HomeStars  >  Electricians in Toronto  >  Diamond Electric Inc. - No Longer In Business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

30%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Diamond Electric Inc. - No Longer In Business

Average customer rating:
6.7 10 (4 reviews)

Sort by

Christy in Toronto
Christy in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

knob and tube removal

we had Diamond rewire our house and Bing did a good job. Victor asked for more $ at the end above what was quoted, but we didn't pay EXTRA. the price was very fair and much lower than others quoted.

Was this review helpful?
Rory Tate in Leslieville
Rory Tate in Leslieville
6 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Remove knob and tube - rewire house

Working with Diamond Electric was overall a pleasant experience. While the work did take longer than originally estimated, I had expected as much. Victor doesn't have the best customer service skills but he does make sure the work is done properly and to code. The price was the lowest quote I received to remove the knob and tube in my Leslieville semi, to upgrade the service to 120 and to install a new panel.

In the end, the job was done well. I was a little upset that my interconnected smoke/carbon monoxide detectors were overlooked (now that the ceilings are in place, I don't want the electrician punching new holes that have to be fixed) but Victor gave me a credit on the final bill to cover that inconvenience. There were some communication issues but overall I was satisfied.

Was this review helpful?
Melissa at Yonge and Lawrence
Melissa at Yonge and Lawrence
2 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

re-wiring

We had two quotes and chose Diamond Electric to change the knob and tube for most of our house. They quoted that the job would take four days and they delivered on time. We had a few concerns with the capabilities of a few of the side men, but the main electrician was very "on the ball." Although the job requires that the whole house be in a state of chaos and mess, they were respectful of our space and courteous. We have no complaints, other than the trash they left that still sits on our balcony.

Was this review helpful?
Don from Trinity Bellwoods
Don from Trinity Bellwoods
7 reviews Old Toronto, ON

First Review

2.8/10

panel upgrade

Our fuse panel needed repair, so we called 5 electrical contractors for quotes and to learn. We picked Diamond for the wrong reason – they were available for this small job on short notice.

Things went downhill quickly when they finally showed after 3 no shows. Victor, the key figure at Diamond, left someone else in our basement to do the work. This very young person was surprised at how dark it was with the electricity cut off. The work took 4 visits at various times of the day, evening and weekend, despite being a small job according to Victor and the other electricians we called. We ended up calling the electrical safety authority for an independent inspection, as the inspector Victor had a certificate from had never visited our house. Victor was rude at times, inconsiderate in our home (tracked mud through the house, wiping his feet finally on our dining room rug, among several other incidents). In the end it took 8 weeks for a panel upgrade – panel only – the service upgrade had been done already. Communication was horrible, the work had to be checked and changes made, and we had to chase him to complete the job. Victor said that he had a bigger job that took all his time, and ours wasn’t as critical. He should have considered that before taking our job.

In the end the work was done and has not presented a problem. We paid him less as we had to pay more for the inspection. We recommend to others not to use Diamond Electric.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We told the client to find someone else, an electrician working on his own, to do the job. Since he could not any one for more than a month, we agreed to do the job. Over the phone, I explained we are too busy to do his job. I only met the client once when I went to hand over the certificate. We have the status of being an authorized contractor by the Electrical Safety Authority. This status is earned through code compliant work over a period of time. We are consistantly good quality work with no compromise to safety. We always allow provisions in our contract with the client. This client did not understand how a certificate from ESA without inspection. Our work is subject to audit but not inspected all the time. At that time, we had tight schedules to finish large commercial job. The client did not understand how a certificate can be issued and what an authorized contractor means and he did not want to pay the fees we paid. That was the cause of his complaint. If someone is not paid what is due, he will obviously be angry.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

Is this your business?

Receive leads and respond to reviews.
Claiming is easy and free.

Claim this business

More about Diamond Electric Inc. - No Longer In Business

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.