Toronto Roofing Industries Ltd

Roofing
2489 Queen St E Toronto ON M4E 1H9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Roofing
Toronto Roofing Industries Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

79%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Toronto Roofing Industries Ltd

Average customer rating:
7.8 10 (25 reviews)

Sort by

Janet from Toronto
Janet from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

Roofing

They have not finished the job and they left garbage in my driveway. They did come back and correct some errors, and some omissions (did not apply ice shield) but after almost 2 months I am still hoping they will finish the job and clean up.

Review has 1 previous version
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Toronto Roofing Industries has been waiting for direction from the design authority. An amendment to the original plans has been forwarded to include new custom fabricated sheet metal. All other work including flat roofing, asphalt shingles and aluminum soffit fascia and trough to a third story addition is 100% complete.
The new work order was approved and awarded this week to Toronto Roofing Industries. We will now be able to schedule the final work for completion as soon as possible, tentatively next week immediately following Christmas.
This project was part of a bigger renovation under the supervision of an architect and general contractor. Both the original architect and general contractor were replaced midway through the project. The new general contractor appears very thorough and professional.
Toronto Roofing Industries regrets leaving debris in the driveway that, admittedly, should have been removed immediately. It was set aside and covered by a tarp on the construction site. We certainly had not intended to add frustration to what must be a very difficult situation living in your home while it is undergoing a major renovation.
Ice and water shield eaves protection (underlayment) is not required on mansard wall surfaces as per Ontario Building Code section 9.26.5.1 (d). The very simple reason for that is ice back-up CANNOT occur on a cold wall surface where the temperature remains constant to the outside and does not enter a heated area. Therefore it serves no purpose whatsoever. Reference article on ice damming at www.torontoroofingindustries.com.
When approached on this matter by the homeowner who had been speaking to a "roofer friend", Toronto Roofing Industries was already 85% complete on all shingle work. Rather than take a defensive approach we suggested she talk to her architect for clarification or have her roofer friend meet on site to discuss the matter with both her and Toronto Roofing Industries together. For unknown reasons, none of this was to occur?
Toronto Roofing Industries removed the completed shingle work to install ice and water shield and new shingles to keep our customer satisfied.

pascal from Toronto
pascal from Toronto
6 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Roof Fixing

We had shingles missing on our roof and bare wood was showing. Toronto Roofing Industries Ltd responded to my email quickly, provided a quote over the phone and via email and sent someone over a short time later. They repaired the roof and advised us about some other work that needs to be done on our chimney. They were helpful to see the extent of the damage caused by rain and then to show us how the damage was repaired. We were very pleased with the work.

Was this review helpful?
Abe in Scarborough
Abe in Scarborough
3 reviews Scarborough, ON
10/10

roofing replacement

falling tree branch damaged the ridge of one section of our roof.
Toronto roofing had done other, very successful, work for us, so we called them and they responded quickly with clear informative estimates for two approaches to the work. neat, speedy work followed with good followup.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks, appreciate the opportunity!

At Home in Toronto
At Home in Toronto
4 reviews ,
2/10

Small roof re-shingled

Initially I was very pleased with the professionalism given me over the phone and during my initial consultation. However, once the crew arrived (different people), it all fell to pieces.

It was as straight-forward a roofing gig as it could be, with the only complication being that we had a skylight. Otherwise, it is a small 1000sqft fully detached home with good access at front and back.

I had about six companies quote on the job. TRI weren't the cheapest, but I felt most comfortable with them, and they were one of only a couple who said they could do the job without removing the skylight.

I took the day off to work from home during the construction so I could be of service if there were any issues that required my attention.
It's just as well I did. The trouble started with the demolition of the existing roof, when I heard a crash right at the window I was working next to. They had failed to protect an exterior light, and threw old shingles down that broke it right off. They later reinstalled it, but it is permanently bent. Later on, I hear what sounds like rain in the hallway. I poke my head out to see that they have removed the skylight (despite the explicit agreement not to), separating the drywall inside. The rain sound was the drywall flaking down. I called the owner and told him of this, and he acknowledged their mistake and offered to re-drywall the interior. Knowing that such a patch-up would never result in a like-new look, we agreed that he would replace a section of flashing on another part of the house instead at no cost. I was pleased with the trade in cost, but still upset that it even came to this... there is still a very visible crack all around the skylight where it was separated from the drywall. Also, while the skylight was off, they dripped roofing tar into my hallway permanently staining my railing... an issue I did not bother taking up with them at that time. (I had work of my own to do that day as well)

Finally, and most disturbingly, I glanced out the window to see how things were going, and noticed that the crew was installing shingles directly on top of 100yr old wooden roof boards without any underlayment!!! In addition to this, they were using standard roof felt only at the bottom of the roof (nothing above) instead of the ice and water shield! I couldn't believe that they would cut this corner. This is basic stuff! I paid specifically for a particular underlayment and ice and water shield, and they simply weren't installing it. This is classic how-not-to-install-shingles. Inexcusable! I went out side to point it out. The crew boss went red in the face and tried to tell me that it was okay. I told him he wasn't going to pull that one over on me, and that I knew how shingles are to be installed, and an underlayment is critical (especially over a roof with air gaps between the boards. He then had to admit that he had cut corners because they ran out of material, and it was the end of the day. I said that it was unacceptable, and they agreed to come back the following day with the correct materials and redo that portion of roof.

I took the evening as an opportunity to check to see what else they had skimped on, and notice that they didn't install ice and water shield on another section of roof too! I guess they figure how many people are going to look under the shingles... so let's swindle them out of what they paid for and install a product that will leak... who cares right? I DO! I had them remove all of their work and begin again with the correct materials.

In the end, the final product seems to be quite good, and there have been no issues with leaking thus far (2 yrs now). However, if I hadn't been home, or hadn't looked out the window at the right time, or hadn't taken the time to get up on a ladder and peak under the shingles, I would have been left with a terribly installed roof.

I can only hope that their mistakes were due to a lack of experience, rather than a malicious intent to save a few bucks and a bit of time at my expense. If it was a lack of experience, the crews should be supervised by someone who will notice these issues, rather than relying on the homeowner to get lucky and catch them by fluke.

On a final note, 2 years later, and I'm still finding roofing nails in my garden. It's called a magnet sweep! For the safety of your future clients children, I hope that TRI learns to properly contain their roof waste, and sweep up the nails at the end of the job carefully.

To be fair, it is possible that it was just one terrible crew, and maybe those individuals are long gone, and there are no longer any concerns of this sort with TRI. But, the experience is still so frustrating to me, I feel it warrants a post here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We value the customer experience and after reading this review we felt we should reach out to you. While the complaints appear to be lengthy we have not been able to pinpoint your file. Typically if a customer has complaints and/or one of our crews have not done the job to our standards, it is noted on the customer file as well as the actions taken to rectify the situation. In this case we have looked at every file from the past four years (a lengthy process) and none match the description above. You are absolutely right that if the contract states eave protection it must be installed. You mention 100 year old boards yet the picture shows plywood, I assume this must be an unheated porch which does not require eave protection by code...not an excuse but merely trying to figure out what went wrong in this case so we can avoid any future problems. I trust that we did actually do the job and with all our customers will stand by our work 100%.

Steve Schiedel
VP Operations and Production

Rod Layman in Toronto
Rod Layman in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Many roof replacements for housing co-op

Toronto Roofing Industries has replaced about 10 roofs for Riverdale Co-op in the past four years, ranging from small shingled porches to large flat roofs. Their pricing is always fair, delivering a high quality installation with a friendly and professional attitude. It's great to have them in the community, and I highly recommend their work.

Rod Layman
Riverdale Co-op Project Manager

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Rod, we always appreciate the business.

Sue
Sue
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Flat Roofing Project

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

On short notice, I needed to have the shared flat garage roof redone on my home in the Beach area. There had been only one small leak so the crew replaced wood only where needed. I liked that because we were able to preserve the original planks. The roofers were helpful and polite, especially having to deal with two owners. The owner of the other section of the garage roof was pleased with the job as well as the price, since she had received other quotes.
When Tim came to do the initial inspection on the garage roof, I asked him to check the roof on the house. Good time to have a roof inspection done! Thank you to Toronto Roofing Industries for a job well done, and quickly organized.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Appreciate the feedback Sue, glad we could help!

Darryn in Toronto
Darryn in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

New flat roof

I contacted Steve with TRI Ltd to quote me on a flat roof job I needed don e. He assessed the situation and gave me a quote immediately. The job was completed 2 weeks later. As an added bonus, they noticed squirrels had created a hole in some fascia board and replaced it. I found the installers efficient and detail oriented. i would definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks!
Hopefully no more squirrels!

Amanda Harper Sevonty in Toronto
Amanda Harper Sevonty in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

New roof and cedar shingles on dormer

We needed our roof and dormer redone and we were in a bit of a hurry because we are listing our house for sale. A neighbour told me about their great service and experience with Toronto Roofing Industries so I gave them a call. Carole their office manager was wonderful to deal with and got someone out right away. Tim came out to give us a quote which was very reasonable and they were able to fit us in quickly. They turned the work around in quick time and did an excellent job. From start to finish it was a great experience and the workmanship was excellent! I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review! Good luck with sale of your home.

Doug Heldman in Scarborough
Doug Heldman in Scarborough
1 review Scarborough, ON
10/10

Complete Roof

Job was completed on time and on budget. Debris was cleaned up and management checked in after completion to see if I was happy with the job. I have recommended several Clients to them since. These people know the work and stand behind what they do. It has been 3 years since the job was done and it is as perfect as the day it was done. A Ten out of Ten!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks!

k. martin in Claremont
k. martin in Claremont
1 review CLAREMONT, ON
10/10

roof, eaves

The job Toronto Roofing Industries did for us was fantastic. The workmanship was excellent , but the customer service was absolutely top shelf. Carole called to ensure the workers arrived (they did), that they cleaned up when they left (they did), that they went over the job with us when they were completed (they did), that we were satisfied and pleased (we were).
Couldn't ask for any better service - from the quote process (thanks to Tim) - through to the perfect shape the workers left our house and yard in.
Very heavy rain and everything held up as it should.
I've already recommended Toronto Roofing Industries to a work colleague.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks! Always appreciate word of mouth recommendations. Glad we could help.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Toronto Roofing Industries Ltd

Residential roofing, shingles, flat roofing systems, alumunim siding and eaves troughing contractors.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Roofing pros in East York?