Elte

Furniture
80 Ronald Avenue Toronto ON M6E 4M9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

67%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Best of 2009 winnerBest of 2009winner

Reviews for Elte

Average customer rating:
6.9 10 (86 reviews)

Sort by

Kevin in York
Kevin in York
3 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Broadloom

When I comment on Elte I also include Ginger's and Summerhill Hardware in the mix. I live in an older home that needed extensive renovation which we undertook 8 years ago and we has been ongoing ever since.

We have 5 bathrooms - 1 of which was renovated twice in a 5 year span.

Ginger's attitude was one of 'couldn't care less' in fact when I described the project the answer was: "yeah, good luck with that." Needless to say we have shopped elsewhere ever since.

We entrusted our recent purchase to Elte only because we knew a local designer who recommended some of their products. We went ahead, and while the installation was done in a timely fashion, the after sales service is appalling. The runner is not centred on the staircase - something I resigned myself to 'live with' but after 2 years, it has begun to wear, not on the tread, but on the riser, and in 4 separate places. This clearly indicates a flaw in the carpet.

I have now tried for a month to have this attended to and each time I phone I get a different person and a different set of excuses. "we're busy because of the holidays, that person is away, his assistant is on vacation, it is the first time I'm hearing about it" and so it goes.

When this company was on Eastern Avenue (yes, I've been shopping there since then) it offered great products and good service. Frankly, nowadays they aren't the only game in town and all that separates one place from another is service - and you certainly won't get that here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Kevin. Allow me to try to help. My name is Andrew Metrick and I'm from Elte. Elte's a family business and as a fourth generation member of that family, I've been using this site to connect with our customers. I've have some great success in doing so and have helped out several people so far. I'd really like to see what we can do because it truly does hurt to read your frustration. I'm giving you my email: ametrick@elte.com. Please email me your phone number and a time that I can reach you at. I'm more than happy to look into everything for you and follow up on things personally. Andrew.

Milly
Milly
7 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Exceptional

Elte has fantastic selection and service. Darlene Jiwani did an amazing job helping us select living room furniture and a rug. We are thrilled with the results and stayed on budget. Great service. By far the most pleasant furniture shopping experience we have ever had! A++++.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow, Milly. I can't tell you how much that means to me. My name is Andrew Metrick. Elte is a family business and so, as a member of that family, you can be sure that I'll pass your review on to the rest of my family. You're absolutely right by the way; Darlene is truly amazing. I'm so glad that we were able to help you and that everything turned out well. If there's ever anything we can do for you in the future, please call us. We'd be more than happy to help. Thanks once again, Milly. All the best. Andrew.

Update: I just got your voice mail however it cut out before I could get your number. Hopefully you see this message as I don't have any other way of contacting you. Please email me at ametrick@elte.com so I can get in touch with you.

Kristina in Toronto
Kristina in Toronto
1 review Etobicoke, ON
7/10

Living Room

I've been shopping at Elte for many years, have always been very impressed with the selection and customer service. That being said, I recently purchased furniture for a living room re-do, and both my sofa and coffee table arrived damaged. I'm not sure what happened over the past year or so but their customer service department is laughable. No one seems to know what the heck they are talking about, it is impossible to get through to anyone and you can forget about anyone returning your phone call if you leave a message. I found the customer service manager, I can't remember his name, condescending and quite frankly, rude, and his staff really were embarassingly clueless.
That being said, this time around I had the pleasure of dealing with a young girl named Megan in the furniture department. I have to say, I haven't met such a vivacious, personable and extremely helpful and professional young woman in a very long time. Elte should hire more people like her because she truly was a standout for both my husband and I, and probably the only reason we would go back after the customer service we received re: our damaged products.
Overall, I am still a huge fan, but hard to understand how there can be such an obvious quality difference between departments.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Kristina. I want to thank you for taking the time to write that review. As tough as something like that was for me to read, I really do appreciate it. Please do me a favor and call me as soon as you read this. My phone number is 416-785-7885 (x 371). If I'm out of the office, email me. My email is ametrick@elte.com. I hope you call. I would love to try and help you.

Jackie in North York
Jackie in North York
1 review North York, ON
10/10

Home Re-Design

As my title says: I simply can't say enough about these guys! My husband and I are redoing our home. (And that, as every wife knows, means I'm the one doing all the work.) Anyways... I got Elte's catalog recently in the mail (which was STUNNING and you can pick them up at their counters) and so I decided that Elte would be my first stop on my list of furniture stores in the city. I can't believe I'm saying this but they could end being my only stop! They honestly have everything I want. Of course there are other furniture and rug stores in the city but they really don't compare. None of them match the size or the style of Elte. I don't know how these guys do it. I'm going back again with my husband next weekend. We're looking at bed linens and lighting and then going across the street to Ginger's where we get to renovate our master bathroom! (But that's another review.)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Jackie. I'm out of the country on a buying trip with my father and I just read your review out loud so that he could hear it. I can't thank you enough for your kind words about Elte. Please be sure that you ask for either one of us the next time you're at Elte or Ginger's as we would love to say hello. Thank you once again and all the best. Andrew.

paul in York
paul in York
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

Dining room set & sofa & couch

Everything I bought was damaged, and they promised me to exchange it but they never did. All the furniture is made in China. I would rather recommend my friends to shop at IKEA or the Bay where the quality is much better. The new management people and the new directors suck. they do not have the knowledge of their merchandise. They just go on giving empty promises but they do not respect their promises. Whatever happened to the old ELTE where the management cared and kept their promises.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Paul. My name is Andrew Metrick and I'm from Elte. I am so sorry to hear about your experience. My brother and I are are the fourth generation of my family to be working in the business. We just recently celebrated our 90th year. I only mention this because as a family-owned company, we can't help but take things personally. That's why I was so hurt when I read your posting last night. What I'd love to do leave you with my contact information. I'd like to try to see what I can do for you. My phone number is 416-785-7885 and my extension is 371. If you can't reach me there, my email is ametrick@elte.com. Once again, I apologize for your frustration. I do hope you call me.

elizabeth, north toronto
elizabeth, north toronto
11 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Carpets for the whole house

They have a beautiful and great selection. I tried to get some things on sale as we have a dog and don't need to invest in carpets for a shorter life span. Service was very good.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Elizabeth. I'm so happy to hear about experience. My name is Andrew Metrick. Elte is a family-owned company that was actually started by my great grandfather. That makes my father the third generation and my brother and I the fourth. Please be sure that the next time you're at the store you ask for me or my brother as either one of us would be happy to say hello. All the best Elizabeth and thanks again for the kind words.

JAVIER
JAVIER
1 review Kleinburg, ON
0/10

Dining Room Table

We purchased a tabel from Elte in February of 2010. To do this they require 50% deposit. We were promised the table for the end of April, Now August and still nothing. They delayed delivery every month with false promises. Instead of being apologetic for the situation they were arrogant and condescending. I will never shop or recomend this sttore to anyone.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Javier. I want to apologize for your frustration and your experience at our store. My name is Andrew Metrick. Along with my brother Jamie, I am the fourth generation of my family to be working in the business. I'd really love to see if there's some way that I can help. No one should ever leave a service-oriented store with the experience that you had. I feel awful. My phone number is 416-785-7885 and my extension is 371. My email is ametrick@elte.com in case you can't reach me at that number. I do hope you call.

Judi in North york
Judi in North york
2 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

dining room table

I purchased a table from Elte and it was not at all like the one I saw in the showroom. When it arrived I was unwell and couldn't examine it properly as I was bed ridden at the time. When I really looked at it in my home I noticed that there were nail marks all over the table. It was supposed to be "distressing". I called customer service and they went through their usual regime. Then Ken the owner called and he was as nice as he could be. He also made all the right calls to manufacturer and rep etc. The rep came and he also was very nice. He explained the problem. Then he said it wasn't a problem as this was how each table like mine was made although each is different.
I went to Elte when I was a little girl with my Mother. If you could buy something at Elte back then it was all my Aunts and family talked about. Not to mention that Elte was always the best and had exquisite product lines. They still do. Examine your piece carefully before you purchase. Ask questions about the one coming to you being the exact same. I have learned that each piece differs and I got one that is SO different it is unappealing to the eye and I am stuck with it. The store and Ken did all they could. They are still an exceptional store. Just don't let yourself be uninformed and get lost between the cracks like I did. And then they can't help you. But don't stop yourself from going and seeing the finest pieces in Toronto. Just remember things look the same but are not built the same as they were many years ago. Neither the manufacturer nor the store can afford 100% customer satisfaction anymore due to these economic times I imagine. Just be careful. Ask questions. Take pictures and enjoy yourself in this most amazing store. P.S. I also spent over $7,000 for matching chairs. I am stuck looking at this disappointment for the rest of my life. Be thorough and don't be disappointed. I hope I have helped.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Judi. My name is Andrew Metrick. Ken is actually my father. I remember hearing about this issue as it was happening. I'm apologize for the frustration that you experienced. I also want to say that I admire the time you spent informing those that read your post about some good questions to ask your salesperson when buying furniture - whether it be in our store or anyone else's. It's very good advice so I hope people take the time to read it. If there's anything that remains unresolved from that issue, please feel free to call or email me. I'd be happy to look into it for you. My number is 416-785-7885 (ext. 371) and my email is ametrick@elte.com. All the best Judi. I hope to see you back in the store sometime soon.

Kenny in Toronto
Kenny in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

run from these guys

Chairs arrived damaged and we are still waiting for resolution 10 weeks.
Escalated issue to manager and was told she didnt need to hear my side of the
story as she knew it all.
Was told by salesperson that all would be taken care of, it has not been.
At what point are Canadians going to have enough and stand up to such poor service.
These people are just the same as other but nicer dressing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Kenny. I apologize for your frustration. My name is Andrew Metrick. My great grandfather started ELTE, which makes brother and I the fourth generation of my family to work in the business. I hope you understand that when I apologize for your frustration, I truly mean that with all sincerity. Your comments were hard for me to read, however, I do appreciate your honesty. Customer service is a top priority for us and so what I would like to do is give you my phone number for you to call. Perhaps there is something I can do to help you out. I only wish I had heard about your situation sooner. My number is 416-785-7885 and my extension is 371. Feel free to call me anytime. I am in the office all day today, however, if I happen to be away from my desk for any reason then please leave me a message or email me directly and I will get back to you. My email is ametrick@elte.com.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Elte

Elte is a family owned business that was founded by Léon Tenenbaum in 1919. His vision, to offer beautiful and unique home furnishings from around the world, has remained part of Elte's fabric for four generations. Now led by Ken Metrick, the grandson of Elte's founder, Elte's 150, 000 square ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in York?