Surfside Pool Services

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
130 Mulock Dr Newmarket ON L3Y7C5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs in Newmarket  >  Surfside Pool Services
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

57%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Surfside Pool Services

Average customer rating:
5.7 10 (13 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Newmarket, ON
2/10

Pool

We were very pleased with the onsite crew.......but the remainder of the people at the company were very difficult.

Warranty work was a nightmare and took over 15 months to resolve.

Customer service does not really exist......unless you are in the market to buy.

I would shop around for sure.

Was this review helpful?
Tiffany from Markham
Tiffany from Markham
1 review Markham, ON
4/10

pool installation

Project was poorly mismanaged. The overall construction was done fairly well. Paul and the crew were nice friendly guys. However, damage to our fence, and window well from the machines took place. It was only after threatening to hold back funds did the owner agree to fix the damage. Subcontracting was a problem as mentioned in a previous review. Coping stones were set completely out of level, mitres were out of whack. When I called to have them return to take them out before mortar set, noone would come. Suffice it to say I had to to remove 5 4'0" stones by hand by myself and clean the cement off.! We had beautiful weather for four weeks and after initial installation of pool, subcontractors would show up for a only a few hours a day - this delayed the completion of the project. Overall, nice crew but poor management.

Review has 1 previous version
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Elaine from Woodbridge
Elaine from Woodbridge
2 reviews Woodbridge, ON
10/10

swimming pools

We can't thank Rick enough for the great transformation he created in our backyard. From the design and quality of work, we were very happy and would highly recommend this company to anyone interested in putting a pool in their backyard. We can't wait for the warm weather and enjoy our new backyard!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
John from Newmarket
John from Newmarket
1 review Newmarket, ON
0/10

Hot Tub Repair

I brought my spa pump in for a leak on the wet side of the pump. After a week and half of calls from me ( no return calls)
I was called and told that my pump was ready.
I picked the pump up and was assured that it was tested and worked. I installed the pump and it leaked worse then before. After noticing that the seal was filled with clear silicone I contacted the manufacturer who informed me that silicone was never to be used. I contacted Surfside and was given a list of reasons, all of which were untrue, as to why it still leaks. Rick, who did the work, never returned my calls until I was in the store.
After watching a short youtube video and 15 mins of my time I fixed the leak, with parts I ordered from the manufacturer.

After comparing the old parts and the new parts( that I purchased) I have many questions about their lack of service.

I will never shop or use any services from Surfside again.

Please be aware.

John

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
dk from Newmarket
dk from Newmarket
12 reviews Newmarket, ON
10/10

Pool Closing

We called Rick at Surfside to help us out on closing our pool. It was very late in the season and we now how busy the companies are. He said no problem and fit us into their schedule. How professional the job was and how polite the gentlemen were who came out. Great Job !!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
corey in Thornhill
corey in Thornhill
4 reviews Thornhill, ON
4/10

Inground Pool

We contacted 5 companies for quotes. Rick showed up from Surfside. He made a very good presentation, he was knowledgeable and the price was competative. We were advised that Surfside does not contract out any of their work which we liked, we were also comfortable knowing that they have been in business for a long time. We signed the contract with great expectations unfortunately they were not met. The first crew came to do the pool construction (18X36) These guys did a very good job and we were happy with their work. I will give credit where it is deserved and the construction of the pool itself appears to be very good. The issues we had were with the interlocking. We were advised that they do not contract out any aspect of their builds which is not true. The interlocking was done by a contractor who did not seem all that happy to be there and it showed in his work. He cut corners and wasn't very thorough, he did an average job but not what I was expecting for the money I paid. What really bothered me and what any potential customer should think twice about was the fact that the contractor changed the design of the landscaping without authorization. Furthermore he demanding more money from me for the changes he made without pre approval. I called Surfside and spoke with Rick. This time he was not helpful at all and advised that I had to work it out with the contractor. Surfside refused to accept any responsibility for their contractors. Once the job was completed and it was time to settle up Surfside tried to double bill for items that had already been paid for and there were a few hidden surprises at the end. I have used Surfside for the last 1 1/2 seasons to open and close the pool and I can say that their crew is very good to deal with and I have no complaints about them. Overall this is what I would say... Surfside is not a bad company but they are not great. Once the deal is signed you are no longer a priority which is a shame because of the amount of money you spend on these projects. They work very hard to get your business but not to keep it or make you happy. I would urge any one considering using surfside for a new build to think again and check all reviews on homestars and other places before signing the contract. There are so many other companies out there and there should be no reason to settle for mediocrity which is what Surfside is. If you have any questions about this review and are thinking about using Surfside please feel free to contact me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow Corey I was really dismayed to read this review. We built your pool a year ago, you had some issues with sand in the interlock which we fixed this spring. This is the first we have heard about other problems with the interlock.
Could all this be the result of us basically refusing to accept responsibility for the crack in your basement wall that you claim is our doing? We have gone over this and our equipment has never damaged a basement wall in over 40 years. Our equipment ran approximately 4 to 6 feet away from your basement wall leak area and the ground is extremely hard. Your house is also 20 plus years old and has probably just slowly settled causing the crack to show at this time a year after we built the pool.
I'm sorry you feel it necessary to write such a review when we have resolved every issue that you have brought to us regarding the pool and landscaping. The basement wall issue we definitely feel is not our responsibility and we have gone over this with you in several email discussions.

Hugh in Newmarket
Hugh in Newmarket
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

swimming pool, patio & waterfall

We contacted Surfside Pool Services first over a year ago but waited until this year to proceed. Met several other Surfside customers who were all happy so we felt comfortable with them. Their sales presentation was very informative and factual - their delivery was even better - on time, lots of communication and excellent work. We have a beautiful yard that our family and friends love. Glad we went ahead particularly with this hot weather. Thank you Surfside for a job well done and appreciated.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Frasers in Aurora
Frasers in Aurora
1 review ,
0/10

We will never buy or service my hot tub by these guys. RIP-OFF!!!

Dishonest merchant; poor customer service; expensive; unethical management. The president of Surfside LeisureScapes does not understand the importance of a happy customer. It cenrtainly has cost him my future business and perhaps the business of other potential customers reading this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Fraser in Aurora
Would you please tell me who you are as we do not have any customers by this name in Aurora nor did Surfside do any work for the amount you have stated. If we are so bad, please tell me what we did wrong so that we can attempt to make amends. You are using very strong derogatory words which I find offensive. We have been in business for many years with an excellent track record of very goos customer service as our numerous steady customers will atest to. Please let us know who you are and what we can do.
Berndy

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Surfside Pool Services

Retail store for the sales of Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs and Accessories as well as service.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.