HomeStars  >  Shutters & Blinds in Vaughan  >  Designer Window Fashions Inc. - Home And Design Centre - No Longer In Business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

64%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Designer Window Fashions Inc. - Home And Design Centre - No Longer In Business

Average customer rating:
8.5 10 (57 reviews)

Sort by

erica  from Etobicoke
erica from Etobicoke
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Blinds

Designer Window Fashions installed blinds in my condo about 14 years ago. Recently 2 of my blinds were in need of repair. The blind for the sliding door only needed a new cord which i was told were warrantied for life. My second blind for the window was torn and needed to be repaired completely. When I reached out to the company they told me my fabric was discontinued and if any repairs were needed to the fabric I would have to choose something different and they would have to make me a new blind. I agreed and had John come to do a site visit to try to match my fabric as closely as possible however the samples he brought were not a good match to my existing blinds. He said he was going to take the blind for the sliding door and the window blind back to the factory to see if he could match the colour as closely as possible. This transpired back in February of this year and I haven't heard from them since. After repeated phone calls and emails I drove to their Oakville location and there was a sign on the door from the landlord to Designer Window Fashions indicating they had abandoned the premises and owed them 3 months worth of rent. If I had any idea I wasn't going to get my blinds back I would have kept them and had John send me more samples instead of agreeing to have him take them back to the factory. Now I am without 2 blinds and have had to purchase elsewhere. I spent approximately $1000 to replace the ones that are missing.

Was this review helpful?
Very h.
Very h.
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Living Room and Kitchen Automated Blinds

We researched many companies and found Designer Window Fashions to be competative in pricing but most importantly, they excelled in giving quality advice. They solved one installation challenge for which we had been given numerous unworkable ideas by other industry professionals. We are delighted with the end result and have recommended DWF to friends. It is very refreshing to deal with people who respond in such a positive way to a customer; whether it be their office staff, sales representative or installer, we were very pleased indeed.

Was this review helpful?
Ruth from Oakville
Ruth from Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
0/10

shutters

Hi Albie, Yes I'm having the same difficulty with Designer Window Fashions. John came in to measure the windows saying it would be about 4 to 5 weeks for delivery. I only received a portion of the delivery and the installation was done18 weeks later. The communication was shockingly poor from the start in August 2014. It has been another 10 weeks and they still have not completed the work I have already paid big bucks for. Back in August they offered me a 5% discount if I paid it all up front. I went to the Store March 8th and there is a note on the door from the landlord saying the lock is changed and they owe rent to the property owner. It looks like John and his Designer Window Company have left with our money and are nowhere to be found. I wonder how many people they have done this to? Looks like they've been taking peoples money right to the bitter end. That business has been at that location for a very very long time. I never though they would pull something like that.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Albie from Markham
Albie from Markham
1 review Markham, ON
0/10

Shutters

John came in for a shutters consult and placed our order on Jan 9th. We've paid $2350 in deposit already. He said it'll take up to 4-5 weeks for delivery. It is now the 7th week. Not only has the shutters not been delivered, we cannot reach Designer Window Fashions at all. I've called their office many times, left messages. Not once have they returned our call. I've also tried emailing John and the general email, no reply as well. They have terrible communication with customers, or none whatsoever.I also just checked their website and it's down too. I'm starting to think they're simply a sc*m. Anyone have similar experience with DWF?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Shelly from Burlington
Shelly from Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
8/10

Draperies

I had an overall good experience with Designer Window Fashions. Lyle came to do my consultation & was very knowledgeable, friendly & passionate about what he does. I had a little trouble organizing the installation time but once he showed up he was professional, quick & clean. I would recommend DWF to anyone looking for a quality product a prompt, professional installation.

Was this review helpful?
Antonella  from Toronto
Antonella from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Drapes, blinds

The whole process was great! From picking our drapes and blinds to seeing the final product, it was just a fun experience. The final product is such an update to our home which we just love!

Was this review helpful?
Joan Lovett  from Toronto
Joan Lovett from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Shades

I used DWF in 2002 to cover all windows in a new townhouse and they did a fabulous job! I used them again earlier this year to update my condo I eas selling. He chose perfect blinds and the installer was prompt and cleaned up after installation. Would highly recommend DWF.

Was this review helpful?
Kathy from Toronto
Kathy from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Living room/dining room blinds

The advisor was prompt and efficient. The price was very fair and the installer was efficient and tidy. This company was recommended to us by a neighbour and we are very pleased with the product and the service.

Was this review helpful?
E. Chan in Mississauga
E. Chan in Mississauga
3 reviews Mississauga, ON
1/10

Hunter Douglas shutters

We replaced all the windows in our house recently. We came across very nice hunter douglas shutters some time ago, and we decided this time we have hunter douglas shutters be installed. John came over and gave us a quote and told us that it will take 3 weeks (after the order is placed) for them to be installed. After the new windows were installed, we asked John to place the order but it turned out it took 7 weeks to have the shutters installed. Clearly we have no shutters for all the windows in our house for the 7 weeks, and every week I need to call to find out when the shutter to arrive. Very poor after sale service.
After the shutters were installed, we noticed that 9 out of 16 shutters were not installed properly; gaps at top of the panels were tighter than the bottom, and one of them is so bad we need a hammer to close it. Of course we do not expect this kind of quality, after all we thought we paid for the quality. Hunter douglas shutters are not cheap; they are about 50% to 100% more expensive than the competitors. The old shutters I threw away didn’t even have problem like this. I called the company (John) and they agreed there was a problem. They said hunter douglas may need to replace them claiming that they did not made them correctly. Hunter douglas representative came over twice and they (hunter douglas hunter and the company) disagree with what was the problem. Whenever they came over I need to take a day off to wait for them. In total, I have to have three days off just to let them look over and argue the problem. At the end, I was so frustrated and demand them to find out what is the root cause. Finally they agreed that the installer hired by the company did not know how to install the shutters. Needless to say, I am shocked. How could a company claimed to be in business for decades installing hunter douglas products does not even know how to install hunter douglas shutters. The representative from hunter douglas was not helpful either, they should have known the issue. Moreover, they are rude when they came to my house. Very unprofessional which I do not expect from a company like hunter douglas Canada.
John sent another technician over and tried his best to adjust the frame for us. But in the process, more holes are drilled on the frame which we are not happy about it. Moreover, we are not convinced that the technician knows any better than the installer before. Every time we said something we do not like, he claimed that it is the way it should be. At the end, I asked him to leave without correcting all other windows since I am not convinced he won’t make the matter worse.
We ask John to do the job for us mainly from the positive comments in homestars. My experience is totally different. If I know what I know now, we won’t install hunter douglas shutters (Expensive and poor quality). Because of the extreme poor after sale service, nor can I recommend designer window fashions to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Edward,

We are more than happy to look after the situation with the Hunter Douglas shutters.
Hunter Douglas agrees that an installer needs time to make the adjustments needed to ensure that the shutters operate correctly. The installer was unable to do this the last time he was there as I understand you were frustrated and did not let him complete the adjustments he needed the time to do. We need time to come there and address the issues, please let us know when is a good time for you and at your convenience, we will accommodate an appointment that works for you to have the installer make the necessary adjustments needed. I will oversee the entire repair process and be available to you should you have any questions during the process. Our family business is committed to looking after our clients from start to finish.
We look forward to getting your situation resolved with Hunter Douglas for you.

Regards,
John

Olga Werbowy from Mississauga
Olga Werbowy from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
9/10

living room blinds

We needed some good quality blinds and a friend referred DWF to me. After just a few days a professional came and told us everything we need to know, he was very kind. When the day came to put on the blinds, the professional came on time and did everything quickly yet still with great experience. I truly recommend DWF to anybody that needs good quality blinds with a very good service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your feedback & kind words. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our services and look forward to your next order with us.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Designer Window Fashions Inc. - Home And Design Centre - No Longer In Business

Family operated with over 30 years of experience in the GTA, our knowledgeable consultants simplify the coordination of colour and style to suit your decor and budget. Quality shades, blinds, shutters, silhouettes, pirouettes, luminettes, sliding panels, romans, motorized systems, drapery, rods and trim in the latest and greatest designer styles ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.