Dessco Countertops

1359 Osprey Drive Hamilton ON L9G 4V5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Countertops in Ancaster  >  Dessco Countertops
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Dessco Countertops

Average customer rating:
8 10 (14 reviews)

Sort by

chris19G in Hamilton
chris19G in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON

kitchen countertop

Looking for a countertop, I was impressed with the information and the knowledge of the younger gentleman I spoke to at the Home Show at the Hamilton Airport in the much so that I would give them the job after I have been at several other businesses.
I went directly to the shop, which had a sign on the door saying they were closed with it being the long weekend...might have been nice to put that on the website I looked on to be sure I had the correct address.
I went again the following weekend, which is the only time I could go seeing as this place has more-or-less Drs. hours rather than business hours. (close @ 4) Most other establishments I visited close @ 6 or 7pm.
Once there I spoke with Michael, the owner, who was the only one present on that Saturday. After a lengthy talk, I found that I was leaning to purchase quartz as opposed to the granite, I knew I didn't want marble. I said I'd need to think a bit, not wanting to make on the spot rash decisions.
One week later, I returned to the office to confirm my choice of product. He said it was 75% down, which came to $22oo and change, I told him to round it up to $2300. He then put all the particulars on a "work order", such as material thickness, edge finish, type of material, etc. He gave me a copy and a receipt and we're done.
A week or two go by, and I get a call from the office, the need to come on site to make a template ... no problem, I can't be there, but I have a house guest who will, so you have access.
I believe it was later that evening, I received a call from Adam, who was in to do the template ... starts asking me what thickness did I want and what edge finish ... I told him your office already has all this info, taken by Micheal. He said he hadn't seen the info and would like to have verification anyhow. Fine, we went over everything again. The last thing he asked me (which Micheal did not) was the existing countertop being removed by them, or was I taking it out? I replied with, "don't know, what do you charge, $100, $200?". He says, "No, it's only like 50 or 60 bucks." That's an exact quote. That's it? ... ok, your guys can take it out.
Then I let him know that I had a wedding to attend in Alberta beginning of July and would be gone for 10 days ... when I return on the Sunday, I have Monday the 9th booked off work and this would be perfect as an install date, he agreed.
While in Alberta, I received a call on my cell on July 2nd from Dessco saying they'd like to schedule my countertop install for Friday the 6th! So, of course I need to call to explain, AGAIN, that I'm really, really far away and I was of the understanding that when I spoke with Adam, the install was to be on the 9th ... ok, fine, the 9th it is.
The installers arrive on the 9th and look at the counter in my kitchen and ask me if they're supposed to remove it ... yes, I said, I had arranged with your office that you were removing the old top. Then I said to him that there seems to be pretty much ZERO communication in your company, I've made arrangements with 3 different people and NOBODY seems to know what is going on.
They proceed to remove the top (about an hour ... one man, the crew leader pretty much hung outside on his phone).
An hour later, I get a call on my cell and it's Fahad from Dessco, the same guy that called me in Alberta ... he called to inform me that the top removal was a $300 charge! I let him know that that is not what I was quoted, and you're NOT going to charge me 5 times what I was quoted AFTER the top is already out! If someone had said it was $300, I would have removed it myself!
Now the installers are having issues, there's a height problem with the cabinets, and for some reason, they've torn the drain pipe off the wall. Adam told me before that the installers do no plumbing, so it was up to me to ensure everything was disconnected, which it was.
Took a couple weeks for me to resolve all the cabinet issues, in the meantime, Dessco emails me documents that should have been provided to me when I first made my purchase, such as:
-all existing countertops must be removed
-all plumbing and electrical must be disconnected
-all sinks and appliances must be onsite
-all cabinets, brakets, gables installed and leveled
I was also sent an updated invoice which listed the removal of the old countertop at $400! Went from 50 or 60, up to $300 and now they're charging me $400?!!
I called Micheal, he had Fahad and Adam on speaker call, (which I should have recorded) and everyone had some input, and of course Adam denied ever quoting me such a low number. After the call was finished, Micheal agreed to waive the removal fee, but said there was a $300 fee for the installers to return ... which I accepted.
A week or so after, the installers returned and my top now looks A1! They did a nice job.
Is all this BS finally over? ... not quite ...
Couple days later, I get my credit card statement ... 4 days before my conversation with Micheal and the others, my card was billed the full amount of the dispute!
Now I'm on the phone again ... long story short, they're not charging me the $400 for the removal, but only $300, but they don't recall anything about waiving the fee. Remember when I said I should have recorded the call? So, now I feel ripped off for $300. Is it worth my time to sue? No. My reward would be minimal after missed time of work wages. They're crediting back my card the $115 or so, should be $413!

If you're shopping for a new top, DO NOT CONSIDER this ball of confusion, left hand has no idea what the right hand is up to!!

Was this review helpful?
Trudy Shore from Hamilton
Trudy Shore from Hamilton
4 reviews Hamilton, ON

Quartz countertop for bar

Beautiful piece of quartz. Very happy with the process, install and final product. Everyone was friendly and easy to deal with. Found them by searching for a company that sold 2 quartz styles that I was deciding between (Minuet by LG Viatera and London Sky by Dupont Zodiaq). Julianne showed me a 3rd option that I ended up using (Misterio by Vicostone).

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON

Master Bath Vanity

Upon visiting Dessco, Julianne was most welcoming and professional. They were very patient as we had many questions plus three more visits before selecting the perfect vanity top to match our floor tiles.

A service Technician was sent to measure and the installation was completed within the given timeline. The Technicians were polite and efficient making one feel as comfortable as with the office staff.

We are most pleased with the product, selection and service of Dessco and highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Karen in Burlington
Karen in Burlington
6 reviews Burlington, ON

Kitchen Caesarstone install

Dessco installed a kitchen countertop for us in March. We picked out the Caesarstone at another store (actually a tile store, they just had a few Caesarstone samples) then we called around for pricing. Everything went great! Product was measured and installed in 2 weeks, as promised.

Was this review helpful?
2 reviews Hamilton, ON

Mistemplated caesarstone kitchen not corrected

Everything seemed okay with Dessco at the beginning. Competitive price, friendly, said they guaranteed the work.

End result was a crooked installation on 3/4 of the job - despite having to take it back to get redone because they cut the sink out wrong and made it too long to fit the wall.

The slab was set crooked on the cabinets resulting in uneven overlap on the handles and an out of square stove nook that protruded an inch on one side and sat flush on the other.

It took months of messing around, calling, emailing, to get them to do something.

They tried to blame me:

"the stove was in the way"
Why not ask me to move it

"The nook is out of square"
Not according to the tried and true method corner to corner measuring out checking with a square

"The cabinets are out of plane from one side of the stove to the other"
Yet a laser or straight edge lines up perfect

In the end the guy that eventually came to "fix" it said it was a template mistake.

The fix? Adjust the smaller counter that was installed properly to make it crooked to match the rest of the crooked install.

No fix on the crooked overlap, just more crooked overlaps, a crooked stove nook and 1/2"+ gaps between the counter and the wall where they pulled it out. Pushing my problem down the road now that the tiler tells me how big a problem this will be to build out and look good with the counter to ceiling backsplash we want...

I'm super exasperated in dealing with Dessco and very disappointed how my counter turned out. Poor template job, subcontracted, rushed installation and horrible resolution management result in a job in thinking of just ripping out and moving on from.

Never again. Do yourself a favour and cross these guys off your list.

EDIT to add on Feb 20/2018:
Just looking at my counter today... and I'm still upset at how poor this job was done... and I remembered this review.

I see the company made a response:
"Please check the vast majority of our reviews. We truly regret having unhappy customers."

So why didn't you do something?
Why did you leave me on the hook for so long?
Why didn't you fix your obvious template error?

"We regret..." give me a break - clearly you don't because you didn't fix it.

Customers beware: if they F- up they are not going to make it right, just make excuses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Please check the vast majority of our reviews. We truly regret having unhappy customers.

Bob  in Hamilton
Bob in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON

Kitchen great...bathroom counter very slow

We ordered a bathroom counter at a sale on August 8 and have yet to hear when we will have it cut. The emails indicate next week each time we ask for a date.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We had a sale in August. The response was overwhelming and it took a long time for the all of the countertops to be made. We did our best and prioritized those who requested a shorter timeline. As far as we know, we met all of the deadlines for those who had special occasion needs. Our apologies to all those who were frustrated with the timelines.

J. from Carlisle, ON
J. from Carlisle, ON
6 reviews Carlisle, ON

First Review


Countertops replaced

The company was very helpful every time we went in to decide the color and style. Even offered us donuts and coffee. The immeasurements were done very professionally and accurately.
And the install was quick and no problems
Good overall company

Was this review helpful?
Shannon from Hamilton
Shannon from Hamilton
2 reviews Hamilton, ON

Bathroom Vanity Counter

My husband and I had been looking for a white counter top to complete our bathroom vanity. Dessco was the perfect solution. We were able to find the white corian that we needed.

Was this review helpful?
John from Hamilton
John from Hamilton
7 reviews Hamilton, ON

Vanity Countertop

I was looking for a quartz countertop place and found them online. They were quick to show me all the samples. They delivered it without a hitch and I installed it myself.

Was this review helpful?
Heather muller from Hamilton
Heather muller from Hamilton
2 reviews Ancaster, ON

Kitchen countertop

We hired dessco to fabricate a new kitchen counter for us.
We had used them before to fabricate a bathroom counter in granite and were happy. We were very pleased with out experience from start to finish. Attention to detail, pride of workmanship, courtesy, and professionalism would send me back to them in a minute.
Their pricing is very competitive.
Thanks to Judy, Steve, Rick,Vincenzo, Jeff and Les.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Countertops pros in Ancaster?