Dan Mac Plumbing & Drain Service Ltd

Plumbing
33 Chauncey Ave Toronto ON M8Z 2Z2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Plumbing
Dan Mac Plumbing & Drain Service Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

79%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Dan Mac Plumbing & Drain Service Ltd

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (75 reviews)

Sort by

Lisa from Etobicoke
Lisa from Etobicoke
2 reviews Etobicoke, ON
10/10

Plumbing

Dan Mac just finished a job for us and we are very pleased. We received three quotes from three different plumbers and Dan Mac delivered the best price for the same work. They were on time, efficient and the quality of the work was superb. We would be happy to use them again if need be, and would recommend Dan Mac to others.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words. We really do our best from the scheduling of the work to the completion of the project.

Melissa from Etobicoke
Melissa from Etobicoke
3 reviews Old Toronto, ON
10/10

Eliminate Exterior building trap & supply BWV

DanMac came highly recommended by a friend of ours who is knowledgeable about home renovations. We were warned about our lawn being dug-up but were amazed at how nicely the team from DanMac cleaned up afterwards. This company is well established. They made it very easy for us to apply for the City of Toronto subsidy. Stewart was particularly kind, professional and helpful.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I will pass the note on to Stewart. Everyone on our team is committed to doing a great job!
Thank you.

Elaine Barrett
Elaine Barrett
13 reviews THORNHILL, ON
10/10

Clear a drain

Over the past several decades when we have a plumbing issue, we call Danmac. They have always been reliable and knowledgeable, and we have yet to be disappointed. This was a small job, a bathtub that drained slowly in a condo we had not yet occupied. The plumber found not only a problem with the drain, which he cleared but a broken pop-up stopper which he replaced. Not an exciting story, but a job well done. You can't ask for more than that.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the business you have given us over all these years. It's not the amount of business but the fact that you have been satisfied from the first time to now is a testament to our commitment to providing great work at fair prices.

Sylvia in Toronto
Sylvia in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Installing a shower etc...

I own 2 properties and luckily bumped into DanMac when my basement flooded with one of the storms 7 years ago. I got them through my amazing insurer. I've been using them ever since. They come on a moments notice and if they can't (in times when the whole city is under siege, they make great referrals and don't pretend that they can do it when they can't!). The latest job they did was the installation of a 4 piece hand shower that needed to be installed in my otherwise showerless bathtub. I had a plumber (friend of my tenants') who I thought I'd try out and he ended up being completely unavailable. When I sent him pictures of 4 piece faucets he said it wouldn't work. This is AFTER I had tiled the whole bath tub area and he had said this is the only solution that would work to save me from re-doing the whole bathroom. I called DanMac, I sent them pictures, they said "No problem". They sent someone out the next day and installed everything...In addition, while William was there, he installed my bathroom sink faucet and fixed a toilet handle in the basement. He was professional, on time and friendly. Their receptionist and others who answers the phone are always friendly too. I would definitely recommend them to anyone. Sylvia B.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

That's great to hear that we managed to fit the 4 piece shower on to your tub. Sometimes it's tricky but worth the effort. Thank you for such a positive review of our work. I will be sure to let our serviceman know.

Anna  Mississauga
Anna Mississauga
6 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Unclogging blocked sewer pipe

I called DanMac because the basement shower was backing up. I spoke with Vivian, who was extremely helpful and arranged to have Kevin come to my home within the hour. When Kevin arrived he explained his course of action and put a camera through the clean out to find the obstruction. He was very knowledgeable and quickly diagnosed the problem. I am so pleased with the work done and will certainly use DanMac's services again!!!!
Anna-Marie

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We will be sure to pass your message on to our service man.
Thank you for taking the time to submit this positive review.

E&T from Toronto
E&T from Toronto
2 reviews Old Toronto, ON
10/10

leaking kitchen sink, new dishwasher drain, and replace water heater

Moved into an older house this year and have used DanMac twice so far. Once to replace the electric water heater and once to do some work under the kitchen sink. There was a leak under the sink and they replaced the basket and the metal drain pipe directly under the sink (to plastic). I asked them to fix a bit of a wacky pipe situation under the sink and they cleaned it all up by replacing the copper water supply pipes up from the basement into the kitchen and made a nice hookup for the miele dishwasher drain hose (it's an odd size). The plumbers that have been at the house have been courteous and efficient and the dispatcher and scheduling all seemed pretty organized.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for utilizing our services and then taking the time to follow up with your positive feedback.

Mark from Whitby
Mark from Whitby
3 reviews Old Toronto, ON
10/10

Shower Plumbing

Approximately one year ago, I started having issues with the hot water in my shower on certaing days and at certain times. I am in a condo and was convinced it was a building issue. The property management had plumbers check the lines and boosters, but found no problems, so they said it was my unit's problem. I called DanMac Plumbing because I had seen Mike Holmes use this company in the past. An employee of DanMac was able to check out my shower issue within 48 hours of calling (it wasn't an emergency). The plumber checked the lines in my unit and found no problems. He replaced the shower cartridge (although the old one was OK) and adjusted the scald screw for me. He was very professional and courteous, even teaching me about basic plumbing and home maintenance. He took his inspection one step forward by examing the lines in hallways of my condo building. He determined that my unit was not in the main supply line, rather on a pipe off of the main line. He suggested that could be the issue.and wrote a report reflecting that so I could show that to the property management. Unfortunately, I still have the issue but I now know 100% that it is not my problem (it is the building's problem). Thank you DanMac for your outstanding service!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

In Hi-Rise condominiums the fluctuation of hot and cold water can sometimes be a tricky and time consuming process to determine the exact cause. Your approach is correct as you have now taken steps to ensure the problem is not in your unit and it is now the building's responsibility to address.
We are happy to have helped out.
Thank you.

Pat  from Oshawa
Pat from Oshawa
1 review Oshawa, ON
10/10

laundry room drain overflowing

Our drain in the laundry room was overflowing, so we called a plumbing company which they came and looked at the drain.The plumber did not even try to snake the drain to see if that would clear the drain.He brought in his camera and told us that we would have to dig up the floor to find the problem. The cost would be expensive, so we told them no thanks. We then called another plumbing company, and the plumber did the exact same thing as the first. So we asked him if that would fix the problem and he said yes. That was the worst nightmare we had.They were so rude, they destroyed our kitchen floor and the problem was not fixed.That was the end of that, they wanted more money to keep digging to find the problem. Both of these companies were all about upselling work,instead of helping us.I called DanMac plumbing, told them about our problem and from the very first phone call to the invoice nothing but professionalism and customer service.They had all the right tools and professionals for the job,found the problem ,gave us an estimate for the work.We had them do the work, and are very happy and saved money,very honest.Thanks to all the staff at DanMac for all there help. Will recommend to all family and friends to them for repairs.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our goal is to provide our customer with the most cost effective and practical solution to their problem. We are happy to hear that your problem has now been resolved.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback.

Ross Virgin from Woodbridge
Ross Virgin from Woodbridge
2 reviews Woodbridge, ON
10/10

Increased water to 3/4-inch pipe


I had occasion to contact DanMac Plumbing to have my water
supply increased from 1/2-inch to 3/4-inch; therefore requiring
excavation. This lead me to fear quite a mess after it was
finished.

Not so. The three fellows who did the job were great, polite
and neat. All the excavated soil was captured on plywood, and
returned to its original spot at the conclusion. None was left
on the sidewalk, on the roadway, etc, as I have seen at other
jobs.

And no sink-hole developed a week after the backfilling was
done.

I was impressed.

So much, that I have called them 3 times now, all with the same
excellent service.

Vivian, in the office, answers calls promptly, and with all the
information you need.

James, the dispatcher, was exceptional. As with all work tasks,
the "perfect" schedule does not exist. The previous job can
never be predicted to-the-minute. But I was not left waiting in
the abyss which some companies leave you. When Chris, the
technician for my job, was tied up later at the last job, James
was on the phone to me, advising, and giving me the most
current arrival time at my location. Then, as soon as Chris was
en route to my place, I was contacted again by James, to give
me the current arrival time. It was accurage.

Chris came and was as neat and polite as the previous staff....
and efficient. He was finished in about 1/2-hour and on his
way.

The lead person, Stewart MacCan, has been an excellent source
of advice on how my jobs should be done well, and at the lowest
cost for the customer. What else can be requested. I have
recommended www.danmacplumbing.com to all my colleagues
at my work place. If anyone reading this has questions for me,
feel free to ask at medic10@softhome.net. Ross Virgin,
Woodbridge, Ontario.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for submitting such a detailed and positive review of the service that you received. Each of our team has a specific responsibility when servicing our customers. It's great to see everyone on the team working together to achieve a common goal.

Ron in North York
Ron in North York
13 reviews North York, ON
10/10

Drain clearing

Kitchen drain suddenly stopped working at night, Called DanMac at 7 am. Plumber starts at 9 and showed up after his first call was done at 10. He went a long way from the kitchen and there was no blockage. Se he went to the cleanout in the basement in the next drain and cleared it. He was professional and courteous and answered all questions, as well as explaining what he was doing. The charge includes the basic service call and then an hourly charge. Plus he charged $25 for use of his equipment as "parts", which is a new one on me. He said this is the way they work. All in all he solved the problem and also showed me how I could do it the next time. Not the cheapest but within expecatations.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for providing feedback on our recent visit to your home. It's our goal to ensure you get the best service at the best price.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Dan Mac Plumbing & Drain Service Ltd

Established in 1987, DanMac Plumbing & Drain Service Ltd. is a full service company that can meet all of your residential and industrial plumbing needs. Specialties include: drain repairs and replacements, camera inspections, clearing of Sewer blockages and Roots in drains. Water service replacement, Torpedo water service. Waterproofing, and we ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Plumbing pros in Etobicoke?