Sutton & Son Appliances

Appliance Repair
154 Gage Avenue North Hamilton ON L8L 7A4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Appliance Repair in Hamilton  >  Sutton & Son Appliances
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

69%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Sutton & Son Appliances

Average customer rating:
6.6 10 (28 reviews)

Sort by

Alan I in Burlington
Alan I in Burlington
3 reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

Leaky Fridge... Quick Fix

Sutton has always been and will continue to be my go to company for appliance repair. They always get back to me quickly to arrange an appointment. On the day of service I received a call identifying a 2 hour window for the visit and they hit it. Their service team are extremely knowledgeable, quickly diagnosed the problem - water leak and pooling on the kitchen floor - and laid out service options and likely outcomes. The issue was a blocked evaporator drain... diagnosed in about 5 seconds. I find them extremely pleasant and fair to work with. Give them a try. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful?
anna in Stoney Creek
anna in Stoney Creek
1 review Hamilton, ON
2/10

service call

This company failed to notify me of the $100 charge just to come out and look at my machine. They came outside the window they said they would (they called on the day to confirm) so I missed them, I lost half a day of work and an autistic tenant relayed the info to me. Then they explained once I called the company about the phantom service call that the part would not be available for a few weeks. So I had to go with another company that could fix my machine as I rely on the dryer for my business. If they had told me up front about the fee and the tech had arrived so I could actually speak to the person I would feel like I got my moneys worth. In addition the only option they gave me to pay was credit card??? I won't be recommending them to anyone. Be clear and up front about timelines and costs.

Was this review helpful?
Paul & Carolyn in Oakville
Paul & Carolyn in Oakville
5 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

Front Loading Washer Repair

I was pleased with Sutton and Son's service. I was told what day the tech was coming, and, I would receive a phone call prior to 9:00am that day to give me a two hour time window as to when he would arrive. This is exactly what happened.
Steve diagnosed the D.O.A. problem (new Frigidaire washing machine delivered "dead on arrival"). Steve ordered the required electronic parts, notified me when they arrived and installed the parts the next day. Our machine is now alive. This was warranty work, Frigidaire recommended Sutton and Son as one of their 3 go-to repair companies in the Oakville area.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
1 review Hamilton, ON
0/10

Sutton and Sons terrible experience and rude owner!

THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I have ever experienced. 3 times the same issue was 'worked on' by SUTTON and SONS and 3 different misdiagnosis. In top of that 3 panels were installed on my stove and the owner blames the manufacturer. I called this company to fix this issue and they were paid in full. THE PROBLEM IS THE SAME. Instead of blaming the customer and the manufaturer, look at your service and your troubleshooting. I also have some advice regarding your attitude, learn how to talk with people and realize that your customers keep you in business. Insulting them and challenging them on the phone due to a problem that you are not capable of fixing is because of yohr shortcomings not ours. Your company was called to fix a oven. That is all that I wanted and paid for...TWICE! Maybe that is why Sutton and Sons has a rating below 70% on satisfaction and reviews. I had this 'company' come to my home 3+times. They misdiagnosed the problem on my oven panel and I paid in full. When the problem continued they came up again and replaced the same part. Then again...same issue within days. This time they said it wasn't the panel after all. So the new charge was $300+
I asked them why am I paying twice for the same problem? The owners answer was either pay for the new part or buy a new stove!!! Once again I paid. And once again we have the same problem. The owner Steve who I spome with on the phone could only brag about how many service calls he has booked with clients and how this problem was fixed by his company. I asked him to stand behind his reputation and service and all I got was rude attitude. Will never deal with a company lime this again. Stay away from this company SUTTON AND SONS if you value your money and do not want to be frustrated by poor service and terrible diagnostic on your appliances.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mr Micieli,

We always appreciate VALID feedback so we can constantly monitor and improve our customer service.
As we discussed on the phone yesterday and previously , your original service issue was that you had spilled liquid into the control panel of your stove. Our technician determined that the fault code was indicating a communication error between the touchpad and the electronic board.(which was correct) The tech tried to get the touchpad working without having to replace it. However, it had been damaged by the liquid and there were 2 options that wouldn't work at all.
We replaced the touchpad with a manufacturer's part which unfortunately proved to be defective so we had to return to replace the same part under manufacturer's warranty. Shortly after that, the fault code returned.
The tech had advised you that you might end up needing the electronic control as well due to the spillage. As you did not recall this advice, after a long discussion with you, we agreed to install the control at cost with no labour charge as a business courtesy to you(Jan 3rd).
You are now having another issue with your stove 8 Months later. I personally would be frustrated with a similar issue coming back after 8 months but shouldn't your frustrations be better served directed to the manufacturer?
I was never rude to you on the phone I was just not willing to offer you free parts and service on a call that was completed more than 8 months ago. The warranty is 30 days on service and 90 days on parts which is the manufacture's warranty.

Regards,

Steve

Jennifer in Burlington
Jennifer in Burlington
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

Great Service and Price

Suttons helped me over the phone before sending out the repair person next morning to fix my gas stove that would not heat. When they arrived next day (on time), the tech was very prepared because they spent time with me on the phone, which made for a faster service call. They replaced my ignitor quickly and the repair guy was very helpful and polite. I felt the need to leave this review because it is rare to find good businesses to spend time with customers and offer a good price. I would recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Joanne Golding in Hamilton
Joanne Golding in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

Washer Issue!!!!!

I had called Sutton and sons after finding my washer had stopped mid cycle and full of water. I was convinced (by Google) that I needed a drain pump. After speaking with the person on the phone they indicated that it was most likely a lid switch (Google failed me). After looking up the lid switch told me they had it in stock. I went in to pick up the part and the gentleman serving me at the counter even went as far to say if I'm having trouble installing give them a call. I got home was able to install with no issue and washer works beautiful. Thank you Sutton and Son Appliances!!!

Was this review helpful?
Private
Private
1 review Hamilton, ON
0/10

Passive Aggressive Rip Off

Told me I needed a motor and control board, turned out to be a $16 dollar part. Told me they stock everything, and to come down.
Drove there, was met with hostile, passive aggressive and combative personalities.

They should be able to troubleshoot problems better, and if you can't, don't start with the two most expensive parts on the dryer.

Not professional or friendly, just the opposite.

My recommendation to potential customers would be to look elsewhere.

My recommendation to Sutton and Sons - change careers, something you will be happy doing, because clearly you are miserable there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Paul,
We here at Sutton & Son Appliances offer free advice to the do it yourselfer to help customers avoid unnecessary service costs. When you called in the other day I believe you spoke with two of our technicians who helped to determine that the likely issue with your machine was a burnt wire on a thermostat. However, we had not seen the machine or the part and therefore could not say absolutely that it was the issue. When you brought the part in we were able to say that it had to be replaced. Being a model specific part, we did not immediately have one in stock but could have ordered it and had it here the next business day and your only cost would have been for the part.
I promise you we do not push parts or service on customers which is why we have the free advice policy. We are proud to say that we have helped thousands of customers in this way over the years.
If you wish to follow up with your concerns please feel free to give us a call so we can talk.

Steve

Lisa Lam
Lisa Lam
4 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

Stove repair

The control panel/clock on our stove was breaking lose and falling into the appliance. We called the manufacturer, who referred us to Sutton and Son. I had great customer service from the time I called them. They knew what the problem was without coming, ordered the part and scheduled an appointment to come later the same week. On the appointed day, I got a call in the morning to provide a time frame. They arrived on time, completed the repair and all the paperwork quickly, professionally and without making any mess! A very pleasant experience! Thank you!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Lisa,

I just wanted to thank you for such a wonderful review. We all work very hard at providing as positive an experience as possible.

Steve
The Owner

Liz in Niagara
Liz in Niagara
1 review Saint Catharines, ON
10/10

Stove problem

I had done a self clean on my stove just before a big dinner party I was planning. When the self clean was done I could not get the door open. I was in somewhat of a panic when I called Sutton & Son. I described the situation and they suggested that I may need to just reset my breaker. I did that and was able to open the door with no problem. They had also taken the model & serial number of my stove and looked up the handle to order it if it was needed. Thank you for the friendly, courteous help. I will definitely call them if I need appliance service. They also said that right before a big event is not the best time to do a self clean as with the high temperatures involved with a self clean, if something is ready to break, it will break then. Good advice to have.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Liz,

I thank you for your kind words and your effort in posting this review.
Suttons works very hard at helping customers over the phone in an attempt to avoid any unnecessary service call charges.

Warm Regards,

Steve

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.