Richcraft Homes

Builders
2280 St Laurent Boulevard Ottawa ON K1G
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Builders
Richcraft Homes
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

40%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Richcraft Homes

Average customer rating:
3.9 10 (34 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Richcraft rentals in Barrhaven

We have lived at Fieldstone Rentals in Barrhaven for the last 2 years and are SOOO happy to be leaving! Living here has been horrible! We can't wait to leave. Don't count on Richcraft to provide you with any assistance regarding noisy, horrible neighbours - they don't care about YOU. They care about covering themselves. They will not address any issues regarding plumbing, electrical issues, shower doors that fall on you when you take a shower. These units are so cheaply built and forget any peace and quiet from the unit above or beside you. The walls and floors are paper thin. Two words - STAY AWAY!

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Poor Quality

I would not recommend Richcraft to anyone.

I have so many major issues within the first month of closing: plumbing defect resulting in extended damage, basement condensation, missing dryer vent and bathroom air vent, incomplete roofing... The worst is that they don't feel guilty about the inconvenience and the stress that are put on homeowners.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Stay away while you can

I just bought a condo I was happy even after I noticed the cheap materials the toilet not flushing properly the vent not working they left me with a microwave opening not built to standard size to fit any island microwave . There’s no way that fixing it personally won’t cost me at least 5 grant When I went back to the builder they told there’s nothing they can do. It’s been just one month they turn something that was supposed to be beautiful and happy into a nightmare. Still waiting for things to get fixed after my 30 days inspection. They sure aren’t in a rush They don’t care about function or customer satisfaction.save yourself the headache and go with another builder.

Was this review helpful?
Norman in Mississauga
Norman in Mississauga
0 reviews Mississauga, ON
0/10

Terrible sound isolation in RIchcraft townhomes

Both my neighbors and I suffer from the poor sound proofing joint wall.
Basically, I can hear everything. When my neighbors close the door, walk on the stairs, open their closet, use the washer/dryer, talk in the living room, snoring, coughing, their phone ringing, to name a few.

One of the most unbearable sounds comes from their washer/dryer. The low noise would last for over two hours, causing physical pains in my ears. They have every right to use their washer/dryer, it's the poor soundproofing that's to blame.

The other would be their conversations. I am sure they are just having normal conversations. But why I can hear almost everything?
My neighbors also suffer from similar problems.

I have spoken with professionals and was informed that Ontario has a building code that regulates at least 50 STC in the joint wall.
At 35 stc, loud speech heard but not understood.
At 40 stc, loud speech now only a murmur,
At 45 stc, loud speech not heard, music systems / heavy traffic noise still a potential problem
At 50 stc, very loud sounds such as musical instruments or a stereo can be faintly heard

In my case, the stc of the joint wall is lower than 35, which is way below the building code. The certification by the city only proved that the fire insulation is in place. There is no certification related to STC. The STC building code is also mentioned on Tarion's website.

I used to sleep in the bedroom facing the street. At night, I can hear my neighbor when they flush, open the closet, and other activities in their washroom. I had to move the bed frame to the other bedroom. I paid almost 400,000 for a townhouse and now I am living with all types of noise on a daily basis.

Richcraft was unwilling to take any actions, nor did they provide any proof that they met the STC standard. It's been almost a year and I am still waiting.

Aviod Richcraft if you can.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Sarah in Ottawa
Sarah in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Brick falling off house

No illusions about suburban homes being high quality construction, however this goes beyond the normal sloppy workmanship. Second owners since 2006, it was built in 1999. The brick started chipping off under the patio door two years ago. I’ve pointed out that there’s a significant gap between the veneer and the actual frame of my house and that the siding isn’t flush with the brick, leaving quite a flat ledge covered by 3 uncaulked pieces of capping. There are cracks forming in the brick around my door and window on this side and I believe it’s a construction issue. Houses beside me aren’t having the same issues or constructed the same way. Not even willing to come take a look.

Was this review helpful?
Sandy in Toronto
Sandy in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Horrible experience with this company

It’s almost been a year and we have many issues not resolved. We are told that problems would be fixed and told afterwards that they won’t. Be aware if you send specs for design centre, to make sure they have the good measure. The girls working there do not have good mathematical skills and won’t admit their mistakes. We paid 7000$ in stone upgrades and bad job with chipped stone. We are told it’s not that bad. We had counters not leveled, one higher on one side. Be aware of quality of Potvin cabinets. Stay away from this company. Our granite is cracked in two spots and still waiting for repair. They dropped our counter on the floor and damaged our floor and broke glasses in cupboard. We had a great experience with Sarah, Paul and Carly, but above them, they don’t give care. Quality service....not what this company is. If looking to move to RS, go with Urbandale or HN...regret we didn’t.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sandy,

We sincerely apologize for your experience. This is not up to our standards at Richcraft Homes.

Our customer care team is continually working to resolve your concerns. We hope to rectify these outstanding items for you as soon as we can. We appreciate your patience during this time.

Kindly,
The Richcraft Team

Ifeanyi in Scarborough
Ifeanyi in Scarborough
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Richcraft Grafton model - Trailsedge Phase 2

Our experience with Richcraft has been a pleasant and wonderful one. We had concerns going by the mixed reviews all over the internet, but stayed optimistic that so far the issues were of a practical nature we'd work it out with our chosen builder. Eventually we settled for Richcraft after visiting the models and visiting the homes of friends (by different builders and Richcraft).

Starting with the Sales team at Trailsedge (Angela is a star!!), to the guidance of the Design center staff (awesome Amanda!) and the Service team (go Ron!), we receive far superior support to our second-choice builder.

We have lived in our home for 1month+ and have no major problems. All issues are being addressed per the 24-hr and 30-day home inspection services in a satisfactory manner.
In summary, the little things matter a lot in a building and Richcraft came out tops after we evaluated the top-5 builders across Ottawa (friends homes, neighborhoods, models & reviews). We are happy we bought a Richcraft home and...here's to your new home!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Ifeanyi,

Congratulations on your new home!

Thank you for taking a moment to acknowledge the hard work of our team here at Richcraft. We'll share this feedback with our team members involved to pass along your gratitude. We hope you continue to enjoy your Richcraft Home for years to come.

Congrats again!

Thanks,
The Richcraft Team

Michele in Ottawa
Michele in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Trailsedge Phase 2

My hubby and I have been in our home for almost a full year in Trailsedge, Orleans. Richcraft addressed any and all concerns I had a long the way. I'm happy with the way the finishes turned out and I'm very happy with the design and location of my home. I'm confident in the appreciating value and happy to recommend to friends.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Michele,

Congratulations on your one-year anniversary! We'd be happy to share this feedback with our team in Trailsedge and the Design Centre. More than anything we're happy to hear that you had a team who took the time to answer your questions.

Thanks,
The Richcraft Team

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Phenomenal design and superior craftsmanship, supported by a dedicated sales team!

Really professional and dedicated sales team! They were always prompt in responding to our queries, walked us through every step, and helped us customize and build the house of our dreams! Kudos to the Design Centre and their team as well! They had really insightful suggestions, and worked with us, ensuring our new property met all our needs. We would not hesitate to recommend Richcraft to anyone looking for a good quality home. Thank you so much for everything!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience about our teams. We're happy to hear that you had a professional experience from sales to design.

Congratulations on the house of your dreams!

Thanks,
The Richcraft Team

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Worst Home Builder in Ottawa

This home builder uses very cheap material. Don't be fooled by their luxious looks. The walls and quality is very cheap. I will not recommend anyone to buy richcraft home, there was also a structural damage to my home in the basement previously. they are not very good with keeping up with the repairs pertaining to the warranty. The sales rep rude and do not know how to respond professionally.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

We apologize for your frustration. You mention there was structural damage to the basement previously. Did you purchase brand new from our team or did you purchase your home as resale? We would be happy to look into this issue for you. As for our materials, we would recommend you review our specs as we use quality materials to build our homes also ensuring we are building to Energy Star Standards.

Thanks,
The Richcraft Team

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Richcraft Homes

Since 1984, Richcraft Homes has built over 16, 000 homes for families in Ottawa. Their team has a passion for building great designs that are reflected in a vast array of their award-winning homes. All new Richcraft homes are built using the latest ENERGY STAR standards. As a family-owned and ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Builders pros in Ottawa?