Dupont Heating & Air Conditioning Ltd

Fireplaces
1400 Dufferin St Toronto ON M6H 4C8
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Fireplaces
Dupont Heating & Air Conditioning Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

76%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Dupont Heating & Air Conditioning Ltd

Average customer rating:
7.8 10 (103 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

air conditioner

Dupont installed two air conditioners for me two years ago. The system has not performed well. When I called to get maintenance and diagnose repairs they repeatedly changed appointments on me and didn't follow up. I really recommend trying a different company.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The Montgomerys
The Montgomerys
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Ductless Air Conditioning

We have an 1880 Victorian in downtown Toronto that has been stifling in summer for 30+ years. We finally had ductless air conditioning installed by Dupont this spring and couldn't be happier. Mario took the time to come and meet with us to review the installation and a minor hiccup was solved in less than 24 hours. They came when they said they would, did the work in the time they estimated in a clean and efficient manner and followed up to make sure everything was as it should be. I would recommend Dupont to anyone looking to improve their HVAC systems.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The team here at Dupont Heating is thrilled to hear such good feedback, and we’re proud to be a service company you can rely on. We’ve been in the industry for 53 years now and continue to strive on improving and providing excellent service to our customers. We’re happy to hear that your experience with us was great and we hope you will continue to consider us if you require future service.

Thank you,

Nicole
Office Manager

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Furnace Fan motor serviced

Disgusting work ethics. A man named Mario installed my furnace 12 yrs ago. Only after a few weeks It kept breaking down every few days and each time he charged me. In the end I had to call Carrier who got Dupont Heating to rectify it and actually replace it because it was the wrong furnace without an apology! Recently the same furnace broke down - it was the fan motor. I only called them being an existing customer and was surprised to see the same Mario. He quoted over a $1000 plus $200 for looking at it for a few minutes in an arrogant manner just like he was 12 years ago. He even suggested he put in a new furnace! I went with another company and the total was $390 and it works great! I was burned twice by Dupont Heating.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We apologize that your experience with us was dissatisfactory. We are typically known for our exceptional attention to detail and courteous service, and we regret that we missed the mark. To address your concerns, the part in question was actually an inducer motor – and the reason for failure was due to a lack of maintenance. Maintenance is a service we can provide but it is the responsibility of the customer to ensure their unit is being maintained regularly. For this situation, we did everything within our power to rectify the issue. Our cost is a fixed cost that reflects the price the supplier provides us plus the cost of labor. Our costs are competitive with the rest of the industry and we are very surprised you found the replacement for so low, but we are happy you found a fix. If there are any future issues we would still be happy to work with you, or if you would like to discuss this matter further...please give our office a call.

Thank you,

Nicole
Office Manager

Rob
Rob
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

New Furnace !!

Mario was correct, if the furnace is installed properly and then Maintained properly it will last you a long time.
I had my new Carrier Furnace installed 2 weeks ago and I DO NOT regret hiring Dupont Heating & Air Conditioning .
The Installers walked in with a smile and left with a smile. They took their time to make sure my furnace was installed correctly. They were very clean, and professional. I am very happy with the service I received and I highly recommend Dupont Heating & Air Conditioning.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are so delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us! It’s true; our installers are a wonderful team who are always happy to serve our customers – with a smile. We’ll be sure to contact you and remind you when you’re due for your next maintenance! We look forward to working with you in the future.

Thank you,

Nicole
Office Manager

pat buffone in Toronto
pat buffone in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

new furnance

The workmanship was amazing
The work was done very professional and clean.
I would highly recommend this company to anybody
who needs to install a new furnace air conditioning unit.
They were very helpful with any questions you ask them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Here at Dupont we strive for excellence and quality in our service, and we appreciate your reviews – which encourage us to continue providing great service. We thank you for your recommendation and hope you will continue to consider us for future work!

Thank you,

Nicole
Office Manager

susana albuquerque from Toronto
susana albuquerque from Toronto
7 reviews Toronto, ON
3/10

Furnace Repair

My furnace broke down in the middle of the winter and I was charged an Inordinate amount to replace one single igniter. I would not recommend this company at all - they charge WAY TOO MUCH money for an igniter. Also, I had to ask for an invoice / a receipt a couple of times before I actually received one. I just repaired my air conditioner (a very similar / comparable service - replacing a comparable piece) and I only paid one quarter of the cost!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Susana, we apologize for your dissatisfaction with our service. Dupont appreciates your feedback and we will consider it for future work. To address your specific concerns – the pricing of the igniter we provided is a standard in the industry; our cost reflects the price provided to us from the supplier and our cost for labor. In regards to the invoicing, we do apologize, during our busy season we receive a large volume of services call. It can occasionally be difficult to respond to everyone in a timely manner. Again, we thank you for your feedback and if there is anything more we can do to rectify the situation...please contact our office.

Thank you,

Nicole
Office Manager

JOHN from Toronto
JOHN from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

Air Conditioner

Our air conditioner broke down in the middle of a heat wave and we didn’t have time to check reviews of air conditioners or contractors. We called Dupont and they quickly installed one. It is very noisy. The neighbour started complaining immediately. The neighbour on the other side has an air conditioner that is about 15 year old and it is less noisy. Mario said that we bought a cheap model. But he never discussed different models or the advantages of different models. He had the serviceman install a “jacket” over the compressor, but it is still noisy. Mario should have known that noise is a big concern in downtown Toronto. Now we have to live with a noisy air conditioner and complaining neighbours.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

John, we are sorry to hear that your new install is not meeting your needs. We always try to recommend models that meet the customers’ requests while respecting their budget – which is why you were recommended said unit. The sound blanket that was put on the system should have rectified the issue, if it did not the issue may be with the fan itself. Please give us a call if there still seems to be an issue in the new cooling season and we will gladly come out to have a look.

Thank you,

Nicole
Office Manager

Palazzetti Modern Furniture
Palazzetti Modern Furniture
3 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Air conditioners

Mario was a big help in determining what my needs were for air conditioning in a space with very high ceilings. Work was done on time, on budget and works great.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback! Dupont always strives to provide accurate and timely service in a professional manner that respects the budgets of our customers. We hope you’ll continue to use our services in the future!

Thank you,

Nicole
Office Manager

EB in Toronto
EB in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

New Igniter for the Furnace

I cannot recall exactly what we were charged and they never sent an invoice as they said they would.

What I do remember is that when I checked the what an igniter installed should cost I saw that they had charged a inordinate amount.

The fact that they overcharged and failed to send an invoice puts this company in the bad bad bad books.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service; however, the cost we provide for the igniter (as with any part) is a fixed cost that reflects the cost given to us from our suppliers plus our labor. As for the invoicing, during the busy season we can get an extraordinary volume of calls...unfortunately, the invoicing may take a little longer than usual – we apologize for that and appreciate your feedback.

Thank you,

Nicole

Karolina
Karolina
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Unexpected Furnace Malfunction

I would like to share my experience with Dupont Heating & Air Conditioning.
We went for one week vacation and when we've came back to our horror our house was cold. We have realized that there is something wrong with our furnace. It was late Saturday night!
I've called Dupont Heating & Air Conditioning and left a message. Right away I've received a call back from Mario, who tried to help me over the phone to see if we can fix the problem. I was really appreciative of him taking the time and trying to resolve the issue. Unfortunately, I was not able to fix the problem. Mario got into his car and showed up at my house at midnight! I was so relived to see him, as I was dreading the cold night in the freezing house with two little kids. Mario was very professional, knowledgable and caring! For Mario it wasn't important to charge me extra for late night weekend visit, but to make sure that our furnace was up and running! I was so grateful to him and relived to have the warm house again!

After that we've done the maintenance of our furnace with Dupont Heating & Air Conditioning. Hameed, who came to our house, was also very professional and very precise. He checked every detail and took his time to do his job. Job well done!
(BTW we've done furnace cleaning before the winter with different company and with my own eyes I've saw now that they never cleaned the vents or other parts....it was a joke!) I wish I've found Dupont Heating & Air Conditioning sooner...

Now, knowing that there is Dupont Heating & Air Conditioning I have a peace of mind, as I know that if there is something wrong I can call them and they will be there for our family! They provide a service 24/7 and they mean it!

Karolina

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Karolina we are very grateful for your outstanding review, thank you for taking the time to write about us – your feedback goes a long way. Dupont takes pride in our ability to provide a professional service to customers in a timely manner, while also respecting our customers’ budget – especially when they don’t have heat! Moreover, we appreciate your feedback for our technician – Hameed – you’re right, he is very professional and precise! All of our technicians do their best to complete their jobs thoroughly, and your feedback helps us continue to grow as a small business.

Thank you,

Nicole
Office Manager

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Dupont Heating & Air Conditioning Ltd

What We Do Ensure your heating system operates at peak efficiency with services from Dupont Heating & Air Conditioning. With over 40 years in the business, we provide competitive pricing and hands-on service for residential, commercial and industrial clients. We can handle small to large heating projects from home furnaces ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Fireplaces pros in North York?