Of Things Past Inc

Furniture
185 Bridgeland Ave Toronto ON M6A 2V1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Furniture
Of Things Past Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

62%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Of Things Past Inc

Average customer rating:
7 10 (11 reviews)

Sort by

Quality Counts
Quality Counts
27 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Check pricing before buying

Today, I found a side table from West Elm and two pillows from Urban Barn that I wanted to purchase. Because I knew these brands, I looked up both products online and discovered that Of Things Past listed the first "mark-down" price at a higher price than what West Elm and Urban Barn were charging for these items - brand-new.

The West Elm side table - new - cost $279. Of Things Past had listed it at $307.
The Urban barn pillows - new - cost $99. Of Things Past had each listed at $106.

So what is happening here, is that Of Things Past marks-up the original value so that when they show the discounted prices, it appears like you are getting a bargain, when in fact, you are paying more than the original value of the item as if it were brand new.

I paid Of Things Past $269 because my purchase was in the second month so the table had been marked down from $307. (By the way, the table did have scratches and imperfections, and shows that it had been used.)

Unfortunately, I price-checked after purchasing these items from Of Things Past.
When I discovered that Of Things Past base-price for the table was more than the brand-new price, I felt I had been duped by this under-handed "pricing strategy" and wanted to return the items

I phoned Of Things Past to explain the situation and was advised that this has happened "only once before", yet they didn't seem surprised nor did they offer to rectify the pricing. For me, a satisfactory customer service response would have been to apologize and offer to adjust the pricing accordingly based on pricing information that can be verified both online and by phoning the respective stores.

What under-handed marketing and pricing. BUYER BEWARE.
Of Things Past did offer that I could return the item even though it's not their policy.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We're sorry that you had a poor experience. We have thousands of items in the showroom, and while we do try to investigate pricing and ensure that we are below retail pricing, we are not infallible. Some stores will price - brand new items - higher than other stores. We can't control pricing from other stores, nor can we control when they decide to lower their prices.

It is unfortunate that you think that we are trying to 'dupe' customers and the general public, with our pricing strategy, but this is simply not the case.

We wouldn't 'rectify' the pricing, because if we've already agreed to a price with the consignor, then we are obligated to sell it at the price that it was agreed to. Those are the terms in our agreement.

We did offer for a full refund of your purchase, which you've stated. The offer still stands,however we prefer that you do it within the next few days, or at least let us know that you will attempt to come in to do so.

Saddened Shopper from Toronto
Saddened Shopper from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

renovation

Recently we saw an article we liked. The next price reduction interval was a week away, so we decided to wait and if it was still there, but it. When we went to pay for it, we were told that the wrong price has been displayed (for 4 months)' and it would be about 250$ more. Most ethical stores would sell for the price advertised. However we liked the item and still purchased it. Then to top it off (real customer service)' they said their staff couldn't carry it out to the car.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Psi Park in Scarborough
Psi Park in Scarborough
11 reviews Scarborough, ON
8/10

Antiques

While the showroom is airy with a great selection, it seems prices have gotten higher recently as the clientèle grew. This is inevitable - lower prices are based on an item sitting longer (loses 15% per month).

I bought very many pieces here, but the experience doesn't seem to be what it was anymore. Still, worth a look as you don't know what you will find!

Was this review helpful?
Linda Condy from Marmora
Linda Condy from Marmora
2 reviews Marmora, ON
10/10

gently used furnishings and accessories

I love, love, love this store. They have every style of furniture from antique, to modern and everything in between. You will find very unique, interesting and unusual pieces and will want to blow your paycheck before you leave. I just wish I lived closer because I would visit this store on a weekly basis!

Was this review helpful?
Michael GS in Moore Park
Michael GS in Moore Park
4 reviews M4 T, ON
10/10

Home Decor

This is a huge consignment store with a great selection of unique, high quality home furnishings and collectibles. Prices are clearly marked on each item along with the date at which the price will drop significantly. Was just there a few weeks ago and discovered a Tiffany & Co. crystal decanter in perfect condition for 1/3 of what you'd pay retail.

Was this review helpful?
Richard
Richard
2 reviews ,
0/10

Selling on consignment

When selling a number of items through consignment always ensure you get a detailed list of the items from the shop before you leave. I had several boxes of decor and home items. Because of the large number of items, I was advised to leave them and they would provide a list later that week. At this time they only advised they did not accept household appliances and offered to send them to good will. Thankfully I kept my own list of items. When I received their list, missing were bisque angels, prints of trains with expensive matting and leather frames, and other high quality items. When asked about the missing items I was advised they did not "fit in" with the store merchandise or they were religious and they would not sell them. They said the items had already been given to good will. They never called me to ask if I wanted them back. Funny, I live with a professional designer who thought the items were very marketable for home decor. I would not deal with this company again.

Was this review helpful?
Shaughn
Shaughn
4 reviews ,
8/10

furnishing

this is a real unique store for those who've never been. We check back regularly for new merchandise as everything is sold on consignment, so the selection is always changing. You can pick something up for fear someone else will, or wait it out a bit, and take your chances that the price will be cheaper. Great concept and the people are very helpful.

Was this review helpful?
normwill
normwill
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

dining room table

This store sells used furniture from affluent homes. The furniture is of superior quality and is in excellent condition. Better than the new, mass market stuff. Dorothy was excellent in helping us find the furniture we werre looking for

Was this review helpful?
Stephanie from Toronto
Stephanie from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Furniture

This is THE place to go for very reasonably priced, high quality pieces. I've been several times and have never been disappointed. The fact that items are marked down on a regular basis (and you can see when they will be marked down next) is fantastic for a bargain hunter! The salespeople generally leave you alone (which I prefer) but are available for assistance and questions.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks stephanie for such a lovely review of our showroom...customer enthusiasm is something we continually enjoy!
Hope to see you soon at ...Of things Past.

Sandra
Sandra
4 reviews Toronto, ON
8.3/10

Shopping for Accessories

Recently shopped for home accessories and one of a kind pieces - this was THE place to go. I would highly recommend a regular browse through their showroom.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Of Things Past Inc

We sell items that range from antique to contemporary.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in North York?