Deslaurier Custom Cabinets Inc

Bathroom & Kitchen - Fixtures & Accessories
1050 Baxter Road Ottawa ON K2C 3P1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

60%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Deslaurier Custom Cabinets Inc

Average customer rating:
6.1 10 (17 reviews)

Sort by

Jim CBJ in San Francisco
Jim CBJ in San Francisco
3 reviews Ottawa, ON
8/10

Very Pleased

Our new Uniform home came with a Deslaurier kitchen. Read mixed reviews but heard nothing but good things from all involved in my home buying process. Reserved judgement until dealing with Deslaurier and can say that the process was easy and the product they delivered was exceptional. Kevin at Deslaurier was simple and easy to deal with, very accommodating. Thank you Deslaurier and team. -Jim

Was this review helpful?
MjM in Ottawa
MjM in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
1/10

Kitchen Renovation - Quality=Garbage

Quality = Garbage

We chose Deslaurier because of their huge selection and we had heard a couple of good reviews. Barb was our designer, and right from the start we did not like working with her. She refused to take items we did not want (like extra fancy drawers) off of our order, she made many mistakes with measuring and went heavy on the offensive to blame us for her mistakes. When we sent her the written proof that she had mismeasured in every case, we received no apology for her nasty words. I accept that mistakes will happen in a reno - its inevitable. But I don't accept to be blamed for other peoples mistakes, and I don't think its acceptable to be told off by the representative of the company to which I am buying something worth over $25K.

Our installation, seemed to go smoothly. We were happy with the design, but after our cabinets were installed our contractor discovered that the installer had not left enough clearance for a drawer to open next to the trim around a door. This mean't that the entire line of cabinets needed to shifted over one inch. Deslaurier told us that we were put on some sort of emergency list and the problem would be resolved immediately. After three weeks and MANY phone calls, Deslaurier finally showed up and fixed the problem. As so many things are tied together in a reno, this simple one inch, meant that we could not get the counter tops measured, nor could we move forward with many other aspects of our reno. This three week delay caused many problems with other trades who had been booked.

The worst of all our dealings with Deslaurier is the quality. Our three year old kitchen now looks like it is at least 20years old. Most of the cupboards are chipped, the kick boards are falling off, and the paint is bubbling, cracking and puckering, it really looks like crap. The chipped and puckered kickboards were under warranty to be glued back on, but that's it. Sadly we are stuck with $25K worth of cabinets that look like crap.

Don't be wooed by the selection of beautiful cabinets. The quality is garbage and stay clear of Barb.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Stefanie in Ottawa
Stefanie in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
2/10

Buyer Beware

Sales staff were good, product was as ordered but the cabinet installation was of poor quality (counter install was ok though) and they were very slow or non-responsive when it came to inspecting it and fixing it. After months, I finally gave up trying and am stuck with a cabinet that is not worth the significant money they charged me for it. Unfortunately, they make you pay before installation so you are stuck. I would not recommend this company or their installers!

Was this review helpful?
Jeff Gregory from Thomasburg
Jeff Gregory from Thomasburg
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Phenom Products & Service

Used Barb as our designer and John as our workhorse. Unsurpassed in so many areas: service; workmanship; dependability; and professionalism. This company oozes pride! Recommend both for your future dream.

Was this review helpful?
Jessica D in Ottawa
Jessica D in Ottawa
1 review , ON
9/10

Happy Is An Understatement

My husband and I recently had our dream kitchen designed & installed by Deslaurier, and to say we are 'happy' would be a huge understatement. We recently downgraded from a 3,000+ sqft estate home to a 1,400 sqft retirement bungalow and were dreading downsizing (especially in our kitchen area). Although Deslaurier could not help us with that, our designer did come up with a fabulous kitchen plan that gave me lots of prep and storage space. To be honest, we did an immense amount of purging, but not necessarily from within the kitchen area. From the moment we first met with our designer to the moment she presented us the drawings, it was a great experience. We were shown professionalism and courtesy at every step of the way, which was comforting, given the daunting tasks of downsizing and designing a new home that we were faced with simultaneously. The kitchen arrived, was installed, and we were utterly thrilled with the final product. We use the kitchen every day and we love entertaining in this wonderful space. We can't thank Deslaurier and our wonderful designer enough. This is our last home, otherwise we would happily go through the design process again and again, choosing new and different options each time!

Was this review helpful?
Michelle from Perth
Michelle from Perth
1 review Rideau Ferry, ON
2/10

Kitchen cabinets

Painted maple cabinets chip too easily. Kitchen is 2 years old - just drop something against a cabinet door and it is chipped. Paint being rubbed away at frequent use and wash parts. Not happy.

Was this review helpful?
Jennifer and Andy from Ottawa
Jennifer and Andy from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
9/10

Kitchen renovation

Our designer, Judy, understood our needs and came up with a functional layout for our kitchen that was a huge improvement over the existing one.

When we discovered an issue with a pipe that hadn't been evident when the design was first drawn up, Judy worked with our contractor and quickly found a solution so the renovation could proceed without delay.

The cabinets are well made. A mistake by the installer was rectified with no hassles, as were a few other minor issues (eg., scratches). The office staff who coordinated the installation were pleasant to deal with, helpful and professional.

Overall, a positive experience.

Was this review helpful?
mark from Ottawa
mark from Ottawa
1 review Nepean, ON
0/10

Kitchen Renovation

Our designer was terrible. Major mis-measurements and design errors were made. When these were identified the company responded by either blaming me for mis-measurements done by them because I was present, or said to the effect 'you signed off the drawings so tough luck'. not the kind of customer service I expect when spending $12k on cabinets.

A major piece cabinetry was identifed before install as mis-designed and needing re-manufacture. Even so the designer still pushed extremely agressively for full payment in advance, sending over 15 messages repeatedly demanding payemnt within the period of one morning.

over 20 installation errors were made and jobs left unfinished. Cupboards don't fit, drawers fitted with wrong handles, moulding and cupboard paint damaged. I had to do some of the install myself so the counter could be installed properly, the tech left without completing necessary items.

You don't expect everything to be installed perfectly at the 1st visit but the customer service / aftersales is dreadful. Expect to fight with them for every little thing.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Bathroom & Kitchen - Fixtures & Accessories pros in Ottawa?