Otter Creek

Floor Retailers
32 Bobolink Dr. Tillsonburg ON N4G 5S4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Floor Retailers in Muskoka  >  Otter Creek
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

64%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Otter Creek

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (16 reviews)

Sort by

Ron in Oak Bluff,MB
Ron in Oak Bluff,MB
1 review Altona, MB
10/10

purchased bamboo flooring

I purchased bamboo hardwood flooring from Otter Creek to match a sample I purchased 3 years ago from a supplier that was not a good experience. Robert matched the color and the quality I wanted. From start to finish Otter Creek gave me personal service and advise together with a price that saved me money. I would recommend their company to anyone considering the many product lines the sevice and you can expect service that is second to non.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ron, thanks for your business and glad you liked your bamboo flooring. We appreciate customers like you and it was a pleasure dealing with you. I hope you get many years of enjoyment out of your new floor.

Thanks Again, Robert

Brian in Durango
Brian in Durango
3 reviews Durango, CO
5/10

Stranded palmwood flooring for great room and office

Wood floor was beautiful, shipping was good, but...floor was not to expectations. Finish scratched very easily, even during installation. NO comparison to typical prefinished materials. Had to sand and refinish entire project before move in.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Brian, I do appreciate your comments and understand that ultimately you were not satisfied with the overall performance of the flooring. I want to thank you for working through this issue with us and understanding our side of the issues as best possible. I have sent you a check as per our conversation for the half cost on the Boni product.

Regards, Robert

Joanne in Lakewood Ohio
Joanne in Lakewood Ohio
1 review , OH
10/10

Karri hard wood flooring

The karri flooring looks fantastic (see photos) and Otter Creek was very professional and easy to deal with. They delivered on time, and the price was very reasonable for such a high quality product. I am thrilled that I was able to get this wood which grows only the south west corner of Western Australia where I am from.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Joanne, thanks for purchasing the Karri hardwood flooring from us. I'm glad it worked out for you and I know that you being originally from Australia that you will take great pride in having a piece of homeland product in your house.
Thanks Again, Robert

Becky
Becky
1 review Blyth, ON
10/10

Flooring

It was hard to get the true colours of the flooring with a camera. It changes with the natural lighting during the day from a light pinkish red to shimmering golden reds in the evening. It also has a great variety of grains. We are very pleased with the results and would like to thank Otter Creek flooring for all of their help. Their friendly team were great to deal with and the delivery was very fast. Working with them made the whole renovation experience much easier. Thanks,Becky Williamson

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Becky, thanks very much for your kind words. I'm glad that the Brazilian Rosewood turned out to your liking. Thanks for the nice pictures you sent us. Hope you enjoy your new floor for many years.

Regards, Robert

Catherine & Tim in Hamilton
Catherine & Tim in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

Study floor replacement

While I was away at school, my husband ripped up the old carpet in my study and replaced it with red oak flooring from Otter Creek. What a delightful upgrade to come home to!
We really appreciated the many samples to choose from, the quick delivery, and the ability to get FSC-certified wood for the project.
Many Thanks!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Catherine, thanks for doing this. Its very much appreciated. Hope you and Tim can enjoy your new floor for years to come and know that its wood from well managed forests.

Otter Creek 1
Otter Creek 1
2 reviews ,
6/10

Red Oak Flooring

Robert,

Thought I would send some photographs of the finished floor.

The finish is five coats of polymerized Tung oil. Very forgiving, easy to apply and easily repaired.

I would say that I was not entirely satisfied with the quality of the wood, the grading was inconsistent and they tended to spoil the look of individual lengths by leaving the denser wood near knots in - if they had trimmed back by 2-3” the boards would have been perfect. This gives the finish floor a patchy appearance. There were pieces with large knots in the middle of lengths and several damages pieces that should not have made it into the bundles. I was lucky that I could use the many trimmed pieces and the ends of runs but still ended up with about 15% wastage. The lengths were close to the 3-4 feet average but the mix was more like 90-10 for rift to quartered.

This was half of the project the rest will be completed in the spring so I hope that I have less wastage since this are is rectangular with less chance to use tripped lengths.

Thanks for your assistance,

Regards,

Colin

Colin's response......
Thanks Robert,
I wouldn’t say it was sub-standard – more that a good product was degraded by the companies desire to achieve a very small gain in output.

Given the way the bundles are packed there is a good chance that reducing a couple of strips lengths by 2 -3” would have resulted in the same number of strips being used anyway.

What I will do is keep a record of what comes from each of the remaining bundles and let you know. That way it won’t be subjective.

I though about doing that the last time but was to enthusiastic to get the job do.

Regards,

Colin

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Response from Otter Creek.........
Hi Colin, thanks for the pictures and feedback. I'm disappointed to hear the material was sub standard. Please be aware that we try and provide the best value flooring while maintaining the quality. Once you have complete please let me know your results. I will take this up with the supplier and express my concern that my customer was not happy with the material. We expect 100% satisfaction from our customers at all times.
Regards, Robert

P.S. What you have done looks very nice. Very traditional.

Otter Creek 1
Otter Creek 1
2 reviews ,
10/10

Australian Wormy Chestnut Flooring

Hi Robert,
I want to thank you and Kim for the nice jersey with the Paw emblem, very nice. Its nice to work with folks who appreciate others as I do appreciate all you did to get this order to us.
I have the wood still acclimating, (moisture still at 14%), and will install as soon as we achieve satisfactory content.
I look forward to working with you in the future.
Thanks for everything.
Blaine Bergin, Bergin Construction, Horsehoe Bend, ID

Was this review helpful?
Brenda Clarke, Lynden
Brenda Clarke, Lynden
1 review Lynden, ON
10/10

Patio

These are the follow up photos to my husbands (Barry Clarke) review of our deck. The wood looks fantastic and we are thrilled with the new deck! The quality of the wood is amazing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Barry Clarke
Barry Clarke
1 review Beamsville, ON
10/10

Deck

Good morning Robert
I received your generous gift the other day. Thank you.

The deck was completed the end of last week. We used the Australian timber oil. My wife and I are very pleased with the look of the wood. We are very happy we purchased the cumaru rather than the traditional wood or composite used on decks. The deck stands out from any other. Although the contractor indicated it took him longer than normal because of the density of the wood, he was very pleased with how it turned out.

We just went out and purchased some patio furniture and gazebo for the deck. My wife wants to clean the deck and take a few pictures. At that time she will upload the pictures on to your website.

I would recommend the wood and your courteous assistance to anyone. Thanks

Barry Clarke
Lynden Ontario

Was this review helpful?
Dan/ Massachusetts
Dan/ Massachusetts
1 review , MA
10/10

Deck project

I needed acouple different sizes of Cumaru wood for my deck project,2x4's,2x8's and 5/4x6. Otter Creek was the only company that responded and was able to provide the different sizes of wood. The communication between them was awesome and the Cumaru was delivered quickly. I would definetly recommend them to anyone looking for quality exotic decking.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Otter Creek

CATEGORIES; Decks, Floor Retailers, Railings This short introduction will help you better understand our company and the values we maintain. We would appreciate the opportunity to quote any one of our many fine products. We look forward to this opportunity and encourage you to give us a chance to become ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.