Signature Painting & Texture Finishes - No Longer In Business

Garage Design & Organization
112 Lucas St Richmond Hill ON L4C 4P5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Garage Design & Organization in Richmond Hill  >  Signature Painting & Texture Finishes - No Longer In Business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

77%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Signature Painting & Texture Finishes - No Longer In Business

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (78 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Painting of front porch

Do not use this company, please see below for a summary of our interactions with the owner of this company.

We first contacted the company in late April to enquire about painting front porch. We engaged the company in early May to paint our front porch and paid a deposit at this time. We were advised by the company, prior to paying the deposit, that Signature would do job sometime in June.

On May 17, we asked company for a estimate of the cost of small amount of incremental painting work we were looking to have done on the front of our house at the same time. On May 19, the company asked for a picture to evaluate added cost. They never came back to us with updated quote.

On June 19, we followed up with company to asked for the updated quote and estimated start date. No response was received from the company.

On July 2, we followed up with company again. The company responded indicating they would work on it that night and send it to us. We never received anything from the company.

On July 12, we followed up with the company again. The company responded indicating that they would work on the updated quote that day and were planning on doing the job during the week of July 20. We never received the updated quote from company.

On July 17, we followed up with the company to ask if they were still starting the week of July 20 and what the updated quote was. No response was received.

On July 21, we followed up with company again. Signature responded on July 22 with an updated quote and indicated that they wouldn't be able to start on the job until early August. We were suspicious given the non-responsiveness and false promises so far, so we responded, asking them whether they would commit to a start date in early August. We added that we first contacted him in April for a job he was going to do in June. No response was received from the company.

On July 24, we ask company to return deposit. The owner of the company responds bragging about their quality of work and how they are in high demand and letting us know that they will return our deposit when they get back from a project "up north".

On August 17, we follow up with company on when deposit will be returned. No response was received from the company.

On August 22, we follow up with company again. Signature responded that they would return the deposit at the end of the next week when they returned.

On September 14, we follow up with company again about deposit and when it would be returned. No response was received.

Subsequent to this, we opened a case with the Better Business Bureau to try and get our deposit back. They have sent 2 letters and called with no response from the company and its owner.

As of the date of this posting we have not received our deposit back (and needless to say, they never painted the porch, so we had to scramble to find someone else to do it).

Was this review helpful?
chuck mcclelland  from Gravenhurst
chuck mcclelland from Gravenhurst
1 review Gravenhurst, ON
10/10

emergency repairs to a church catherdral ceiling

We hired Drew and his team to paint the cathedral ceiling after we had the plaster repairs done at Richmond Hill United Church, They also matched the colour to paint the east wall as part of this project. The project was time sensitive and needed to be done before Christmas, not only did they get the project done in a timely fashion but also disassembled the plasterer's scaffolding and clean it. They left the area in a neat and tidy way. I would not hesitate to hire this crew again for future projects.

Was this review helpful?
Jennifer in Toronto
Jennifer in Toronto
1 review TORONTO, ON
0/10

Painting entire house after renovation

Drew was recommended through our builder.
We needed the entire house repainted post renovation.

We had to ask several times for drop cloths to be laid so that paint would not get on our new tile or hardwood. They put down drop cloths but only a foot from the perimeter of wall, which doesn't help when painting a ceiling. When we showed them paint throughout the house that had dropped they gave us tips on how to clean it instead of correcting their mistake. One of our new toilets, has a large amount of paint across the lid and bowl that will not come off.

Drew collected money at one point from both my partner and I without telling the other and deposited both cheques. When we pointed this out to him, he said that he would return the $750 we had overpaid him via cheque. After receiving nothing for 4 months after numerous phone calls, he finally sent out 4 post-dated cheques divvying up the $750 over a period of 6 months. Then repeatedly called to tell us NOT to deposit the cheques because he didn't have money in the account. We are still waiting on the last and final installment 17 months after he collected the over payment. It is for $350.

Members of Drew's crew seemed nice and professional. Drew himself did not act in a professional, up front or honest manner. I DO NOT recommend him at all. To add insult to injury, we have seen better paint jobs.

Was this review helpful?
Angela in Richmond hill
Angela in Richmond hill
1 review RICHMOND HILL, ON
10/10

Exterior fascia, porch and door frame painting

We needed to have our exterior fascia, front porch, door frames and garage frame sanded and painted. I'm very thorough and interviewed and received quotes from a number of recommended painting companies. Drew came for a meeting and described the type and detail of work his team would perform and also drove me to a number of jobs he did in the neighborhood. After meeting Drew and discussing the quote my confidence with working with Signature painting was off to a good start. The exterior fascia had extensive wooden dental crown molding 3 stories up, to which his team spent the time preparing the work the surface by sanding and cleaning prior to applying a professional spray finish. The rest of the work was hand painted to a high quality finish. I also would like to point out that Signature painting came with the right equipment to complete the job which included the customary ladders but also included a boom lift and spray equipment. I was very pleased with the preparation, finish of work and the professionalism of his team. I would highly recommend Drew and Signature Painting & Texture Finishes.

Was this review helpful?
Carol in Stouffville
Carol in Stouffville
2 reviews ,
10/10

Interior paint - entire house & crown moulding

Drew was referred to us through another business we had dealt with in Stouffville. We were looking for a contractor who would help us with our colour selections and to do the entire job - paint the whole house - while we were away on vacation.
Drew and his team did an amazing job. He came over a couple of times beforehand and made up our paint selections on big chips so we could easily see how the colors would look. We didn't have to do a thing. Drew's team came in while we were away, moved everything including the art on the walls and did an amazing job. We had 3 accent walls done and edges were done perfectly. I'd highly recommend Drew and his team He is much more than a printing contractor - he consults with you on the right colours your home and then does an excellent job. And it was all done with everything put back while we were away. oh and he did crown moulding in our guest powder room that looks fabulous!

Was this review helpful?
Kevin Boichuk in Milton
Kevin Boichuk in Milton
1 review Milton, ON
10/10

New Construction painting

Just finishing construction of a new home and ran into some problems with my original painter. Drew and his team came in and saved the day. They were extremely professional, efficient and a pure pleasure to deal with. With solid high end quality, the final product far exceeded my expectations. For anyone looking for a painter they really should look no further.

Cheers to Drew and his team!

Was this review helpful?
Marianne Baily in Thornhill
Marianne Baily in Thornhill
1 review Thornhill, ON
10/10

Kitchen and Living Room reno

The owner Drew was easy to reach and was on time every time. Frank and Anthony were very tidy and respectful of our home. They worked very well with other contractors that had to come in while they were painting. They were meticulous about proper preperation before painting. They knew everything there is to know about paint and the care of it. Drew has a very good eye for colours and general design. We highly recomend their services.

Was this review helpful?
Lesley in Aurora
Lesley in Aurora
1 review Aurora, ON
10/10

Painting and wallpaper

I originally contacted Signature to paint and paper a bathroom that had become dated. Drew was incredibly patient and helpful as I sorted through colour options and decided exactly what I wanted.

I was so pleased with the work they did in the bathroom - unbelievable transformation - that I asked them to do more...and more. My halls throughout the house and 2 family rooms are now painted, and a second bathroom was transformed with paper and crown moulding.

Their work is of the highest quality, they are professionals and thoroughly enjoyable to have around. I will most definitely be asking them to do more work for me, and have already recommended them to a friend.

Was this review helpful?
KT in Toronto
KT in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Painting

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

You are looking for a painter? Well can I highly recommend a company to you { Signature Painting } I looked for a while till someone mentioned Drew and his company to me.
The best thing I ever did was to call him. Drew and his team, Anthony and Frank came to my home and painted it. Inside and out, not only my place but my sons as well. They gave me some ideas and suggested some things I could improve upon.Their suggestions of color and mouldings where awesome. They are very trustworthy, well mannered and a joy to have in your home. They leave your home as clean as when they started. They are very meticulous. Remember you want only the best job done and no job is too small. I know if they can't do the job they will recommend someone they feel can do it. That's a quality I admire in a company. Take care boys. Thanks for all your help for jobs well done.
PS The boys love homemade cookies.

Was this review helpful?
Trans in Markham
Trans in Markham
2 reviews Markham, ON
1/10

Power wash and staining deck and fence, paint kitchen and master bedroom

Last May 2010' this company agreed to power wash and stain our fence and deck, 6 months later, still not complete, and throughout out this time, kept asking us for deposits. If you do hire this company, I would advise you to give them deposits only after completing each stage. They tried to get away with putting only one coat of paint on the deck, when they told us in the original contract they were going to do 2 coats! Please be careful and watch them work! In October, we realize they weren't going to finish the job, so we asked for our deposit back, took them 2 months to finally give us only a PARTIAL refund! They never got started on the interior work! If you want work to be completed on time, these are not your guys!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The review this client wrote is not true. We quoted this past client of ours on staining their back deck. They asked us for a discounted price, we agreed because they were a past happy client. Then I get a phone call asking me to include the fencing in at the same price, I said no but we would power wash the fence FREE of charge on our time. The summer was very busy and we did not get to the power wash portion which was free of charge and explained we would do it in the Spring and that we would throw in a few extras as good customer service. They declined and wanted a rebate to which both parties agreed upon and they have been reimbursed fully. We always ask for deposits and we sometimes ask for progression payments. This client was trying to be unreasonable and decided to trash our company on Homestars. I hope people can see through this, just read the other 68 reviews on you be the judge. I think they took this a little personal. We also did 2 coats on the deck.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

Is this your business?

Receive leads and respond to reviews.
Claiming is easy and free.

Claim this business

More about Signature Painting & Texture Finishes - No Longer In Business

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.