Classic Kitchen Designs & Renovations Ltd.

Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design
1910 Dundas St. East, #126 Whitby, Ontario ON L1N 2L6
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars  >  Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design in Whitby  >  Classic Kitchen Designs & Renovations Ltd.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

82%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Classic Kitchen Designs & Renovations Ltd.

Average customer rating:
8.1 10 (15 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Complete kitchen renovation

Classic Kitchen Designs & Renovations Ltd.
905-433-1173
1910 Dundas St E
Whitby
ON
L1N 2L6
CANADA

We would highly recommend Classic Kitchens Designs for a kitchen renovation. From our initial meeting through to the completion of our project, we were impressed by the professional workmanship and the high quality of the products that they installed.
Once our project began, we were assigned our project team (design, demolition, framing, drywall, electrical, plumbing, cabinetry, etc.). Everyone in our team of trades and design were very experienced and knowledgeable at their respective profession and they had the expertise to present viable alternatives when needed. Additionally, every member of the trades and design team were professional and courteous.
With regards to project timelines, our kitchen renovation was completed on schedule. Any minor deficiencies were reviewed and dealt with efficiently.
Thank you to Chris, Jeff, Debbie, Angela and everyone at Classic Kitchens for your advice and assistance in design layout, attention to quality finish and detail, materials choice, colour co-ordination, etc. We truly enjoyed working with you throughout our project! We couldn’t be more pleased with our new kitchen.
Garry R.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind review Gary! We all really enjoyed working with you and Terri in transforming your space into something that really improves how you live and work inside your kitchen. The difference from before to after is absolutely stunning! We trust that you will get many years of pure enjoyment from your new kitchen!

Chris, Angela, Debbie, Jeff and all the staff at Classic Kitchens

Gary from Oshawa
Gary from Oshawa
1 review Oshawa, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

Classic Kitchens team were amazing from the start to the end of our kitchen renovation. From helping us select what we wanted to completing the job on time. We are so in love with our new kitchen. Thank you so much!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks for your wonderful review. I was a pleasure to work with you and your family to create a fantastic new kitchen for you!...........................................Classic Kitchens has won several awards for Outstanding Customer Service, and is Durham Region's leading Kitchen Renovator. We have thousands of very happy customers, and many excellent reviews which are posted on our website www.classickitchens.ca . Come in and meet us and see why for many years, customers have been choosing Classic as their renovator of Choice!

Jeff from Bowmanville
Jeff from Bowmanville
1 review Bowmanville, ON
10/10

Kitchen renovation

Had my kitchen done by classic kitchens and I just cannot believe how good it looks. The staff was very friendly and professional. They helped me choose complimentary colours that just look amazing. Not sure if it would have looked as good if I didn't have their help. They made the whole experience a delight. I know who to see when it comes time to do my bathroom. Thanks again for everything. I highly recommend these guys.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing us to do your kitchen. We really enjoyed working with you!.........................................Classic Kitchens has won several awards for Outstanding Customer Service, and is Durham Region's leading Kitchen Renovator. We have thousands of very happy customers, and many excellent reviews which are posted on our website www.classickitchens.ca . Come in and meet us and see why for many years, customers have been choosing Classic as their renovator of Choice!

Lori  from Ajax
Lori from Ajax
1 review Ajax, ON
10/10

bathroom remodel

Classic kitchens did an amazing job on our kitchen so when it came time to remodel the bathroom there was no question on who to call. Angela's suggestions on tile,fixtures and even the paint colour were perfect.Their craftsman have an attention to detail and make sure the job is done beautifully. I like that their price includes everything. There are no surprises! Classic is the only company I trust when renovating.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you so much Lori, for your very kind review, it was our pleasure to design and install your beautiful new kitchen and bathroom! We really enjoyed working with you and your husband, and we wish you all the best................................Classic Kitchens has won several awards for Outstanding Customer Service, and is Durham Region's leading Kitchen Renovator. We have thousands of very happy customers, and many excellent reviews which are posted on our website www.classickitchens.ca . Come in and meet us and see why for many years, customers have been choosing Classic as their renovator of Choice!

Debbie Vanburen from Toronto
Debbie Vanburen from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen Restoration & Renovation

After seeing some of the amazing pictures of projects they had done, we knew Classic was our first choice. The kitchen they created for us was nothing short of breathtaking!

Thanks, to the amazing team at Classic, you have given us everything we were hoping for, we are super impressed!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks for your kind words Debbie, it was a real pleasure for all of us to have worked with you to create the kitchen of your dreams. The end result is truly wonderful. Thanks for your business...............

Classic Kitchens has won several awards for Outstanding Customer Service, and is Durham Region's leading Kitchen Renovator. We have thousands of very happy customers, and many excellent reviews which are posted on our website www.classickitchens.ca . Come in and meet us first hand and see why for many years, customers have been choosing Classic as their renovator of Choice!

Vera DeSouza from Pickering
Vera DeSouza from Pickering
1 review Pickering, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

Classic Kitchen Designs & Renovations Ltd.
905-433-1173
1910 Dundas St E
Whitby
ON
L1N 2L6
CANADA

We had our kitchen done by Classic Kitchens, and Chris and Angela were amazing to work with. My next project is bathrooms and I already know Classic will be doing those too!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your nice response Vera, we enjoyed working with you very much and look forward to working with you in the future!.....................

Classic Kitchens has won several awards for Outstanding Customer Service, and is Durham Region's leading Kitchen Renovator. We have thousands of very happy customers, and many excellent reviews which are posted on our website www.classickitchens.ca . Come in and meet us first hand and see why for many years, customers have been choosing Classic as their renovator of Choice!

Ely Styles from Oshawa
Ely Styles from Oshawa
1 review Port Perry, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

We looked around for a very long time before settling on Classic to do our kitchen renovation. Professional, great to deal with, and they gave us the kitchen that exceeded our dreams! Thanks!!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks Ely, for letting everyone know how pleased you are with your amazing new kitchen! We truly enjoyed working with you and wish you many happy years of enjoyment in your new kitchen!.............. Classic Kitchens has won several awards for Outstanding Customer Service, and is Durham Region's leading Kitchen Renovator. We have thousands of very happy customers, and many excellent reviews which are posted on our website www.classickitchens.ca . Come in and meet us first hand and see why for many years, customers have been choosing Classic as their renovator of Choice

Brent from Whitby
Brent from Whitby
1 review L1 P1 P9, ON
0/10

Kitchen Reno

November 12, 2014. I think you are mistaken, for we appear to be going around in Ovals not circles, just like our round table that was to seat 5 people not 3; Oh but wait there is a disclaimer that says you don't have to live up to your contractual obligations; oh that's right it was not mentioned in the contract???? You have never addressed the letter we sent you when this travisty took place. Only when you saw our comments here at Home Stars, months later. You reacted in a rude arrogant manner, which persists to this day. It is not the lighting that is improperly placed, it is the centre island. We requested a round table that seats 5 people, we selected this granite for the special grain to run a certain direction. Don't you think it is a little late to advise us that it cannot be cut that way? I am more than willing to settle this contractual dispute. We will be glad to pick a granite that works for us and you can install it and as per our original agreement. Cut the granite so the transition piece fits properly and have a table that seats 5 , reduce the price of the cabinets and granite we removed from the contract, adjust the centre island to it's proper location. When complete submit the bill and to us. You are correct when you say "Classic Kitchens " is responsible. ....................................................
November 05, 2014. I find it disappointing that I must continue to defend my integrity, and decisions regarding this project in this manner. Non the less, I believe it is important to ensure the truth is known. I have submitted further pictures to clarify my position. Included is the schematic drawing clearly identifying the kitchen table portion to be 41 1/2 inches in length from the edge of the upper counter to the outer edge of the table. Picture two shows the real measurement to be 35 1;2 inches. There is 6 inches of table missing. further to this the schematic clearly identifies the table to be round, not oblong. The diagram clearly shows 5 chairs seated around the table unobstructed by the cabinet underneath. The diagram also shows a round under support for the table which is required for when the granite extends beyond the cabinet. The third photo shows this support missing.... As for the rest of the granite issues, I will attempt to be more clear. The entire counter is placed 6" out of place towards the back doors resulting in us hitting our head on the lighting each time we try to work over the edge by the fridge. The lighting does not line up to the center of the sink due to the center island being off center. We selected a granite which had a unique grain that ran through the entire piece, and we requested that the cut be made to allow the grain to run full length of the counter. What you did was cut the grain entirely in the opposite direction and destroying the reason for it's selection. This was an upgrade which we paid for!!!!! As for you mentioning how beautiful the kitchen looks, you seem to want to take credit for making the cabinets which you did not, your role in this process was to ensure the order was correct and installed on time, which you did not do. You seem to want to take credit for how beautiful the granite looks, but you did not make the granite, your role was to ensure it was cut correctly and installed correctly, which you did not do. Our original contract was to have two floor cabinets with granite counter tops placed between the kitchen and family room. One was to be a wine rack and the other a storage cabinet, after we agreed on price we changed the plans and removed these two items but your price never reflected this change......
You continue to mention the hood fan to which I have clearly stated that we purchased, only after you took credit for earlier in your submissions. Once again we did not WIN here, we did not break even. We lost a great deal between what we ordered and what was delivered. The truth and nothing but.
.
.

November 02, 2014

I believe I must response to the most recent reply from classic kitchens, for no attempt has been made to contact me or answer the letter sent. I did not receive what the schematics clearly identified. As stated earlier, the contract was vague and did not identify many contractual agreements, but the schematics and accompanied layouts did. We did not WIN here; Our counter top is still off center, our kitchen table still only seats 3 people. The granite is cut incorrectly, The wrong cabinets were installed and long delay to correct, we paid for our own hood fan. I respectfully request that these issues be addressed in your next response.

June 15, 2014

Have just read Classic Kitchen's response to my submission. It has taken several months for them to reply.

To ensure clarification, Classic kitchens have never paid for our hood fan nor did they follow through with their promise. When I sent the letter they advised they would respond to us and they never have. The only response is the one here accusing of us of mood swings and ranting?????? I believe it is clear who is having the mood swings.

The owner of this company lives up the street from us and it would be a 2 minute walk to come and clarify his position, instead he waits several months to respond and does not address any of our concerns outlined here or in the letter sent.

Our countertop is still off center, our kitchen table still only seats 3 people. The granite is cut incorrectly, The wrong cabinets were installed and long delay to correct, we paid for our own hood fan. I respectfully request that these issues be addressed in your next response.................................................................................................................................................................................................
Nov.2013
Did our home work and thought Classic Kitchens would do the best job. Friendly and helpful. All started to go wrong shortly after signing the contract, which was vague in detail. They installed the wrong cabinets and we requested they be corrected. Chris first tried to talk us into the wrong cabinets. We insisted they install the cabinets we ordered. It took 2 months for them to return with the correct cabinets. Centre Island is off center. The upgraded granite which we paid extra for was not cut correctly. Requested and paid for a granite counter top which would act as a kitchen table to seat 5 people. When installed much smaller than the specifications and layout showed. Only can seat 3 people. Wrote to Classic Kitchens detailing all the mistakes that have gone on. They advised that they would respond to us. It has now been over a month and have not heard from them. Withheld the final 10% payment. This is the only legal step we could take. The cost of correcting these mistakes is far more than the 10% we withheld. Although staff and contractors friendly and professional we are greatly disappointed in this company.

Review has 1 previous version
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

nov 11: We appear to keep travelling in circles since I am explaining the same things more than once: ..............1) regarding your claim that the table size is wrong- The diagram you have posted carries a disclaimer printed on the document that the drawing is "subject to verification on job site and adjustment to fit job conditions". You would have people believe that you had no idea about the table size you received. This is completely false. You were present at the templating, and approved the actual template size which your table was made from. You are completely right, readers do need to know "the truth".....................2) If the light over the table is off centre, This is certainly a simple item, we will be happy to take care of as a warranty item, once you have paid your bill. I will leave it in your hands to meet your obligation here...............................3) You are mistaken, the drawing does not show a "round support" for the table, that is a hanging light fixture....................4)The "third" photo verifies that the granite support is indeed correct.....................5)The direction of the grain you requested was not possible using the material we had to work with and the pieces that needed to be made from that slab................6) The plan was changed to move the winerack into the bar area, which involved a cost differential. If you are willing to pay your balance, we can review any difference from this change and apply it..................7)Classic Kitchens is completely responsible for how beautiful your kitchen looks. Why don't you post a photo showing the WHOLE kitchen for the readers?....................8) As previously mentioned, the fan is not included.................9) I'm prepared to talk to you about settling your bill, and addressing the cost adjustment for the winerack change , and doing an adjustment to the light fixture. Are you prepared to settle your balance? ..................................................................

November 4: Brent, I first want to thank you for posting those photos which confirms that your kitchen is not only beautiful, but it also matches the design which you fully agreed to.................
2) The contract is very clear about what you were to receive, and there is a note expressly stating that "items not listed are not included" It doesn't get much clearer than that........................
3) The hood we "owe" you is NOT in the contract, period. You ranted and raved until I gave in in an effort to make you stop. The fact that you haven't paid us anyways, makes this a moot point......................
4) you fully know that your countertop is designed with an offset to match the main countertop. You have known this since the first time you saw the rendering, and confirmed your acceptance of this feature the day you signed the contract. .......................
4) The seating area is designed for 4 chairs, just because you put three in and took a picture doesn't change the fact. We had a conversation about switching those clunky old chairs to new ones matching the proportion of the table, which you apparently didn't listen to..............................
5) Your pictures are proof that the granite is cut properly and not "incorrectly" as you would like people to believe.......................
6) The kitchen you received was exactly what you asked for. You indicated to all our staff that you were satisfied with the result when directly questioned repeatedly throughout the job, until it came time to pay. If anyone reading this would like to see what Brents rendering looks like, feel free to contact me and I will send you a copy that proves it matches what he received..............................
7) It is truly unfortunate that Homestars does not moderate their website. This person is attempting to cause us damage in a thinly veiled attempt to avoid payment, and Homestars has taken a "wild west", go fend for yourself approach to controlling what is said on their website despite the fact that there is much fiction in the content of certain posters.........................Classic Kitchens has won several awards for Outstanding Customer Service, and is Durham Region's leading Kitchen Renovator. We have thousands of very happy customers, and many excellent reviews which are posted on our website www.classickitchens.ca . Come in and meet us first hand and see why for many years, customers have been choosing Classic as their renovator of Choice..

Oct 2014- Brent, I was very clear in my last submission. You received exactly what the contract stated and what you only partially paid for. You, in your reasonable moments, expressed your extreme happiness at how well the job was going, and how happy you were with the outcome to ALL of our employees who will back me up on this, and to myself personally. I do not like your method of "doing business". I think its time you take the money you didn't pay us and go on a vacation to settle down, you won here, you got what you wanted. I do not wish to engage you any further on this, we will forgive the money you owe just to be done with this. Its over.............

Classic Kitchens has won several awards for Outstanding Customer Service, and is Durham Region's leading Kitchen Renovator. We have thousands of very happy customers, and many excellent reviews which are posted on our website www.classickitchens.ca . Come in and meet us first hand and see why for many years, customers have been choosing Classic as their renovator of Choice.......................................................................................

Dear Brent, I have just read your review and in your "nice" moments, you stated that you loved this kitchen and couldn't thank us enough for installing the kitchen of your dreams, thanking our installer, flooring, designers, and me personally........right up until it came time to pay. Despite the amazing kitchen we did for you, we see this as a thinly veiled effort to get a "backend discount"....... Sad........ We became aware this was going to happen right in the beginning when you ranted and raved about getting a free stainless steel hood that was clearly not listed in your contract, yet you persisted in a very unpleasant way. We finally gave in, in an effort to make you stop, and gave you a free hood which you were not entitled to. We do not, and have never included any appliances for any of our customers. We leave this to the appliance retailers....................................................... Your vicious moodswings from nice to extremely nasty is something all of us witnessed and endured throughout your project and the nastiness you displayed on a regular basis resulted in our workers not wanting to return to your home, and consequently, we had to plead with them to complete your work. I and all my employees have been subject to this, and I can easily say that dealing with you took a heroic effort to "stay the course", but amazingly, we did. We endured the verbal abuse, and your crazy mood swings until the bitter end. The last meeting with you was attended by our installer and one of our designers, at which time you told both of them you were extremely happy with the job classic kitchens had done for you in your kitchen,.........and then we received a multi page letter in the mail outlining just how unhappy you were with your new kitchen. I'm pretty sure the people reading this are smart enough to put 2 and 2 together ................................................................................................

Classic Kitchens has been a member of the National Kitchen and Bath Association for many years, and has done thousands of amazing kitchens for happy customers who are extremely pleased with selecting Classic as their kitchen renovator of choice. We are also very proud to have won awards for outstanding customer service as well! .....................................

Come in to our showroom to see our new displays, and come find out first hand why our customers love us so much! Let us show you how we can make your old kitchen into a dream space!

The Adelman Family
The Adelman Family
1 review Scarborough, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

We spent a large amount of time researching what we wanted for our major kitchen renovations, visited different kitchen dealers, and were very happy to have found Classic Kitchens. Chris, our designer was completely top notch from start to finish and we were most impressed with his knowledge and professionalism out of all the prospects we dealt with (trust me, we visited healthy amount of them prior to deciding on Chris and Classic. From start to finish, our job went extremely well and "by the book" as they say. Communication and continuity of the project was first class and our kitchen is now beyond all our expectations. AAA+ marks for Classic Kitchen. We highly recommend them to anyone considering a new kitchen!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Classic Kitchen Designs & Renovations Ltd.

Classic Kitchens & Renovations is Durham's leading kitchen renovation company and prides itself on providing outstanding custom kitchens and bathrooms to Durham Region and GTA homeowners since 2000. Your kitchen is designed and installed with the highest level of care and with the same finely finished result and quality that we would expect for our own homes. Come see our website www.classickitchens.ca and view hundreds of amazing kitchen and bathroom pictures of our finished projects!

Call us today at 905-433-1173 to see how we can transform your kitchen or bathroom into the space you were dreaming of !!

We do complete design, materials and renovations for your kitchen or bathroom project including bearing wall modifications, all under one roof.

CATEGORIES
Kitchen & Bathroom - Cabinets & Design
PRODUCTS
Complete Custom Kitchen and Bath Renovation Services.
SERVICES
Kitchen and Bath complete Renovations, Cabinet Refacing.
SPECIALITIES
We are bearing Wall removal specialists.
WEBSITE
https://www.classickitchens.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2000
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
7
MEMBERSHIPS
NKBA
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.