CDL Carpet & Floor Centre

Carpet & Rug Retailers
7265 11 St SE Calgary AB T2H 2S1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Carpet & Rug Retailers in Calgary  >  CDL Carpet & Floor Centre
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

65%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for CDL Carpet & Floor Centre

Average customer rating:
6.5 10 (34 reviews)

Sort by

KimD in Calgary
KimD in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Excellent sevice

We worked with Hillary Beney and she was amazing!

Her knowledge of flooring and design was so helpful !
We were not sure of our choices and she confirmed that we were making the right selections!

I would highly recommend her in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful?
HomeBath in Calgary
HomeBath in Calgary
12 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Backsplash for Legacy Kitchen

Tracy Keith from CDL Carpet & Floor Centre helped me choose a tile for the backsplash for my Legacy Kitchen. I told her I wanted a modern look and showed her samples and colours of my kitchen. She gave me advice on color, how to install it (modern style - stacked) and arranged for delivery and install. She is professional, knowledgable, easy to get hold of and very patient in her explanations and answering any of my questions. She arranged for Ion, a tilesetter, to install the backsplash just after Christmas in 2018. His work was excellent. I am more than happy with the service provided by this company and would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
1/10

Do NOT use them!

The installers from CDL took 4 boxes of our flooring after the job was finished without telling us and didn't tell the truth about it. I don't recommend this company at all. The installers admitted to taking our flooring and we ended up getting it back. The manager was not very apologetic about this event and I was truly disappointed with this company. Sadly, these installers are likely still working for this company so watch out!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are very upset that this occurred and as per the conversation we had with you, we are very sorry for what happened. As stated in our discussion, this is not an acceptable practice among our installers and we have a zero tolerance policy for situations like this. Once we realised that the material was taken off site, we did refund you for both the product and labour, as well the subcontractor that has caused this issue is no longer doing work for CDL as a result of this incident.

Martha & Mel in
Martha & Mel in
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Fantastic Kitchen, 3 Baths Floor Install!

We are very happy with our new flooring in the kitchen and 3 baths. The sales associate Dave Larsen was very helpful. We were able to schedule the installation without delay. The crew were wonderful, and they cleaned up after themselves and were very helpful in many ways.

Was this review helpful?
Michael in Airdrie
Michael in Airdrie
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Basement Carpet Installation

We were really happy with how quickly we were able to get our carpet installed, as we needed it quickly for company arriving. Peter the installer was really friendly and professional. Carpet looks great too!

Was this review helpful?
Charmaine,
Charmaine,
6 reviews Calgary, AB
8/10

New carpet in Home

I have CDL came to do install of new carpet in our house. The look of the carpet is great and the warranty is excellent. I did ran into issues after service provide with installation, clean up and left over carpet issues.

There is also a gap in communication regarding informing me with the final invoice charging.

Colin the owner did step in an step up to get them resolved.

I am happy with the result.

I am happy with the result.

Was this review helpful?
Laura in Calgary
Laura in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Hardwood insurance claim install nightmare!!

If you want nothing but problems, dishonesty, and have them send a subcontractor to your home unannounced while you are in a towel (and refuses to leave when asked), by all mean use this company. If you want excellent customer service, a professionally laid hardwood floor and truthful, honest employees, go any where else! I would love to let you know all about my horrible experience with this company. Their solution to correct problems is a joke. Wish I never used them and will never use them in the future. My goal is to now ensure no one else goes through the horror I went through and never hires them!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Laura - We are sorry that you found your experience with our company anything less than satisfactory. Customer satisfaction is of the highest priority to us. Occasionally, problems to do happen since we are in an industry that deals with natural material and human labour, but we pride ourselves on how we address any occasional problem. As stated in our letter to you, we would again like to apologise for the poor workmanship in your original installation.

We are sorry that our attempts to solve your issues were not satisfactory to you, but as we’ve discussed offline, our company policy is to correct any problems we encounter by correcting the problem (as we did with you by completely replacing your floor, reimbursing you for your out of pocket expenses and any damage caused) rather than financial compensation to anyone that complains that our products or services were unsatisfactory to them. We hoped that through our offline efforts and communications with you that resolving your issue by replacing your floor was the fair and acceptable solution. Unfortunately, we will have to agree to disagree about the truthfulness in this matter.

Should you have flooring needs in the future, we sincerely hope that you are able to find a company that you can work with and that meets your needs. Again, we apologise for the problems and inconveniences caused. Best of luck.

Marshall in Calgary
Marshall in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
2/10

Cork Floor Covering

Generally, I am satisfied with the cork floor product installed. However, I am still waiting for the credit promised when placing the order in April 2015. Unable to get the matter resolved by emails, I visited the CDL store in Nov 2015 which resulted in a promise to process a credit of $100 to my credit card within a few days. This didn't happen, so I sent reminder emails in Dec 2015 and in Jan 2016. CDL responded by email on Jan 9 with: "I have credited your card ending in 3003 $100.00. I will forward the receipt on to you." However, since I hadn't received the credit or the receipt by Jan 15, I sent another email to let them know. I still have not received the credit, the receipt, or any response.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Marshall, this is Colin, I'm the G.M. of the company would you call myself, or if I'm unavailable please ask for Stephanie, either of us can look into and resolve your concerns.

Regards,

Eddie in Redwood Meadows
Eddie in Redwood Meadows
5 reviews Redwood Meadows, AB
6/10

Repairs after ServiceMaster of Calgary damaged my home

CDL has a great selection of flooring materials and very good sales staff. Lots of helpful hints for installing the flooring tile I bought for my laundry room and bathroom. ServiceMaster had, in repairing my ceiling, managed to flood my house a little over a year ago and, frankly, the poor workmanship and cooperation I got from that company forced me to tell them to stop working before my house was completely ruined. But, that's another story.

I purchased some vinyl tile. I have never before installed tile but, after talking to one of their installers and watching some instruction videos on the internet, I completed the job to the complete satisfaction of my wife! Compliments to the installer who helped me, he was very friendly and full of good advice.

Where CDL failed was by promising me the product I ordered would be available by a certain date only to fail in their promise. Not that it was all their fault - the supplier stopped making what I ordered and never called the company. So my delivery was delayed and the time I had already arranged to take off from work to do the chore was wasted. Also, they company didn't do anything to compensate my wife and I for having to make another trip into the city to select tile again. Often, even a token amount off the final price or a little something thrown in for free when a company makes a mistake will make the customer feel a lot better about being inconvenienced.

The tile we got was of good quality but they sold me far too much adhesive and far too much grout for the work I had to accomplish. It was their minimum size for each.

So, if you have a large floor area that needs to be tiled, then I would certainly recommend CDL. For smaller areas it might be a good idea to investigate buying the grout and adhesive from some place that can sell smaller quantities. As for the other flooring products they have available, again, they seem to have a large selection and you should be able to find there something suitable for your home.

Was this review helpful?
Mark in Calgary
Mark in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Upstairs Carpet

We just finished installing new carpet. Jeff at CDL was great, the installers were first class - came and in one day finished the entire job including moving furniture. Carpet looks great, not even a scuff on our newly painted baseboards. We are very particular so well done to Jeff and the team.

Mark G

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about CDL Carpet & Floor Centre

Welcome to CDL Carpet & Floor Centre. We are one of Calgary's most trusted full service flooring company's. We have one of the widest selections of flooring to choose from in all price ranges. As well as the largest selection of in-stock products in the city. There are two convenient ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.