Write A Review Reviews by Heather in Etobicoke
A review for Elite Mouldings
My husband and I decided to buy a special-order pre-hung bathroom door from Elite Mouldings instead of from the nearby big box store as Elite Mouldings had a slightly better price and a much shorter delivery timeframe (<1 week instead of 3 weeks). As we were without a bathroom door, the shorter delivery timeframe was key. The salesperson that we spoke with on the phone on June 19th, Linda, informed us that they received shipments on Tuesdays and Thursdays, therefore we should have our door by the following Thursday at the latest (“maybe even Tuesday”). We just needed to get her all of the door measurements that day by 5:00 before she went home for the day. So, I left work early to rush home and get all of the door measurements to her so that we could get our order placed. I called her when I had everything and gave her all of the information she needed for the order. She had already taken all of the information (except for a couple of missing measurements) from my husband earlier in the day, so I thought it was a little odd that I was repeating everything, but I figured she just needed it again because she was filling in the official order. I gave her our credit card number, which was charged immediately (no problem with taking our money), and we finalized the order. The following week, we called her on the Thursday to make sure that our door had arrived before we drove all the way up to their showroom. Linda checked and then informed us the order had mistakenly never been placed. She offered us no solution or compensation for this mistake and even told us that she could not even guarantee when we might receive the door if we placed the order that day because the long weekend was coming up and because the supplier had been “screwing up orders lately” (the week before she had told us that the supplier was excellent). She even went so far as to suggest that we cancel the order because she did not want us “yelling” at her if something went wrong. I guess we really should have cancelled the door as Linda was clearly not going to take any responsibility for what had happened or what might happen, but we went ahead and ordered again as even another week’s delay put us ahead of an order from the big box store. When the door arrived, Linda called to let us know and we made plans to go pick it up two days later. Before driving up to the showroom on the arranged pick-up date, my husband called one last time to make sure the door was there and Linda confirmed that she could see in her computer that the shipment had arrived. So, my husband drove up to the showroom and waited 15 minutes to speak with someone; Linda was too busy with another customer and would not see him. When someone finally came to see him, it took another 15 minutes for them to come back and report that the door was not there. Apparently it had arrived, but they had accidentally given it to another customer with some other doors and that customer had our door up in Keswick. Again, no solution was offered to this. My husband asked them what they would do to get us our door and they would/could not offer anything on the spot – no suggestion of a refund, no offer to get the door ASAP; just them asking my husband to try to understand their point of view. I have never heard of such poor customer service. Elite Mouldings made a series of mistakes and all they tried to do was shirk the blame; nobody at the company took responsibility and said “here’s what we can do to make this right”. They had no problem charging the credit card for the door before the order was even placed (which I cannot believe their ordering system allows), but when it came to actually providing service, there was nothing. My husband left Elite Mouldings and I called Linda after he filled me in on what had happened. The phone rang without answer and then automatically transferred me to her cell phone. When she picked up, she, once again, could not offer a solution nor a refund and made a snarky comment about how she did not know how I had reached her on her cell phone and told me to call Daniella. Nice. So I called Daniella who offered immediately to refund my money, but she also said that she had arranged for someone to drive to Keswick that evening and then bring the door straight to our house if we still wanted the door. She promised that we would get the door that evening and that they would deliver it so I agreed to wait. A couple of hours later, we received a call from the man who had driven to Keswick to tell us that the door was actually not even the door that we had ordered. We cancelled on the spot. It has been more than a month since we first ordered the door (and that we have been living without a bathroom door) and if we had just gone with the big box store in the first place, we would have had the door in our house and installed by now. Terrible company, terrible customer service, terrible sales staff. I will NEVER order from them again and I will be sure to tell everyone I know to avoid them at all costs when they are doing renos in their homes. I am giving this review 1 star instead of 0 only because Daniella was much better at customer service than Linda and our money was finally refunded.
Heather, Please accept our deepest apologies to you and your husband for the experience you encountered. Though not something that we, or our clients, have experienced before, it is extremely disappointing. We have launched an investigation into this matter to ensure this never happens again, though we cannot guarantee mistakes will never take place, we can ensure you measures are now in place to avoid these types of situations. The customer service you experienced is astonishing and absolutely uncalled for. There are not enough words to apologize on how you were talked to and made to feel; however, we have taken this up with all involved and not involved to ensure our standard in customer service is met with every client. It is against our entire practice here and will not be tolerated and I can guarantee that you and every client will always be our number one priority and concern. Unfortunately you were not given an opportunity to see how great our product and service really is. Hopefully in future, should you require anything, you do consider giving us another try. We encourage you and your husband to give us another opportunity, to make this right for you, though understand if you will not. If you do decide to use us again, please contact myself directly, or the owner, as we would like to offer you special discounted pricing for the troubles you encountered previously. Once again we apologize for all inconveniences and hardships you experienced with this and we do hope we can some how make it up to you both. As always should you need anything at all please do not hesitate to contact me anytime. Sincerely, Danielle Xavier Elite Trimworks Corp Manager, Administrator