Is this your business? Receive leads and respond to reviews. Claiming is easy and free. Claim this business

Backyard Oasis

5359 Timberlea Blvd Unit 53 Mississauga ON L4W 4N5
Write a Review
Write a Review
Backyard Oasis
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Review for Backyard Oasis

Average customer rating:
2 10 (1 reviews)

Sort by

Al from West Toronto
Al from West Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

First Review


Replacing an existing deck

Based on an article on a free magazine, we contact this company to replace our existing deck using Trex, a wood/plastic composite. Their salesman came, quoted a price and completion date, and we signed a contract. The beginning of the week in which the deck was to be built, another staff member came. He told us that Trex couldn't be used for much of the job, that the colour we chose was not available, and that the price would be more because of additional labour. We thought about it, and phoned and emailed that the contract was cancelled as they could not complete with the colour choice, the completion date and the price. We received no answer initally, but after numerous calls and emails, the owner agreed he would send the refund. When it didn't come, we phoned and he said he had paid the salesman's commission, and had other expenses on our project (which he couldn't identify) and would not refund the deposit but only apply it to a new quote. At that point, we were forced to turn it over to our lawyers, who were prepared to take him to court. The day after the deadline for a refund passed, we received a phone call that the cheque had been cut, and would be certified and mailed the next day. It arrived four days later.
This company is a division of Woodcastle Construction Ltd. We would never consider doing business with either company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We had numerous supplier problems with this particlular job. Unfortuneately for the client. These supplier issues are out of our control.We gladly refunded the deposit minus job related expenses.
Backyard Oasis has built over 10 000 decks. We recieve approximately 3 workmanship complaints per year that are quickly rectified. I would say that this is a stellar record. The worst complaint that we recieve is that we can't get to the jobs fast enough. This unfortuneately is the downfall of a seasonal business.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

Is this your business?

Receive leads and respond to reviews.
Claiming is easy and free.

Claim this business

More about Backyard Oasis

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Decks pros in Mississauga?