Gem Windows & Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
1590 The Queensway Toronto ON M8Z 1V1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

84%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Gem Windows & Doors

Average customer rating:
8.7 10 (337 reviews)

Sort by

Nicole in Toronto
Nicole in Toronto
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Windows Replacement

Most of the window salesmen I talked to had a long list of discounts if I signed immediately. Gem gave me a quote and waited until I could sit down with them and get my questions answered. It was a good experience and I bought from them.

Was this review helpful?
Jason in Toronto
Jason in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
8/10

New Windows

I had GEM windows and Doors come out and give a price on replacing some rather lager office windows. The weather was a factor for the installation so it was delayed but the windows were measured incorrectly so that delayed things a little further. Luckily the old windows hadn't been taken out yet. They were quick to correct the issue and now the windows are in. They look great and we notice the difference in temperature inside now is much warmer.

Was this review helpful?
mark4254 in Etobicoke
mark4254 in Etobicoke
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Windows and doors

From start to finish the work was impeccable. I had windows and doors to front and side of our house replaced. The installers were on time, polite and explained everything. I could also since pride in there workmanship. The job was completed as they stated and we were very pleased with the project. The price we paid was good. I highly recommend Gem Windows and Doors to anyone .

Mark and Regina

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mark and Regina,
Thank you for the recommendation, most of our business comes from happy customers such as yourselves, that is how we have been in business for over 57 years and counting.
We are happy to hear that everything went well and hope to work with you again in the future.

Regards,
Team GEM!

Sujeet in Toronto
Sujeet in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Double French Doors

They did an outstanding job! Really happy with the product and service. Initially I thought they would be bit more expensive but It was acutally more reasonable than and better quality than what Others and others Quoted us. Highly recommend their serivce! They know what they are doing. Go for it!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sujeet, thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really do appreciate the kind words from our customers. We pride ourselves on great service, product and value to give all our customers quality products for a great price.

Thank you again!

Regards,
Team GEM!

Segar
Segar
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

5 windows and 1 door

From start to finish, we have been very happy with Gem Windows and Doors. Tas was very helpful, kind and patient with us, whilst we worked out what we needed to do to our house. We highly recommend you speak to her for all your window and door needs! Lily was great at arranging our installation, and happily worked around our busy schedule to find a time that suited us. We had our windows and doors installed this week, by fabulous fitters, and they look brilliant. We are really happy and will be back to get the rest of our windows and doors replaced. Thank you Gem.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Segar thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our team is top notch from sales to production and installation. Our sales team are more like consultants providing you with the time and options to give you the look you need on the budget you want.

We will be ready when you are for the next phase of you home upgrade.

Regards,
Team GEM!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Substitution of brand - 26 Windows

Finalized an order for 26 platinum series armor windows (brand stated on written and signed contract) in late Dec 2018. Asked for an update in Jan 2019 and was told product was in production. Got an email a few days ago stating GEM is unable to provide that brand and is forcing me to change to a different brand that has only been around for "several months".

GEM has stated that if I don't follow through with this order and change that I would be violating the contract and forfeiting my deposit.

I placed my order with a specific brand that has been around for over 25 years. I did not accept this change and they (GEM) is refusing to refund my deposit.

I have filed a complaint with the Ministry of Government and Consumer Services.

Building a new home and now facing a big delay due to this.
Buyer beware.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear readers,

Not exactly the whole truth. At GEM we are not in a position due to pending legal actions to provide complete details, but here are some points to consider. The customer indicates that the order was finalized in December 2018. It was actually signed on Labour Day weekend at the beginning of September. There were many delays because of issues that our customer apparently had with his project. Even though the original quote had expired, we honoured the original pricing and also amended the contract as per the customer's request. While delays occurred at the customer's end, the situation with suppliers changed. Yes, GEM has offered the customer a better window that costs us more at the same price because we believe it is in the customer's best interests. Is this offer being turned down because the company is relatively new? We don't believe it is. We believe the customers overall issues make it likely that they simply want to get out of their contract completely. Their behavior suggests to us that they are simply trying to break their commitment.

Regards,
TEAM GEM

DueDiligence in Etobicoke
DueDiligence in Etobicoke
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

GEM windows are now the Crown Jewels of my house.

Now that the last set of fenestration products is installed, I can now write this review in good faith.

After beginning with the March 2018 Toronto Home Show, we sussed out replacement windows for 60% of our "openings" and finally cut the deal in June just days before GreenOn got cancelled. (we had 3 units that qualified and did indeed get our $1,500. rebate cheque)

In that time, we talked to (and suffered a few "in-home" sales pitches from) numerous companies, large & small with a wide range of results. Also investigated the actual manufacturers of the vinyl framing, the hardware, the glass / sealed units as well as the company that assembles to all together. In this case we liked VinylBilt which is one of GEM's biggest suppliers.

Our sales rep Paul, was very patient over time when repeated "change requests" where put to him and ensured that even though the design software (from VinylBilt) was not really co-operating with our particular (and apparently rare) request for a specific grille feature, he made it happen.

From that point it was all easy-peasy and we joined the thousands of others from hundreds of vendors that were now queued up in the "get-it-done-before-Halloween" deadline for GreenOn. (what a mess that turned into, thanks a lot Dougie)

Tick-tock, tick-tock.... but they showed up in late October and the install over 2 days went well. Kudos as well to Cardinal Glass & VinylBilt who actually produced the finished product in time. (at least for us)
Walter and his crew were great, worked quickly with no cutting corners, shimmed, foamed, caulked every unit perfectly. One chap on his team sort of "refused" to install a bay window (replacement) unless he could repair the previously poor workmanship to properly support the new unit. Now THAT is commitment to doing the job right. The extra minor cost gives us years of peace-of-mind.

Unfortunately, a brain-fart hiccup with one measurement caused the final window to be mis-sized. They owned up to it and after discussing a few options, we all agreed on ordering a complete new unit. That is why
our October install was finished in mid-February. However, Walter did re-install the original window, caulked the heck out of it and it was dry and draft-free all winter. The man knows his stuff.

In conclusion, we are quite happy with the service, price paid and do not hold them responsible for the fallout from the GreenOn shambles nor the overloaded manufacturers as they were just as caught in the middle as anybody. They also don't bafflegab consumers with "repeated sales promotions or "Free" stuff if you order before..." like others do. Just a straight up honest price for a quality product.

Definitely give a Recommended rating, especially if you are in the Etobicoke or east Mississauga area, to include GEM Windows and Doors in your own vendor investigations. You get what you pay for. Especially as the Lady of our Castle is very happy with the end result and that's what matters.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Due Diligence,

We knew from the start that you would be a customer requiring a lot of time and effort at every level. This is not a criticism! We respected that you were living up to your 'internet handle' and appreciated the opportunity to work for someone who was not going to be fooled by all the verbal crap that dominates our industry and focused on real information. Did everything go perfectly? No! After all this is the custom window industry. But, we worked together with you (thank you for your understanding and patience) and over time got the job done for you and to your satisfaction! Many homeowners tend to panic if something requires a change or correction and assume the worst. Many homeowners could learn a lot from your approach, experience and temperament. We wish all our customers were the same!

Thank you for finding us. Thank you for choosing us. Thank you for working as a partner with us.

Regards,
Team GEM!

joey3boy in Etobicoke
joey3boy in Etobicoke
1 review Toronto, ON
8/10

window

I am completely satisfied with the quality of the window and it's functionality. The salesman was very helpful and courteous and They have a great selection of windows and doors. The installers were clean and efficient.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Joey3boy for the review, we are always happy to hear from our customers. We are very proud of our sales and install teams.
Did you know that now as a GEM Customer you can get up to 40% off your window coverings???
Talk to your sales representative at GEM and they will be happy to get you a quote.

We hope to work with you again soon.

Regards,
Team GEM!

Brandon in Toronto
Brandon in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

TERRIBLE

I have been waiting 6 months for my order to be completed, missing parts and poorly assembled. It looks as though they have no intention of honouring their warranty. The customer service is the worst I have encountered

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We just spent a few days trying to figure out who this person is. We have no customer named Brandon. We looked for similar names with no luck. We checked our service records for anything remotely resembling what this person has written. For all we know, he has posted to the wrong company, however, Brandon, please call us and ask to talk to our Sales and Marketing Manager so we can sort this out. 2018 had very extended lead times because the manufacturers were blindsided by the GreenON program. We have every intention of honouring our warranties. It would help if we knew who Brandon is and what name the job is actually under.

Domenic from Toronto
Domenic from Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Change 17 windows

My windows were old and needed to be replaced. I went to GEM and I was so impressed with the quality of the windows and the thoroughness and cleanliness of the installers. They were extremely professional. My family is very pleased with our new windows.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Domenic,

It is great to hear that you and your family are happy with your windows. At GEM we provide our customers with quality products that we can be proud of and would put on our own homes.

Thank you for taking time to write this review, we appreciate it.

Regards,
Team GEM!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Gem Windows & Doors

Gem Windows and Doors - Toronto's oldest and most trusted window and door retailer - serving South Western Ontario for over 55 years! We invite you to visit our showroom to speak to our professional sales team, to learn more about our high quality custom products.

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
Vinyl Windows, Aluminum Windows, Wood Windows, Fiberglass Windows, Steel Doors, Fiberglass Doors, Wood Doors, Skylights, Patio Doors, Window Coverings, Lift and Slide Doors, Bi-Fold Doors, Glass soundproofing, Interior Partitions, Interior Doors, Shower Enclosures, Glass Enclosures Roll away screens, Canopy, retractable Screens, Exterior Cladding, Railings, Solariums, Porch Enclosures, Storm Doors, Aluminum Wood, Hybrid Windows, Aluminum Clad Windows, Wood/Aluminum Clad Doors
SERVICES
Window and Door sales and installation, fabricators of Aluminum windows and Sub fabricator of selected products
BRANDS
Pella, Armor, NanaWall, Cardinal Glass, Royal Plastics, Energi, Synergy, SPARTAN, Windspec, Everlast, Old Castle Glass, Emtek, EntryGuard, Dorplex, Palma, Sunview, Novateck, Mastergain
STYLES
Modern, Traditional, Transitional, New Constructions, Custom, Renovation, Urban
SPECIALITIES
Custom Window & Door design and fabrication
WEBSITE
http://www.gemwindows.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1961
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
15
RETURN POLICY
All products made to order
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Cheque, Visa, Mastercard, and Financing Available
LICENSES
Contractors License, Manufacturing Licenses, WSIB
MEMBERSHIPS
SAWDAC, BBB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Manufacture Warranty plus 5 years of GEM installation
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.