Fyfe's Roofing

318 Colbourne St E Oshawa ON L1G 1M5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Roofing in Oshawa  >  Fyfe's Roofing  >  They don't stand behind their work.
Sherri in Whitby
Sherri in Whitby
2 reviews Whitby, ON

They don't stand behind their work.

Fyfe did my roof in Nov of 2017. I paid approximately $7500 dollars then and originally gave them a glowing review on Homestars.

This is the review for their post-sale support and what you can and can't expect from them after they have your money.

In the March of 2018 I started having water pouring into my basement. I called Fyfe and told them what had happened.

To their credit, they did send someone over to look but I wasn't home.
They immediately claimed that the downspouts were blocked and that it wasn't their fault. Rather than calling me to tell me, they told my daughter.

This was on a tiny porch roof....around 70 sq feet, with 2 downspouts. It was not the main roof of the house.

I hired someone to come look at the problem. Turns out the 2 downspouts were full garbage that Fyfe didn't clean up... plastic bag pieces from shingle bags, cut pieces of new shingles, old shingle pieces, wood chips and my favourite, cigarette butts.

A year later, I still have a mostly intact plastic shingle bag hanging from the top of my crab apple tree that I can't get down.

I am attaching pictures of some of the debris from one of the 2 spouts. I didn't take pictures of the grass growing in the gutter this spring after they claimed to have cleaned it out or the crap that came out of the second downspout.

I have owned this home for 22 years and have never had a problem with blocked downspouts...ever.

This fiasco cost me $3000 of water damage in my basement, 2 weeks of cleanup plus a front garden being ripped out.

My experience with Fyfe in 2018 totally wiped out any positive feelings I had.

I am so disappointed that they do not have any kind of workmanship guarantee or followthrough.

I cannot recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sherri,

I'm really sorry you feel this way. However, we stand behind our workmanship 100%. When you called, I, Mike Fyfe, as the owner checked the roof myself. The workmanship on your roof was impeccable.

I noticed that the downpipes were clogged. I let your daughter know that they needed to be cleaned out and you needed new eavestrough and downpipes and also told her to have you call me. It is not our responsibility to clean out your downpipes.

Upon completion of your roof I do recall being onsite and seeing my worker clean out your eavestroughs which were completely full, from lack of maintenance.

Clogged downpipes are caused by many reasons but would not have been our responsibility. This could be due to the lack of maintenance on your property. We are unable to see inside the downpipes when we do the job, which is also not our job. Your downpipes were over 20 years old and also too small for your home. Over time debris will build up if not maintained properly. Like the example we see in your pictures. The added debris may have been from the poor workmanship of the other company you hired for your lower level roof.

When you do replace your eavestrough we recommend you get a leaf guard considering the big apple tree in your yard.

If you had called me back after my inspection I would have greatly helped you out. If there is anything else that our company can do for you, let us know, we are here for you.


Mike Fyfe,
Fyfe's Roofing