Stone River Windows + Doors Inc.

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
391 Marwood Ave. Unit 3 Oshawa ON L1H 7P8
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Windows & Doors Installation & Service in Oshawa  >  Stone River Windows + Doors Inc.  >  New windows purchase and installation on a home addition
Darko Marinkovic from Old Toronto
Darko Marinkovic from Old Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

New windows purchase and installation on a home addition

Stone River Windows + Doors Inc.
391 Marwood Ave. Unit 3
L1H 7P8

We have decided to purchase Andersen windows and patio doors for our home addition and chose to use Andersen's official dealer, Stone River Widows and Doors for both purchase and the installation. We were expecting quick and easy installation by the professional installation crew but it turned out that the installation was one of those butcher jobs that kept turning from bad to worse to a total disaster now spanning more than four months, and counting.
After the initial installation I have compiled a list of deficiencies that was a full page long. Here they are, just to name a few:
1. They have dropped one of the windows, completely broke the flange off and still installed it on the second floor hoping that we are not going to notice it.
2. They scratched the surface of the patio door when they were drilling the holes for the handles
3. They installed the patio door handles in such a way that one handle was 2" higher than the other (and I'm not exaggerating, too bad I can't post a photo here).
4. They were reading the installation manual on site to figure out the steps for installing the door and still managed to incorrectly install the locking mechanism.
5. Three of the windows installed bowed in because they did not use the proper expanding foam.
6. Patio door frame was installed crooked and skewed (it was off 3/4" in-out and 1/2" left- right) resulting in door misalignment.
And that's just a few. The overall quality of the job done and the workmanship was "0" - simply nonexistent.

After complaining to the sales representative (who was actually the only person with whom I could carry a decent conversation) the plan of action was to rectify the deficiencies, replace broken window and scratched panel on patio door and fix myriad of other small things. It took six weeks for them to get the replacement parts from Andersen only to find out that they ordered the wrong panel for the patio doors and forgot to order the jamb extensions for the new window. They had to reuse the jamb extensions from the old window and that could not be done without damaging it.

So now we are waiting again for the panel to arrive. We purchased the windows in May in it's now October and we're still not done.
We were hoping that the factory might have some leverage over their authorized dealer but we were so wrong. They basically washed their hands off the whole thing and told us "that is between you and the dealer" (Melissa Little - Andersen customer service rep.)

If you are planning to buy new windows try to avoid this company or you might be taking a chance. Maybe they have been a good company at one point in time but that is certainly not the case anymore or you wouldn't be reading this.

Not the second. Or third...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I guess you have some jobs that have problems and the customer feels some righteous indignation... that happens in the construction business. The original contract with Mr. Marinkovic was for SUPPLY ONLY. The order was placed in May and delivered to his job site June 27th, a normal lead time. On August 3rd, he contracted with us to "set and foam" the product as I guess he didn't have the time or resources to do it himself. This is different than a "full installation" as we only affix the product to the structure and foam the space around the window. The customer is responsible for doing any interior or exterior trimming. Granted, there were deficiencies, some of Stone River's making and some indeterminate as the product had been on the customer's job site for at least six weeks, during which time we had no control over it. Suffice it to say, we responded immediately and resolved every one of the problems. At this time we are still awaiting one door panel from the factory as it was shipped incorrectly by the manufacturer. It's replacement is as simple as changing a tire on a car... no big deal. As far as the crew that did the work, they have been removed from our roster and no longer work for us. Finally, Mr. Marinkovic forgot to state that we DID NOT CHARGE him for any of the work we performed. We feel strongly that our customers deserve the best and when we mess up, we make it right. The one last thing that Mr. Marinkovic can rely on, is that Stone River has been around since 1988 and we will still be here to service his product for many years to come. As I jokingly say to our customers. we're human and do make mistakes, and even if we can't totally satisfy you, you can always find us to yell at unlike many other contractors who take your money and then disappear into the wood work.