AIM Chimney Sweep & Stove Shop

Chimney Sweeps
8979 Hwy 93 Midland ON L4R 4K4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Chimney Sweeps in Midland  >  AIM Chimney Sweep & Stove Shop
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

73%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for AIM Chimney Sweep & Stove Shop

Average customer rating:
9 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

shodder in
shodder in
1 review Midland, ON
10/10

Vince delivers...and stands by his guarantees

We have a century-old cottage and when the insurance changed hands when we bought it, the insurance company told us that we had to get our gorgeous, old, stately stone hearth WETT certified. Vince said he could do this with a chimney liner....and he guaranteed that this would work. But it didn't. It belched smoke. We gave up. And so Vince came back and installed an insert, and made it work. He stood by his work and he came and fixed it when it didn't. Thanks Vince. Great job!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review.
We pride ourselves in making our best attempts at Client Satisfaction and we are glad that we were allowed to attempt a rectification.
We are happy this project resulted in a working fireplace .

Jennifer Iwata from Pickering
Jennifer Iwata from Pickering
3 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

Chimney Sweep

Very professional team. They were very clean and respected carpeted areas around the fireplace as it was swept. I am more than pleased that when I followed up for a subsequent cleaning, they were able to assess our use over the phone first before simply sending out a cleaning team unnecessarily. I will continue to use AIM going forward!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jennifer.

Midland Home Show
Midland Home Show
2 reviews Midland, ON
10/10

Woodstove install

Family run company, very nice people.
Prices seemed high but once completed, well worth every penny spent

They even took the time to show us how to use the stove best and they fixed a minor problem with the existing brick chimney

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
SJK in Toronto
SJK in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
4/10

Chimney Sweeping 2010

I wasn't particularly impressed. For one, when Vince first arrived (which was on time) I asked about dirt and soot because I had heard stories about horrible messes and was told that was because "those other guys don't know what they're doing". On that basis, I took no steps to seal the rooms off from the rest of the house, cover our good furniture, etc. And my reward was several hours of cleaning a fine layer of black soot off our floors, walls, furniture, windowsills, etc. Our feet were black from walking around before the floors were washed. Second, while he spent quite a bit of time on the cleaning itself and I'm assuming it was thorough, he wrote all three of our chimneys off with a wave of his hand and little convincing explanation, telling us that it would take tens of thousands of dollars to make them usable. I couldn't help but feel like there was a great deal of arrogant exaggeration and that we were being upsold/gouged. On top of that, I sent a follow up email to get more details about what exactly was wrong with our chimneys, and received no reply. Will unfortunately not be calling them again.

UPDATE: Regarding the company's response below, the email response they refer to was received 3.5 months (i.e. two days ago) after my original email. This may have been a technical glitch but we certainly did not receive any follow up to find out why we had not replied. We had no subsequent conversation with Vince after he left our appointment and so could not have raised the soot problem in a conversation that did not occur. I'm not sure what a subsequent conversation would have achieved anyway since it would not change the fact that there was a considerable amount of soot residue that had to be cleaned up immediately and could have been avoided or minimized had an appropriate warning been given and additional precautions taken.

The email response to my inquiry, now that it has been received, was helpful in giving us specifics about what needed to be addressed but was materially different from what Vince told us during the appointment, when he suggested that repairs could cost $20K to $30K per fireplace, leaving us quite panicked.

My original review is factual and reflects our particular experience, which was less than we had hoped for. As I mentioned, we have no reason to believe that the actual cleaning itself was not thorough and well done. I hope this feedback is helpful and may improve someone else's experience in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am sorry if you were not satisfied with our services.

We searched our files for a client with your initials in the 30+ days prior to your post and finally located your file.
Our records show that you did sent an email to us and it was responded to. Vincent had also notated in your file that he did speak to you after our appointment about your chimneys.
At no time did you mention anything about any soot residue left at your home.
In not having received a response to our email messages regarding resolutions, we assumed you did not wish to continue our correspondence.

Our team always strives to make our clients happy but would have appreciated a telephone call outlining your displeasure.

On behalf of AIM Chimney and our entire team, I apologize.

Midland Home Show
Midland Home Show
2 reviews Midland, ON
10/10

woodstove installation went perfect

Have had other people in before and AIM was the only ones who actually made sense. They installed the unit perfectly and they cleaned up after themselves!
Recommend this company

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review Lori.

Since our first client it has been our goal to strive to make our clients happy in what they have chosen for our technicians to do for them. We work with our clients to make sure they get what they need to accomplish their projects.
We are very glad that you are satisfied with your installation and look forward to your next service call

Lori in Maple
Lori in Maple
1 review Toronto, ON

First Review

10/10

Chiminey Cleaning & Inspection

First off they answered all my questions through email. They were very patient and met all my needs. When they came to service my chiminey they were very professional and punctual and remained within budget. They took digital photographs and over all I would recommend this service to friends and family.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for you response Lori.
Our company attempts to always stay within the clients designated budget and will change things up in order to do that for them but still stay with a quality product and service.
Our digital photography helps our office staff process reports and assessments/proposals and acts to help our techs remember a clients job- before and after- With annual pictures, it is our way of keeping ahead of any problems before they elevate and to let the client know how they are doing service call to service call.
We are glad that you are happy with our services.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about AIM Chimney Sweep & Stove Shop

Sales / Installation / Maintenance of hearth appliances & chimney systems. Chimney sweeping, Chimney repair, Tuckpointing, relining, new appliances and chimneys WETT Certified Road and Office Staff
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Chimney Sweeps pros in Midland?