Stonehenge Design Build

Landscape Contractors & Designers
137 Raleigh Avenue Toronto ON M1K 1A1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

60%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Stonehenge Design Build

Average customer rating:
9.1 10 (10 reviews)

Sort by

Lois from Toronto
Lois from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

renovation

You will get cheaper quotes but you can’t find better work!
My 100 yr old semi-detached house in the Beach needs a lot of help involving complex solutions. Over the years, I have always selected Stonehenge. Landscaping, leaking basement/foundation and presently a small addition - everyone comments on the beauty and quality of work. Stonehenge tradesmen execute their work to the highest standard while being respectful, courteous and caring.
Paul provides elegant design advice, support through complex construction solutions and continuous site supervision. They are flexible, patient, willing to accommodate design changes as work progresses and prepared to adjust schedules as needed. They ‘go the extra mile’ regardless of project size and are committed to the best for their clients. I have been delighted with their work.

Was this review helpful?
virginia in Cabbagetown
virginia in Cabbagetown
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

re-bricking back patio

The job required filling in an area of our patio to match existing old brick. There were some design requirements and repairs to an existing retaining wall. Paul consulted fully with us beforehand and was always accessible during the project. Our small, downtown garden was filled with large potted plants, all of which were treated with great care and consideration. The work was conscientiously done and everything was left very clean and orderly after the job was completed. We were very pleased and would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Cindy in the Beaches
Cindy in the Beaches
4 reviews Toronto, ON
3/10

Stone work backyard

I normally only put in the effort to write reviews if I am happy with the contractor. My criteria for complete satisfaction are simple. Show up for the job when you say you will, do the job as discussed and keep within the estimate. I hired Stonehenge since they had a good reputation for work in the beach. The job involved flagstone installation and granite in my backyard. My initial main problem with the company involved the appointment coordinator Eleanor. She is unfortunately the owner's wife, so good luck complaining . I work nights and had to wake up early to ensure that my dogs were out of the way prior to Stonehenge coming that morning as arranged. Then i sat and waited to meet with them to confirm final details. They did a no show. When I called to ask where they were , Eleanor tore a strip off of me and it turned into a big argument. She refused to agree that perhaps if they couldn't come that day , that they Should call tolet me know. Seems basic to me. She was yelling at me that they were so busy that they don't have time to even call. Ie my time and sleep is worth nothing to her.
The next summer i did my entire front lawn (a job at cost about 25,000). I got 5 estimates but did not even call stonehenge to submit an estimate because of my terrible experience with Eleanor. The job they eventually did in my backyard was fine. The guys were ok to get along with. No problems there. The next problem was with the aggregate sand put between the flagstone. Right away it started bubbling up and cracking every time it rained. Paul came back and said it was normal. I wasn't buying it , but I let it go . Each year more of the aggregate would break off and now 3 years later , it is mostly gone and grass us growing up between it. The crew was working at another house on my street so I asked Paul to look at it again since it now looks terrible. He said that the aggregate was breaking apart because it is too wet in my yard. The flagstone is is full sun and the area that actually is in the shade under my hose is the only area not in bad shape. Again I wasn't at all convinced. I was implying that this should fall under my 5 year warranty and they should absorb the cost of repair. Instead he said that he will do it for a fair price. It took a while to get this estimate. $600 to repair work that I think was not done right the first time. I tried to get the other estimate that Paul said he would prepare that involved me digging out the old aggregate and they put in the new one instead of them doing the entire job. I never got this estimate. I started this process in early August. Then Eleanor went on holiday so it took 3 more weeks to even try to get more info.turns out Paul is not allowed to make any comments on an estimate if Eleanor is not around. After2 e mails and 3 phone calls, I finally was told that they were too busy to do the job in 2013 and it would have to wait til 2014. She offered to sell me the aggregate sand and I could do it all myself. I have had 2 hip replacements (which I told Paul about) so I wasn't interested In this option. I watched the video on u tube to see how the product is supposed to be installed. That's when I realized why it had failed. It is supposed to be the entire thickness of the stone or at least 1 inch. The areas that failed were only 1/4 inch thick in a lot of places. I spoke once to Eleanor directly who reluctantly said she would discuss it with Paul and call me back that day. She ever did. I left 3 more messages and received no more response from them. I realize now that I have been dumped and that they have no intension of even responding to my complaint. My opinion is that it was never installed correctly and should be repaired at their cost, not mine. I have lived in the beach for 20 years and even though most of the work was done correctly , I would never recommend this company. Maybe if they read my review, they will be more motivated to actually finally call me back
Cindy
Balsam ave,beaches

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Cindy:
You called this summer with a concern about a flagstone walkway installation we had performed 3 years ago. You said that on part of the walkway the jointing sand was “bubbling up and flaking off”. I, Paul Adamson, owner of Stonehenge Design Build, came out and met you at your home as soon as possible. I discovered an unusual situation; the failure of part of the jointing sand. The product we often use for the joints is a polymeric jointing sand which is the most leading edge product of its kind. This product normally performs exceptionally well. We have never known it to fail. The affected area of your walkway seems to drain slowly due to grading challenges with the tree/driveway/deck steps and grade to the south. I stopped by several times to monitor and investigate what was happening.

I explained to you that it is our opinion that the jointing sand is failing due to the moisture conditions. This is not a warranty issue. You may also remember that our best solution was to offer to re-apply a different sand at an “our cost basis only”. This is the same as your original invoice which we also did at cost only. You also asked if we could just supply the sand so you could do it yourself to save money. I said we certainly would in this case.

Some time passed again and then you said that you decided that this should be considered a warranty issue and insisted we re-install jointing sand for free.

Although we do sympathize with your situation, we do not feel obligated to repair work that is damaged by these conditions. Our original offer stands that we would perform the work at cost only. I am still willing to perform the work this Fall and if we can to it for even less I most certainly will. We cannot offer a guarantee on the re-installation of the sand but would perform the installation with hopes that it would at least hold another few years.

Customer satisfaction is and always has been paramount to us. It is a large part of the foundation of building our business over the last 25 years. When you engaged us to install your walkway originally, you were very cost conscious. We did our best to accommodate your needs and help you out. We installed the sand at cost only. When we were on site, upon your request; we did other work for no charge; i.e.: installing fence sections and temporarily repairing your failing front step free of charge. (as we could not guarantee repairs on previous work by others)

In regards to all your other comments and complaints; Eleanor and my recollection of events and job notes differ from yours. I will not however, go” tit for tat” on what you have said and prefer to respectfully disagree.

Paul Adamson
Stonehenge

patti craine in Toronto
patti craine in Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

installation of driveway

Stonehenge design solved our problem of front yard parking with a tree unusually close to the pad. They were supportive through the process of gaining permits, knowlegeable, and attentive. We often felt like very special customers. They arrived when they said that they would, cleaned up beautifully, and the driveway is beautiful. It is a nice addition to a small urban lot.

Was this review helpful?
Jeff from the Beach
Jeff from the Beach
1 review Toronto, ON

First Review

8/10

Landscaping

Stonehenge took a long time to get started on the project but you have to expect that I guess when they are in demand. Once they began they flew through it until finished. One of the only landscapers that had experience with artificial turf. They have done so many projects on my street and others in the Beach. Great quality and imagination for landscape projects. They are busy and not cheap, but if you want a quality job done right though, try them. Paul is very friendly and approachable.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Stonehenge Design Build

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.