Write a Review
HomeStars
Furniture
Sterling House Interiors
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

77%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Sterling House Interiors

Average customer rating:
7.9 10 (65 reviews)

Sort by

BJOHNSON
BJOHNSON
3 reviews ,
10/10

Bedroom Furniture

I had the most pleasant experience I have ever had purchasing furniture. So, I am very surprised by the negative feedback that I see here. The salesman was the sweetest young man I have dealt with. Went above and beyond what I would expect from a salesperson. He was very honest and knowledgeable. He explained everything there was about wood,finish,quality and the benefits of buying Canadian. I received my BG bedroom set recently and I am over the moon. Very beautiful furniture and worth every penny!!! I will DEFINITELY recommend Sterling House to my friends and neighbours. And I will make sure they ask for Peter.

Ms.Johnson

Was this review helpful?
Antonio
Antonio
14 reviews Etobicoke, ON
1/10

Purchased a number of household products including a kitchen table, sofa and buffet

My first two purchases were well received and attention to detail seemed good. However, my last purchase - a buffet table - was continuous problem with the quality of the product being in question from day one. The challenge was the time it took for us to resolve this (approx. 1 year from date of purchase)and the need for the company to constantly change their story, neglect our requests and on various occasions say they were going to resolve the problem and then us having to call them back 8 weeks later to remind them that nothing had been done. All in all a very frustrating process and I would not work or trust the manager at the store to do or say anything that would be fulfilled. The only saving grace was a young lady who works at the store as she was quite good at trying to help resolve this longstanding problem and in the end was able to procur our full reimbursement. If your furniture arrives well to your home, this company is good at dealing with you as you will have no aftermarket issues, however if the furniture is damaged and needs to be returned to the manufacturer, this is where the problems begin. Caveat Emptor!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This customer purchased a Shermag server that initially came in with some stain missing on the edge. Would have been an easy fix but customer wanted new. We order him a new one and he wasn't happy with that finish either as he thought it had little "bumps" in finish. I personally looked at the piece and I agree it had little "dust bumps" in finish. At this point we offered to refund his money as we had advised him that Shermag was in bankruptcy and couldn't guarantee him turnaround time nor guality. We also offered him another set from Bermex but it was over his budget of $1199. We then offered him our floor model at a discount but he didnt' want it because the drawers weren't perfectly flush. Another option we offered him was that we would have the piece refinished locally with no charge to him...he declined. From a stores standpoint we offered him lots of options to make him happy but nothing worked. After all the options were exhausted he said he would wait for another piece from Shermag. When the piece finally came in he no longer wanted it and asked for a refund, which we gladly granted.

Surina, Toronto
Surina, Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Bedroom/Dining Set

I was very impressed by the friendly customer service provided by Peter and his staff. They went out of there way to educate me on everything I needed to know when buying my bedroom furniture. They were honest, professional and took the time to understand any concerns I had with my purchase. Their enthusiastic service has left an excellent impression on me!!!! When I look to furnish my house, I call Peter first as he knows exactly what style i’m looking for. I would definitely recommend Sterling House to all my friends and family! Thank-you Sterling House!

Was this review helpful?
Bob in Grimsby
Bob in Grimsby
2 reviews ,
10/10

solid wood bedroom set

I have to tell you I am really impressed with Sterling House, I have been telling all my friends and relatives. I bought a solid wood bedroom set and it is perfect. I have been looking for bedroom set for a while now and just couldn't find the right one. A lot of bedrooms I looked at were made in China and the quality was not that good and I rather support our own country. I found the perfect set here made in canada and solid wood. It was definitely worth the wait of 8 weeks. The delivery guys were great..very helpful and careful when setting up the furniture.I did have one problem with one of the night stands where the corner was missing some stain..i called the store and within a few days they sent over a repair person who fixed the night table. My overall experience was great-I recommend this store to anyone who wants quality furniture and great service.
see you guys soon.

Was this review helpful?
Natalie Smith, Etobicoke
Natalie Smith, Etobicoke
1 review ,
10/10

Bedroom set

I just want to say how GREAT my experience was at Sterling House. Peter was absolutely an amazing person to do business with. He really seemed to care and explained to us why we should buy Canadian and the problems other manufacturers were having as a result of moving their operations overseas! I know I spent more on this set than I would have on a import but it was WELL worth the money and I know I will be able to enjoy for years to come!! Good luck to the others that bought the imports :) The only negative I have to say is that it took a little longer to get. Peter told us 8 weeks but it turned out to be 10 weeks. But it's ok because it was well worth the wait. Me and my husband would recommend Peter and Sterling House to all over our friends.

Was this review helpful?
Brennan in Burlington
Brennan in Burlington
2 reviews ,

First Review

2/10

Kitchen Island

We searched high and low for a kitchen island that would meet our needs and found one at Sterling House. From a sales perspective Sterling house was easy to deal with however that is where the buck stopped. After having agreed on a price and delivery we had to wait longer then promised for the piece to arrive and when questioned we were met with the regular excuses for delays in shipment. Once the unit did arrive it was delivered to our house where upon Sterling's deliver people damaged the unit so back it went. We were told a new one would arrive in a couple of weeks which surprisingly was much shorter then the original deleivery time. None the less Sterling chargered our credit card full price for what amounted to none delivery of what we ordered. A couple of weeks later we contact Sterling house (of course they don't call you)and they tell us that indeed the new island is in. The new one is delivered to our home, for some odd reason ... already unpacked and assembled.... this time they break off one of the selves and damage the side of the unit even before they get it in the house and of course this unit goes back. We are now several months into what was supposed to be a few weeks for delivery of the island. A third attempt is made and this time it is delivered and assembled in our home and upon inspection the wine rack is broken... and of course Sterling House provides very small compensation for months of delay, wasting our time, pre-charging our credit card, delivering damged goods and by and large being none responsive to the needs of their customers...buy at Sterling House... never again! Go to someone more reputable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We must admit that there were a number of problems with this Riverside island. When it was finally delivered it had a little plastic foot (about 1/2 centimetre by 1 centimetre) that was cracked on the wineholder. Customer was called the next to let him know that we had another one for him to pickup at the store or if he wasn't able to that we would have someone drop off to him. Have not heard back from customer yet after having left him numerous voicemails. Customer originally rec'd 20% discount during sale and we compensated him another $100 on a $1500 order. We did not enter final payment until his set was delivered complete. We originally take 50% down, maybe this is what customer is referring to. Unfortunately, we did try our best to make this customer happy but due circumstances beyond our control it made it very difficult.

Cathi in Mississauga
Cathi in Mississauga
11 reviews Mississauga, ON

First Review

0/10

Bedroom Set

Purchased a bedroom suite that was supposed to take 6 to 8 weeks for delivery with 50% deposit, and balance upon delivery. Delivery was 15 weeks later, which we had to accept because they wouldn't give the deposit back. Furniture was coming from Quebec. They were not willing to offer OR negotiate any sort of compensation, nor were they apologetic. Quite the contrary - they were quite arrogant when we complained. To add insult to injury, the furniture arrived and was damaged. The delivery men were the most polite and positive part of the purchase.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am not sure who this customer is but I would be happy to talk with her and figure out what we can do. We pride ourselves on dealing with all issues professionally. Please call me at the store as I would like to make things right. Thank you.

G in Brampton
G in Brampton
2 reviews ,
4/10

Sofa, Chairs, Coffee Table & End Table

Cristina was extremely valuable in helping us select the pieces for our living room. The coffee table arrived with a nick in it. After 2 exchanges (discoloration on the 2nd and the 3rd had an uneven table leg), we asked to return the item and get our $ back. No response. I have placed more than a dozen phonecalls and the issue is still not resolved. I still have a damaged coffee table. Their communication is horrendous. Throughout the whole I process, I was the one calling them to find out the status of the coffee table. I finally gave up after a year. I hope their customer service has improved since my purchase (over 1 year ago). Would not recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

In our opinion we went above and beyond what was expected from our store. Customer had a little scratch on first table and instead of having customer service touchup she wanted a new base. We order new base but now customer claimed it was not the same shade. We explained this could be due to dye-lot issues. We then ordered another leg that customer claimed was not sitting properly. Customer then wanted the original leg back however we disposed of it already. Had customer agreed to originally having touchup done then this would not have festered into a problem. If customer so desires she can contact me directly at the store and I will try my best to see what I can do for her. Thank you.

Mrs.Hamilton-Castlemore
Mrs.Hamilton-Castlemore
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Broyhill Bedroom

I am so pleased with my Bedroom set. Cristina was so helpful and patient what a sweet girl. I have already told all my friends aboout this store.. the store is absolutely beatiful with so many choices and all displayed soo nice. The delivery people were very nice, they were very carefull setting up my bedroom set..i just love it. I will be going back in the spring for a nice living room suite i saw there. Thanks again for the great service. Mrs. Hamilton

Was this review helpful?
Kipling/Bloor St. West
Kipling/Bloor St. West
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen Table and Sofa Purchase

Sterling House carries excellent product lines with a wide variety of options for the discriminating eye. If you don't see it then ask as they carry many of their models in brochures and can even organize it through sub contractors to build it for you.

Prices were very reasonable compared to others and the service was solid. We would definitely shop at Sterling House again and would recommend you visit their showroom for a better view.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Sterling House Interiors

With over 20 years of great and growing success in the furniture industry, and an ever-expanding list of loyal and satisfied customers, Sterling House Interiors knows what it takes to make any interior shine, and they bring their expertise and quality products to you. With the company's commitment to unequaled ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in Erindale?