a representative over and insist that there is no damage. How can they claim that when they won't come and look! Horrible business practice. Their warranty means nothing as they won't honour it. Very very unhappy with my choice to go with them. Buyer beware.

You asked for the invoice numbers? Here they are. 33036 and 33016. I've added pictures as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

this claim is not known to us ... we have not done any wood installation in Courtice, Ontario last 30 Days... we would be glad and happy to investigate his claims if there is an invoice # and installation date provided...

TAG
TAG
6 reviews Whitby, ON
1/10

Hardwood floors throughout entire non-tiled above grade areas

contracted under strict untrusting stipulations that all was paid first. To be no wains no stains and great quality. Our floors were done by one man alone for four days cutting all inside to speed for him(I am pregnant!!!) and all baseboards and newly painted surfaces have damages from his install procedures (custom estate needing milled woodwork) There were boards installed despite having huge marks, splits, ad chips all to save for them but extremely noticeable since the marker he gave me does not hide the chunks missing. The transitions installed leaving over an inch gap at a wall that does not receive shoe mold and the door does not close any longer without scraping as the stair nosing is higher than the floor...the kicker to all is that this was well over one week ago and nobody has even cared to ask if we were happy. Took the money and ran!!!!!!!!!!! shame on them. a pathetic busimess practices. Any good from the job certainly has been drained through all the bad.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.