Hi-Lite Electric Inc.

Electricians
Toronto ON M5R 2E2
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Electricians
Hi-Lite Electric Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Hi-Lite Electric Inc.

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (133 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
3/10

Installation of washer / dryer electrical feeds (unfinished).

Ludicrous pricing and questionable business practices, in my opinion. Stay away and read below if you need more details.

We posted our project on homestars with details of the job and pictures, asking for quotes. Hi-Lite called immediately, and offered to send in an electrician same day to provide the quote, which was fantastic. We were informed that this would only entail a $89 travel fee, which we accepted.

Electrician showed up very quickly, and was extremely professional and polite. The problem was that, as it turned out, to actually provide a quote he needed to perform additional "circuit evaluation", which would cost another $196. We were surprised, but as he was already there we decided to agree (mistake, with hindsight). The "evaluation" ended up being: turning on the breaker and using wire tester to check that associated box was live.

Electrician then called the main office and brought back the quote, which was roughly DOUBLE the quotes that we received from two other licensed and very well-rated firms. None of them charge travel of "evaluation" fees. One company was able to provide written quote simply by asking us to take pictures of the wiring and panel with our phone...NOT by charging $300+.

It's important to emphasize that their electricians are very polite and professional -- it's not their fault. The problem, I think, remains with their management which seems to be building a business around hidden fees and penny-pinching.

NOTE: I'm posting anonymously hoping to protect the electrician who responded to the job.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Tanya Platt from Toronto
Tanya Platt from Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
4/10

Skilled & Professional but be careful of Pricing

I had two jobs that repair-men from this company worked on and although they were very professional and courteous, I found their pricing unrealistic and overly expensive.
They charge each person a surcharge for driving to them, even though they set up appointments based on city geography collectively in order to save time. When you question them about this formula, they then start to waver on the final price. This practice is not only distasteful but advantageous as they are price gouging their customers.
I own a property in the Beaches along with several properties downtown and following my experiences with Hi-Lite will not be using their services in the future but feel I want to warn others of their business practices.

Review has 1 previous version
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Tanya, Thank you so much for the great review. We are happy to hear you had such a positive experience with Nick. Please don't hesitate to contact us again if there is anything you need help with. Cheers! Angie

Bluelake
Bluelake
4 reviews Toronto, ON
6/10

elctric check-up, dimmer and smoke/carbon detectors installation

We used this company twice. I felt I was satisfied by their service after their first visit, but after their second visit and after our power fuse was broken during the coldest weather, I do not recommend this company.
The story: they have fulfilled whole-house electric check-up and we paid CAD$1500 for their first visit (including overpriced smoke detectors). After they left, our power system seemed to have trouble. I called them and they asked me continue watch up for the problem. Now, during the coldest weather, the power was disconnected (from the previous problem). I have to call another company (with high rating on homestar).
The other problem with this company is: I felt the electrician just wanted to sell their products/service. On their second visit (solve other issue), they failed to give me discount as they promised on their flyer. Anyway, I am not using this company any more, very disappointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Susan in Scarborough
Susan in Scarborough
9 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Small project264.42

One of my outlets shorted and I had a problem with another outlet and a wall switch. I called Hi-Lite Electric (this was the second time I used their services) and while it was a minor job the outlets were replaced the following day. The price was reasonable and the work done to my entire satisfaction.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review Susan! We always try to go above and beyond for our clients. Cheers!

Diana
Diana
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Small electrical jobs

They were fantastic from first call, the visit and checking everything with me afterwards. Quotes were reasonable. Work was done efficiently. Everyone was pleasant and professional. I would highly recommend them!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Diana,

We're glad to hear of your great experience with Hi-Lite Electric! We obligate and challenge ourselves daily to maintain a high standard of work that will be provided to our customers! It is amazing to witness our work ethic and integrity for what we do come to fruition!

Warmest Regards,
Paul

Joey
Joey
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Install double pole switch

I had a ductless AC unit installed and required the electrical to be hooked up to my panel

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Joey,

Whenever we can provide one of our cherished clients with quality electrical service, we will be first in line! Hope that AC is keeping you cool this summer!

Warmest Regards,
Paul

NANCY
NANCY
8 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Installation of dimmer switches throughout the home

As always, a superb job by the Hi-Lite team. This is the 4th time we have used their services and the quality and care has been consistent each and every time. Right from the initial contact with Angie to make the booking to completion of the job by really professional and extremely pleasant technicians our experience has been excellent. We've recommended Hi-Lite to many friends and neighbours and will continue to do so.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Nancy,

We are always pleased to hear one of our valued client's joys in receiving our services! We make it our duty to ensure that anyone who uses Hi-Lite Electric experience pleasant customer care over the phone, to excellent and proficient electrical work within their home! Nancy, we're so happy to be associated with wonderful people like yourself and your friends!

Sincerely,
Paul

hickmanmary51
hickmanmary51
1 review Milton, ON
10/10

ceiling lights and chandeliers in house and garage ceiling lights installed. A new outdoor fixture plug , a surge protector and (because I didn't buy the right doorbell) a new one was installed from stock

The men listened to what we needed done, checked everything over and went ahead with the jobs. They were pleasant, knowledgable and gave good advice. They arrived when they were scheduled and worked effeciently. The job site was left clean and all waste was attended to. I have used Hi-Lite Electric at the previous house and there was no question when we needed work in the new house that we would call Hi-Lite again. Will continue to recommend them- in fact my neighbour has already used! Thanks Matthew!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mary,

It's always a pleasant experience to provide continuous support to compassionate and amazing customers like yourself! It is our company policy to ensure the workers we send to our customers' homes are drug-screened and back-ground checked. Additionally, we strongly believe that we must respect the household of anyone of our customers and so we never leave a mess behind! Anytime you require electrical work or experience electrical problems in your home, definitely give us a call and we'll be right there! Lastly, Matthew continues striving towards excellence in customer service and electrical knowledge to strengthen his integrity to the field in which he calls home!

Warmest Regards,
Paul

cfranzese0351
cfranzese0351
2 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Basement wiring.

I had an issue with a burning smell in my basement. The guys were so knowledgeable and polite. They took care of my issue.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey there,

Here at Hi-Lite Electric we obligate ourselves to provide professional and quality service to all of our customers! We're elated to hear that the burning smell in your basement was promptly resolved!

Warmest Regards,
Paul

km27301
km27301
1 review Brampton, ON
10/10

Electrical Panel Replacement

I needed my electrical panel replaced due to some water damage. Hi-Lite arrived at my home promptly and quickly evaluated the situation. They provided me with a detailed quote and proceeded to repair the damage. They were very professional, knowledgeable, and courteous. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there,

We make it our duty here at Hi-Lite Electric to ensure our customer's safety! Discovering that unsafe water damage and quickly addressing it by replacing it with a new panel was necessary. We're glad to see that our professionalism, work ethic, and transparency in business doesn't go unnoticed! I'm sure you're enjoying the sight of that brand new panel and you're able to freely use any electrical appliances and devices in your home without worry!

Sincerely,
Paul

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hi-Lite Electric Inc.

Hi-Lite Electric is an electrical service and repair company providing residential and commercial customers with same day service in the area since 1987. We guarantee quality work and if for any reason you are not satisfied your money back. We offer Emergency Service 24/7 and use "Straight Forward Pricing" so, that you know the price before any work begins.

Why Choose Hi-Lite Electric Inc????

When you need service, you need it right away, with Hi-Lite Electric you Always receive timely Service.... as scheduled!

When you call for service you don't want to speak to an answering machine, with Hi-Lite Electric Real people answer our phones, not machines!

When the service technican shows up at your home you want him to repair the issue on the spot not have to go out and order parts and come back at a later date, well with Hi-Lite Electric we carry 1000's of Parts on our trucks for fast on the spot repairs!

Our customers always are given their repair or installation options and the EXACT price before any work begins - Straight Forward Pricing - You know the price before the work begins!

Knowledgeable Staff - Trade Certified, Security Checked and Safety Recognized

100% Satisfaction Guarantee! At Hi-Lite Electric we do not accept payment until you are 100% Satisfied with the agreed work!!!!

So for Electrical Work Done Right .... call Hi-Lite!!!!!

CATEGORIES
Electricians
PRODUCTS
Surge Protection, Smoke Detectors, Carbon Monoxide Detectors, Electrical Panels, Electric Basebord Heaters, Electrical Vehicle Charging Stations
SERVICES
24/7 Electrical Emergency Service, Aluminum Wire Reconditioning, Ceiling Fans, Exhaust Fans, Code Correction for General Inspection, Electric Baseboard Heaters, Fuse Box Replacements, Hot Tub, Sauna, Pool Motor Hook-Ups
SPECIALITIES
24/7 Emergency Electrical Service, Same Day Service if called before 12:00 noon
WEBSITE
http://www.hi-liteelectricinc.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1987
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
5
RETURN POLICY
As required by written guarantees
PAYMENT METHOD
Debit - Visa - MasterCard - American Express - Cash - Cheque - Financing OAC Available - Seniors Discount
LICENSES
ECRA/ESA Licence #7002350, ACP Authorized Contractors Program
MEMBERSHIPS
Better Business Bureau, Eaton Certified Contractor, Technician Seal of Safety
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.