Phantom Screens / Ontario Screen Systems Inc.

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
1295 Eglinton Avenue East, Unit 14 Mississauga ON L4W 3E6
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Moving & Storage in Mississauga  >  Phantom Screens / Ontario Screen Systems Inc.  >  Check before contracting with this company
Angela ahchong from Pickering
Angela ahchong from Pickering
2 reviews Pickering, ON

Check before contracting with this company

Had a back door screen replaced, no complaints, like the product and install person was great! Have a problem with the cancellation policy of withholding the deposit, which is non-refundable, as I learned in a conversation with the company reps in the office. This company needs to revisit this policy, as life happens, and sometimes customers do change their minds and cancel. The service manager offered to give me back half of the deposit, to which I grudgingly agreed. It really stings when they have my money, and I have no product.
For this reason, I would recommend a company with a more forgiving policy.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Angela,
Thank you for providing feedback. We’re glad that you were thrilled with your first screen. It sounds like that experience was worthy of a five-star review!

Unfortunately, it appears you have mis-understood – not just who we are and what we do – but also why deposits are required for any custom-ordered product.

Ontario Screen Systems Inc. is a small, family-owned screen installation company, based right here in Mississauga. We don’t manufacture; we purchase made-to-order screens from Phantom Screens based on homeowners’ custom measurements. Our employees then earn a living installing those screens. When a homeowner pays a deposit, their funds are put toward our purchase of their custom-made products from Phantom Screens. Shortly after you agreed to purchase your custom screen, your deposit paid for its manufacture.

When a customer cancels too late in the process – as you did - it’s too late to stop production of your screen at the manufacturer’s plant. We must still pay IN FULL for your screen. If it’s not installed, that custom-manufactured product may sit on our shelf for eternity, as every home and every doorway is different. Avoiding the risk of loss caused by a canceled custom order is why we take a deposit, as is the case with most any custom-made product. To ensure our customers understand this, our quotations clearly state in bold font “All deposits are non-refundable”.

Regardless, we kindly refunded 50% of your deposit as a gesture of our goodwill. You then thanked our small business by giving us a zero rating, despite that you “…like the product and the install person was great!” In truth, that is what “really stings”.

Kindest regards,
Ontario Screen Systems Inc. Customer Service

PS – Could we have made this review “go away” by giving you the additional payment you were hoping for? Probably. That might even have been your motivation for writing this review. But we prefer to let the public see that we are an ethical business with clear and up-front, written policies who we won’t be held hostage by unfair social media antics. We expect most readers with solid values will understand this. Thank you.