Write A Review Reviews by Tom in East York
A review for Spring Home Heating & Cooling Systems Inc
Had two estimates, one from a very old established company. Spring Home's quote was slightly lower but went with them primarily on the strong reviews in here in HomeStars (and because they are located very close to my workplace in case anything went wrong!). I need not have worried, Cy was both down to earth and professional. I can't say enough good things about him and his technicians. Suffice to say I am very happy with the outcome and definitly recommend them. I will surely use S.H. for repairs and maintenance should the need arise. I also wish to thank HomeStars for this venue that allowed me to find this company.
Hi Tom, Thank you for your review. you are right with the advice. The AC and the furnace(air handler) can only do so much. the distribution system(ducting # of returns/supplies) plus the condition of building envelope are also critical to get the most comfort.
A review for Dial One Professional Duct Cleaning
Just as the reviews said. Our house is a typical East York 2 storey semi with 9 ducts (including bsmt) The owner Joe quoted me over the phone and was very familiar with these type of houses. Another company on Homestars with excellent reviews did not respond to the "Request Quote" I logged online at their website. Josh arrived and explained what he was going to do: tape all the heat registers & cold returns, then blast compressed air down each register to "loosen and push" all the dirt down to the basment. Once completed, down in the basment he cut two large square openings and two small openings for the "air whip" technique and vacuumed it all out. Openings were then closed back up nicely. Professional and business-like, I think Josh did a terrific job. Company was a pleasure to deal with, from the initial phone call through to the service. Easy recommendation, the 10's are legitimate.0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
A review for Bathroom Specialists
I initially found Bathroom Specialists via the Renomark.ca website. After getting several quotes from contractors and narrowing down to just a couple I ultimatly chose to go with Jerry. My decision was partly based on the excellent reviews on Homestars. My own experience is quite at odds with the reviews here so I offer this review not to hurt Jerry but rather provide some balance in hopes it may help others in their choice. Partial list of shortfalls: - Jerry takes way too long to complete, even though I expected this based on some reviews. Basically took nearly 2 months to complete a 2 week job. - He installed the new plumbing BEFORE reinforcing the floor joists. This resulted very ineffective reinforcement, this was a key request of mine in our contract aggreement - After replacing the plumbing supply lines in the basement we now have a "chugging" sound when doing laundry. Jerry tried to muffle it but never solved the source of the problem - After saying he would "straighten" the walls when applying new drywall, a critically visible wall that previously had been straight was made wavy. This in turn made the tiling look poor. Filling out with compound makes for a strange looking corner at the door. Overall his tiling work was a big disapointment to me - Shower water pressure weaker than before reno. There were many other defficiencies but I don't have the time to list them, and that's not even counting the ones I caught and had him correct. One of my main gripes with Jerry is that he is far from being a perfectionist; basically he counts on you to catch his mistakes. In the end our bathroom came out just ok (and only because of cabinets, fixtures etc that my wife and I chose). I cannot recommend Bathroom Specialists. (UPDATED POST) Nov 2010, re: Company Response 1. Regarding 2 months to complete, product delays were non existent so had nothing to do with it. During our renovation he worked on & off, with many half days & skipped days. Jerry clearly had other projects on the go. 2. Floor reinforcing. Because the tub was being relocated, the contract stipulated floor joists at the new location were to be reinforced by bolting in “sister” joists. This was not done. A joist was even cut (for the toilet drain) without adding a replacement. Mostly he simply added cross bracing haphazardly. Even that was done poorly, being restricted as it was because he had the new plumbing already installed. 3. Plumbing chugging noise. Upgrading old ½ pipe with ¾ is standard practice, at no time did Jerry or his plumber warn me not to do it. No water pressure reading was taken before starting the project so he should not state the pressure was the same after the work. We use the bathroom, we know the shower pressure is lower now than it was before. East York will be replacing incoming water lines in our area soon, shower pressure should improve by that. 4. Tiling work was very average. The tiles we requested be replaced were cracked or chipped, they should never have been left up. Why did Jerry not notice them? The wall he tried to straighten, he made worse by his poor workmanship. House age is not the issue, few houses have straight walls. My error was choosing large tiles, large tiles show very poorly on wavy walls. 5. I paid in full with the understanding that Jerry would speak with another plumber to get a second opinion causing the chugging noise. I clearly asked him to do so but I never heard anything back from him. I am glad they have warranty but baring a major failure I will not be getting Bathroom Specialists back. I have no desire to engage in prolonged repairs, much less start pulling out pipes & drywall etc. Finally, regarding payment, I paid when the job was done because it had been going on for so long and I wanted it over. I am sorry that Jerry is using my good faith full payment now to justify his quality.
This project was done in 2008 - This is the first and only time we have had any contact from this Client since we finished the project - it is now 2010 and we are still in business and can be readily contacted. We provide a 5 year written warranty on workmanship completed by ourselves or our sub-contractors and as far as we are concerned our files are still open with this Client until 2013. We wish to address this client's concerns as follows:- 1) Yes this project did take longer than our 2 to 3 week normal - This Client's home is an original home in one of the older districts of Toronto. We have extensive experience renovating these types of homes and each and every one of these houses have had different construction requirements in order to meet current building code requirements. All our projects exceed current building code requirements. This Client's home was no different. We take each project on an individual basis and in this case due to the age of the physical structure of the house time was required. In addition to structural problems with this house special order items (siding) took longer to obtain than anticipated. It is totally out of our control when product is delayed. 2) With respect to reinforcing the floor joists we have reviewed our Signed Contract and we have provided this Client with exactly what we agreed to do - in fact we provided structural support for the new fixtures in excess of the building code requirements. 3) With respect to the plumbing supply lines in the basement and the "chugging" sound. This Client specifically requested and insisted that the following changes in the water supply line be included in the signed contract. The Client requested that a 12 foot long 3/4 inch copper pipe be inserted between two 1/2 inch copper pipes. Their theory was that the water would rush into the 3/4 inch pipe and then flow into the 1/2 inch pipe at the end - the water would be constricted resulting in more water pressure. This work was completed to the Client's specifications by a licenced plumber. There was no change in the house water pressure after the work was completed. We recommended that the only way to increase the house water pressure to their desired level was to contract the City and have a 3/4 inch water supply line installed into the house from the street. We completed and met the requirements of the Client's contract. We recommended that the 3/4 inch pipe be removed and replace with 1/2 inch pipe to eliminate the noise - the water pressure would have been the same prior to our construction. We were prepared to do this at our expense. The Client declined. We spent our time and money to insulate the piping. 4) Tiling - The Client requested a few tiles be changed because they were not perfect - we accommodated his request. As for the wall being crooked & wavy we reinterate that this is an home in one of the older districts of Toronto and with years of settling walls are no longer plumb and it is almost impossible to make this perfect in homes of this age. 5) Our contract price was in the range of $16,000. not $20,000. as stated. The final payment was not due until the Client was satisfied that every last detail was to his satisfaction. No portion of the final payment was held back - This Client paid us in full. Finally - We have over 40 years of home renovation experience. We worked closely with this Client and provided all workmanship agreed to. As you can see from past reviews we work with all our clients and are not satisfied until they are.
A review for YSR Roofing & Construction Inc.
I found YSR through my neighbour's recommendation. Vince came by within a day of me calling and provided an estimate for my flat roof to thoroughly "strip the old roofing down to the wood and replace". This was exactly what I was looking for to correct the poor job done previously by a general contractor 3 years ago. After getting quotes from two other roofers I decided to go with YSR as their price was the same as one and much lower than the other. The job turned out to be more than anticipated with the removal of three layers of tar & gravel plus the layer installed by the last contractor. They removed all and applied requested ice&water shield where the sloped roof meets the flat and installed the new roofing. I'm obviously no roofer but am very pleased with the quality of workmanship performed, very high level. I can't say enough about how good a job they did. Some tar staining was left on my shared driveway (maybe due to the massive amount of material removed) so I cannot give them a perfect 10 but if you're in need of a good roofer Yonge Street Roofing in Scarborough should be given serious consideration.1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
A review for Blue Door Remodelling & Construction
Three years ago I contracted Blue Door Remodeling & Construction to do a major exterior revovation of the upper level of our house: roofing, install siding and replace one old window with thermal. The house is a typical East York late 30's two storey semi. This February the back "flat" roof section developed a major leak while we were away. Water came through causing total damage to the back bedroom ceiling and destroying the hardwood flooring (buckled). I called Blue Door and had to leave a voice messages (always goes to voice mail) without giving my reason for calling. Within 20 minutes I received a call back from Bill, the owner and the same person I dealt with three years ago. I explained the problem and he made a comment like "oh, there's been a lot of that this year due to the weather" To make a long story short since that first phone call Bill has been impossible to reach. Blue Door does not return calls nor has anyone come by to inspect the roof as promised. When a warmer day arrived two weeks ago I borrowed my nieghbour's ladder and went up on the roof myself to try and see what was going on and was appalled by what I saw: 1) The flat roof had been applied directly over the previous tar & gravel roof. 2) One large section was of a completely different material and was falling agpart. My assumption is the roofer must have ran out of material. 3) Flashing around the chimmney and vent stack were horrible. 4) The peremter flashing that is supposed to be applied before installing the roofing was stuck on AFTER. Water now "pools" up there instead of draining away. 5) Where the flat roof meets the sloped roof, the lower several courses of shingles are not sealing. This I believe is the source of the water penetration due to ice damming. I have lived in this house since 1983 and never before had any leaks. My recomendation to anyone considering this company is to find someone else.1 of 1 people found this review helpful.