Northstar Total Home Services Inc.

Heating & Air Conditioning
191 Nugget Ave, Scarborough ON M1S 3B1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Heating & Air Conditioning in Scarborough  >  Northstar Total Home Services Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

0%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Northstar Total Home Services Inc.

Average customer rating:
4.5 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Karnan & Amrita from East York
Karnan & Amrita from East York
2 reviews East York, ON
1/10

Ductless Air Conditioner

We met Robert Weatherall in 2008 at the CNE's Home show and initially he was very responsive - came to our house within days to provide a quote for a ductless A/C. We were willing to buy a more expensive unit but Robert convinced us the Yonan model was good enough. He said it was so reliable they never made any money on servicing it! Within a month of installation it started leaking and making a lot of noise. We called Robert at least 4 times, leaving messages with no response. We gave up for the summer, and tried again this year with no response. We finally called another contractor in to help us because the noise from the unit became unbearable. He basically laughed at us saying we "got screwed". The motor needs to be replaced and hardly anyone sells this unit or it's parts because it's known to breakdown after a year. The A/C finally died this morning....just as August starts. Thanks Northstar.

Was this review helpful?
Marcos da Silva
Marcos da Silva
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Install new high effiency furnace

however he left the job half done. The sub-contractors who were hired to install the furnace installed the furnace only partially did so. They failed the install the air conditioning unit. Now after several phone calls to have this porblem rectified, no response!. Robert seemed pretty keen to make the sale, but not so keen to fulfill all his responsibilities of his installation contract. I have now been forced to contact the Ministry of Consumer Affairs and the Better Business Bureau.

Was this review helpful?
Marc Doucet from Danforth village
Marc Doucet from Danforth village
2 reviews Toronto, ON
2.5/10

Bora ductless AC

I'm glad I found this website so I can warn others about this company.
We had a Bora ductless ac unit installed and it had problems from day one, leaking water into our home, rattling and excessive fan noise, and vibrating on the wall. We later learned it was installed incorrectly. After over 20 calls over several weeks (virtually all were not returned) we resorted to getting the manufacturer involved. The VP from Bora couldn't even have get a call back from Northstar and had to have another installer correct the installation problems.

Was this review helpful?
Norma & Steve from High Park
Norma & Steve from High Park
2 reviews Toronto, ON
3.3/10

Ductless system and other unit in attic

We phoned Robert and left a message for him to provide us with a quote. He quickly came to our house and gave us an estimate in writing. This estimate was within our budget and seemed like a reasonable price. We went with Northstar because we assumed he was experienced in older homes (our is 80 years + old). The crew showed up within a reasonable timeframe. We were never given any written material from Northstar, no warranty materials and continually called to have them sent to us. We were promised that they were "in the mail" many times over. To date (one year later), we still do not have anything in our possession. There was also a very integral piece of equipment missing to our attic unit. It was the drip tray for condensation. We called and told Robert that this was missing. He said he would have it installed. We still do not have a drip tray and have used a Rubbermaid container. In the meantime we experienced a ceiling caving in completely in our bedroom due to water buildup in attic in the insulation. Plaster was all over our bedroom. Robert arranged for someone to come and completely replace our ceiling, but to this day, the gentelman has not been able to reach Robert for payment!...Robert ensured us that he would take care of this...We have left messages as recently as a month ago to let Robert know that we are very unhappy with this whole process. We would not recommend using Northstar to anyone - very, very poor customer service and no follow up.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It's nice that someone can sit at there computer and write what ever they like about a person or company. With out having to prove what they are writing is in fact true. The quote you say that was left with you so fast was october of 2005. the contract that you signed was may of 2006.If Robert was fast, you were not. As far as experienced you called other people who have had the same type of home and work done as you. When you say the crew showed up in a reasonable timeframe, the work was to start on Monday May 14th 2006 and the work stared on Monday May 14th 2006. When you say you were never given any paper work, frist in your opening statment you say Robert left you a writen quote, and you had a faxed copy of the contract sent to Norma. Steve signed the contract before work started.The warranty is Five (5) years all parts on your attick system from goodman. And five (5) years parts and labour on your ductless A/C from Bora-Air inc. When you say you continually called, you were asked did you sign the contract and you said yes and that it was left on the counter these are your words to use when you called in. Now if missed placed the contract then this is of no fault of ours. If your saying that there is no drainpan in the unit then you should take this up with the manufacter. What you are taking about is the secondary drain pan. It has nothing to do with the equpment that was installed in your home. And yes your ceiling did come down. And when you phoned Northstar to see about it Robert was there that day. And agreed to have a new one installed. Nothing to do about your old 80 year old cealing. Just ok the company will replace it at no cost too you. Now what we do with our contractors is our bussiness and not yours. You have not called this office in the year 2007 at all. As a matter of fact when you wrote the B.B.B.in 2006 and we responed you never came back to the B.B.B. at all. You left out the part about the B.B.B. where you told them the job took to long. And that reason that it took longer then it was going to. Was because the installer died in your home of a heart attck. In that hot Attic. After Robert said no to the job but went ahead anyway. And at what cost. The cost of his father the installer. Now lets be honsest here you even complaned about the mark that cornner left on your wall, carring the body out of your home. If you think that the job was not done right or some injust has been done here. So get your story straight. Because the one you put on this web site is not the same one you told the B.B.B. . And as far as poor coustmer service, everytime you phoned, someone was at your home that day. Not the next day not the next week. That day! And all through your statments never do you say the workmen ship is poor. That's because you can't because it was good work. So think what it is you are really trying to say and get it right.

Tim and Paul, Toronto
Tim and Paul, Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Furnace replacement

The service from Robert and Northstar was exemplary. We were unsure as to where to go for our new furnace and Robert made a daunting situation a pleasurable one from start to finish. He gave us clear advice on our options and provided us with reliable contacts for related issues (ductwork). Everything was as promised: on time, within budget, excellent staff. The aftercare has been excellent, too. Thank you for the invaluable assistance with the renovations !

Was this review helpful?
Foresthill
Foresthill
1 review Toronto, ON

First Review

10/10

Ductless air by Bora-Air

There sales rep Robert was a great help. We had several prices and were confussed, by all the different sales reps. After talking to Robert and going to see 2 referals we knew this is who we wanted to do the work. The ductless air is wonderful and the workmen showed great respect for our home. I would have no trouble to recomend northstar.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

Is this your business?

Receive leads and respond to reviews.
Claiming is easy and free.

Claim this business

More about Northstar Total Home Services Inc.

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.