Dyson Canada Ltd.

Vacuum Sales & Service
312 Adelaide Street West, 7th Floor Toronto ON M5V 1R2
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

57%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Dyson Canada Ltd.

Average customer rating:
5.4 10 (76 reviews)

Sort by

M. G. G. from Kingston
M. G. G. from Kingston
1 review Kingston, ON
0/10

Dyson Canada

I purchased a Dyson hand held cordless vacuum. Through receiving an online ad, I learned that the cordless vacuum could be purchased with a wand. I then sent an e-mail to the company hoping that they would exchange it for the more expensive version with a wand. I never received a response. Then, over the course of about 3 weeks, I attempted to call the company ... never had enough time to wait for as many as 85 callers ahead of me. When I asked for a call back, no one called. After all that time, when I finally got through, an agent informed me that they had so many calls due to sales promotions and the company didn't want to miss any sales ... hence, the long wait times. I asked to exchange my hand held vacuum for the upgraded machine with the wand (and let the agent know that I was willing to pay the considerable amount for the upgrade and for the shipping) and was informed that, since the trial period was over, the company would not help me. I explained that I have a disability and the bending to use the hand held vacuum was causing me a lot of back and knee pain. No humanity with this company ... no exceptions to their rules. Trying to think outside the box, I called back ... another long wait time. I asked if I could purchase the wand to add to my machine and was informed that adding the wand would eventually burn the machine out. I explained my problem and the agent told me that he would try to help me and would get back to me. I asked for an e-mail response due to the long wait times. Two more weeks have passed ... no response to date. I can only imagine the frustrations of a customer who purchased a malfunctioning machine. If Dyson Canada is to survive, it must improve its phone system and customer support. I am certain that the call staff is not the problem. They are simply overworked.

Was this review helpful?
Geo F from Agassiz
Geo F from Agassiz
1 review Agassiz, BC
0/10

Dyson DC 62

We purchased the Dyson DC 62 in December 2014. When we first received the unit, we had trouble charging the unit however, we managed to get a charge and used the vacuum until the charge ran out. Subsequent charging was equally difficult until the unit stopped charging altogether in mid February. We contacted Dyson at which time they shipped us a new power plug. The new power plug did not solve the problem so we contacted Dyson again and were told that the battery would need replacement. Ten days later we received the new battery and installed it. The unit worked until the charge was gone on the new battery and , once again, we had a dead vacuum cleaner. We contacted Dyson again mid March and complained that we needed the unit and wanted a replacement. We were told that a new unit would be shipped but only once the original unit and all accessories were returned to Dyson for inspection. We were unhappy with this response as we had no vacuum to use and were in the middle of a move. We asked to speak with a manager and were told a manager would call back. Ten days later a message was left on our phone to call Dyson. The number left was the Dyson help line general number and no one seemed to be aware of our issue. Since then we have not received our replacement Dyson, instead we received a replacement cone filter sent by Purolator and no mention of our vacuum cleaner. Today we contacted Dyson and left a call back number. It has been several hours and we have heard nothing even though we understood that our call would be returned when our place in the queue was reached. This was not our first experience trying to reach or hear back from Dyson. We purchased the Dyson because our old reliable vacuum finally died and we were sure that Dyson had a great reputation. We have since had to purchase another vacuum (not a Dyson) and would like to know when we may expect to receive the intact and working product that we paid almost six hundred dollars for. The small cone filter we received is an expensive reminder of Dyson's poor customer service and refusal to provide the 100% satisfaction guarantee that was promised.

Was this review helpful?
david dong from Vancouver
david dong from Vancouver
1 review North Vancouver, BC
0/10

dc 23 animal

I bought the machine four years ago. I admited it worked pretty well. A week ago, my wife broke a right cap of the motorhead. I tried to contact the customer service to find out if there would be any parts for sale. Sent email three times and no reply at all. Called the service center, nobody answered. It looks like the company vanished. Won't buy anything from dyson and won't recommend anyone for their products too. Maybe they have a good product. But who would like to pay over 600 bucks if there is no customer service at all.

By the way, I found a website which had all parts for the machine. And it will ship to Canada. Hope it could help.

http://www.vacpartswarehouse.com/Dyson-DC23-Cylinder-s/3895.htm?gclid=CjwKEAiAxNilBRD88r2azcqB2zsSJABy2B96eErj9ogMu1Na0ijJ6DMQHPPKwx6TdXfrBNuHOAM55xoClJXw_wcB

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Joyce E from Leduc
Joyce E from Leduc
1 review Leduc, AB
1/10

Dyson Vacuum DC37

When purchasing the Dyson all talk is about the warranty.When you try to phone you could be number 58 in line with no call back, when you go on line they tell you to phone. I purchased the Dyson at the Bay and went to them for help, questions, their enthusiasm for selling a machine is just great but if you have a problem they just put their hand up and say call Dyson and turn away quickly. Now I just want to know where I can buy a triggered turbine control so I can use the machine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Allen from Mississauga
Allen from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
0/10

Needed new filter for the DC16

Ordered this part from their web site. The cost was $10 plus shipping charge. This amounted to $19. They charged my credit card immediately. After about 14 business days, I called them and asked the status of my order. They gave me an excuse why it was not shipped. I waited another 2 weeks. Again another excuse. I cancelled the order. They tell me they will need 21 days to refund my money. I was able to get the part from amazon.ca for $10 plus free shipping. I'm glad I only risked $19. I don't expect to get my money refunded. I will never buy from Dyson again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Lisa Nemiroff from Toronto
Lisa Nemiroff from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
4/10

DC23

Vacuum works fine, but if something goes wrong, you'd better hope you never need any after sale support. If you need a part, too bad, no spare parts available on the Canadian website. Try the American website, they have all the parts but won't ship to Canada. The call center is virtually unreachable. Terrible after sale support. I guess they want you to buy a new vacuum rather than replace a $20 broken part. Nasty!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Lynda from Kleinburg
Lynda from Kleinburg
10 reviews Kleinburg, ON
10/10

Vacuum Repair

Had my vacuum for 6+ years and has worked amazing. Had small electrical problem with brush bar so I brought it in for service. First off, it was done within 48 hours as promised. PLUS, they also fixed/replaced a few things that needed maintenance that had nothing to do with the original problem. The whole process was painless and the service fee was reasonable and disclosed up front...no surprises. Very happy with Dyson!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Glad we we're able to help! We hope you continue to enjoy your Dyson machine for more years to come.

Thanks,
Dyson Canada

Paulski CABBAGETOWN
Paulski CABBAGETOWN
12 reviews Toronto, ON

First Review

0/10

Repair of Dyson

Called Dyson and paid for repair charges up front, an overhaul is what i asked for, they returned my machine to me not working, i called back, they picked it up again, sent it back , still not working - i called in to repair centre and they advised that I was abusing the machine and would have to charge me once again. I got upset with this and now have one useless, big vacuum ….. i hope whoever responds to this review doesn't encourage me to call the toll free number again - no thanks …. dismal experience

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Paulski,

We’re sorry to hear you’re dissatisfied with the outcome of your machine. Our Repair Centres are fully equipped with the best technicians to support machine related issues. What you've been experiencing is quite unusual and consistent with the handling of the machine, outside of the normal wear and tear. We always recommend following the machine user manuals, as well practice proper use to ensure a machine’s warranty and maintain your machine’s overall performance.

Should you wish to discuss this further, please email service@dysoncanada.ca and our experts will be in touch.

Kind Regards,

Dyson Canada Customer Service

Dawnda Fedchak from Sault Ste. Marie
Dawnda Fedchak from Sault Ste. Marie
1 review Sault Ste Marie, ON
3/10

dyson dc47

Very disappointed in this vacuum. Have had it for a year. Worked great at first but now I wish I had another brand. Dyson has replaced the carpet attachment once and the new one doesn't work again. When you put on any attachment suction stops. Clogs very easily. Even I piece of popcorn will clog it. Tips over very easily. Will never buy another dyson product.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dawn,

We are sorry to hear your DC47 is not working its best. We’d love to resolve this issue, plus share some tips to help improve your machine’s overall performance. Please call us at t 1-877-397-6622 (Monday-Friday between 8am-7pm and Saturday 9am-5pm) or email service@dysoncanada.ca and we will be in touch.

We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind Regards,

Dyson Canada Customer Service

Constantin
Constantin
2 reviews Burlington, ON
0/10

Dyson DC32

I wouldn't rate this unit since I've never gotten the chance to use it. I placed an order by phone with Dyson Canada to buy one of their refurbished units posted on their website (Dyson DC32) and since I wasn't able to go further with the online purchase (for technical reasons which are not solved even today by Dyson - the page will give you an error message) I decided to give them a call. Everything seemed to be smooth and the CSR assured me that the unit is in stock and it will be shipped out in 7-10 business days. As well, I will receive an e-mail confirming the shipping. After more than 10 working days, I called back to inquire about this since I never heard a word from them (or the promised e-mail). The next CSR I spoke with, was apologetic but she didn't seem to know anything about what's happening with the unit. She said that she will call back soon with an answer. By the end of the day (I placed the call in the morning time) no one called back and I decided to call again. The third CSR like the predecessor, didn't seem to know to much and he said that I should wait for few more days (he never mentioned how many but the word was 'soon'). Finally, the next day I decided to cancel and go for the competitors products (there are plenty highly rated and cheaper than Dyson's).
Now, since my first experience with Dyson (and this was about SELLING their product) was so bad, I didn't want to taste the feeling of going through warranty issues (if ever I would've needed help) especially since I'm not the only complainer when it comes with Dyson Canada customer service's quality. I really wanted to jump into Dyson's products bandwagon but I never stood a chance

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Constantin,

We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. We are committed to providing the highest-quality of customer service and disappointed to hear your experience was anything but. We’d love to speak with you directly and learn how we can improve your experience with us going forward. Please email service@dysoncanada.ca and we will be in touch.

Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind Regards,

Dyson Canada Customer Service

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Dyson Canada Ltd.

Dyson is about solving the everyday problems that others ignore: vacuum cleaners that clog and lose suction, hand dryers that are energy hungry and don't work, and fans that chop the air. James Dyson founded the company from a coach house in Bath, UK. Today, Dyson machines are sold in ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Vacuum Sales & Service pros in North York?