Categories :
Architects Design/Build
Address:
943 Queen Street East, Suite 200 Toronto , ON M4M 1J6
Owner/Manager:
Paul Dowsett - Architect

SUSTAINABLE.TO Architecture + Building

Company Profile

SUSTAINABLE.TO provides sensible, sensitive & sustainable solutions to create or renovate your home or workspace.

After two decades of green architectural practice, I understand the client's challenge: to see clearly through the fog of green technologies, products and philosophies. I began sustainable.TO to provide expert resource and energy-efficient design /build solutions that are realistic achievable and affordable.

SUSTAINABLE.TO
Architecture + Building
Toronto

more...
Servicing:

Toronto, North York, Etobicoke, Scarborough, Mississauga, Halton Hills, Aurora, Peterborough, Richmond Hill

Reviews for SUSTAINABLE.TO Architecture + Building

Show:

Apr 21, 2012, Toronto

8

Thank you to Paul and his team at Sustainable.TO. Our project involved the conversion of a small 3-bedroom semi in The Beaches, to re-invent the existing space and add another 2 bedrooms. This was no small feat, considering challenges posed by a complex roof-line, limited yard space and our primary design goal of minimizing the impacts to the symmetry of the entire building. Sustainable was able to address all of these challenges and design a home that will meet our needs for many years to come. In a neighbourhood where growing families and 3-bedroom semis are the norm, Sustainable's design should serve as a template for future development.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Company Response:
Thanks Craig: We are grateful for the opportunity to rise to the challenges presented by your Beaches semi, and are pleased that you and your family are happy with the results. We hope that you will enjoy your 'new' home for many years to come ! Paul

Mar 19, 2012, Toronto

8

After interviewing several architects Sustainable.TO proved to best understand the needs and requirements of our historical home renovation. We supplied Sustainable basic design ideas, pictures, and overall goals. Within a few short meetings architectural concepts formed. To our pleasure the designs were quickly finalized and Sustainable took care of the rest - they handled all the permit applications, coordinated with construction contractors, all the while keeping the project moving forward. My wife and I were very pleased with Paul and his team and would recommend Sustainable.TO to anyone looking for quality design and attention to details for their architectural project.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$350,000.00
Company Response:
Hi Patrick: Thank you for your review. SUSTAINABLE.TO was glad to rise to the challenges presented by your unique home, maintaining its historical character while providing for 21st century energy-efficiency. We are happy that you and your family are pleased with your historical home renovation and hope that you will enjoy the results for many years to come. Best Regards, [email protected]

Feb 22, 2012, SCARBOROUGH

10

Paul and his team were our leads on renovating our 1950's George Boake designed home, which had replaced a century farmhouse on the same property. Right from the get go, Paul's enthusiasm for the use of the old in the creation of the new was contagious. Alex from Sustainable had several ideas regarding wall removal and installation of exterior huge bifold doors that totally transformed the place. The more mundane but necessary heating changes, electrical options, crazy difficult insulation and roofing problems etc were met with professional direction. When we ran into challenges with contractors and other trades, Sustainable was always there to help. We are delighted with the end result.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Company Response:
Dear Janet: Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to have been able to assist you with providing the next 50 years of life for your spectacular home. My enthusiasm for this project, while strong, paled when put next to your own. Most problems became opportunities and we are so happy that you are delighted with the results. Enjoy !! [email protected]

Feb 21, 2012, Etobicoke

10

We were very happy with the architectural services Paul and Donald provided us with. These two gentlemen had excellent communication skills, they were reliable, they met our time deadlines, they were very pleasant to deal with and they genuinely cared about our renovation being a success. These two architects were knowledgeable, experienced, innovative, creative and more than capable of solving all of the challenges we presented them with. We are thrilled with the final product and we are relieved that sustainable was able to include all the details we asked for and meet our budget requests at the same time. We have had a number of people comment on how nice the design is and and on how well our new house fits in with the other homes in the neighbourhood. Paul and Donald have a remarkable talent which allows them to give houses a 'wow factor' by way of roof lines, windows and a charmful curb appeal. Thanks very much Paul and Donald. Jamie and Lisa

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$12,000.00
Company Response:
Dear Jamie and Lisa: Thank you so much for your glowing review. It has been an absolute pleasure working with you and seeing your 'new' home take shape. We hope that you enjoy your home for many years to come. Best Regards, Paul, Donald & the rest of the sustainable.TO crew !!

Jan 29, 2012, Toronto

10

‘Sustainable’ characterizes the relationship that architect Paul Dowsett and his team develop with their clients. To this Client's delight, they adopt responsibility for a project from concept through execution, working effectively with the contractor and trades, sourcing specialized expertise where required, and co-ordinating those picky ‘missing pieces’ that make the difference between ‘good’ and ‘amazing’. Paul makes sure you get what you’re looking for. His creative approach marries design with function and execution, a surprisingly rare attribute among his peers. Beyond that, Paul and his team are simply a real pleasure to work with. They are professional and down-to-earth, and they bring thoughtful, solution-oriented confidence to what can sometimes be a challenging experience for a home-owner doing renovations. Maura Lendon President, Aurah Advisory Services Inc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Company Response:
Dear Maura: We are delighted to see you settling into your renovated home. The beauty, care, quality and craftsmanship that have been realized are all signs of your unerringly good taste. It was our pleasure to work with you and your contractor throughout the process. We hope that you enjoy your 'new' home for many years to come. Paul

Jan 22, 2012, North York

10

We had a small, energy-inefficient room that was falling off our 1930s North Toronto home. Our son, Donald, works as an architectural technologist with Paul Dowsett, and we decided to give Paul - and thus our son - the chance to come up a design for a light-filled, energy-efficient larger room. Right from the beginning, we were extremely impressed with Paul's professionalism and friendliness, and this continued throughout the entire job. Every workman who crossed our doorstep was pleasant ,hard-working, and respectful. We have ended up with a really lovely room completed in the short space of time it was promised. We couldn't possibly be happier, and our son Donald has put his stamp on the childhhod home in which he grew up!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$8,300.00
Company Response:
Dear Ruth: We are so pleased that you are happy with the result and that the process was minimally disruptive to your ongoing enjoyment of your home. Thank you so much for the referral. Paul

Nov 24, 2011, Toronto

9

The challenge we presented to sustainable.to was to create space for a larger kitchen, increase the natural light in our north facing bungalow, and add a master suite above an existing addition. Sustainable challenged us to think bigger - since we were already going up, why not create a whole new second floor and double our space? That's what we did - and sustainable listened to our feedback, and made all the necessary revisions to the plans until it was right. In the end, we have our dream house - a place we want to live in for the rest of our lives.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Company Response:
Dear Lynn & Graham: We are so pleased that we were able to help you to create your dream home from your original bungalow. It was truly a team effort, which we thoroughly enjoyed on our end. Thank you ! Paul

Sep 23, 2011, East York

7

Doing a major renovation and hired sustainable.TO to do our architecture drawings. We expected more creative ideas from the architect but we haven't done this before so perhaps that was wishful thinking. Costs were generally in line with the estimate and competitors quotes, although we did have to keep an eye on the invoices to validate them. All in all the people assigned to our project were quite knowledgeable and very well versed with the current and proposed future bylaws. Generally quite satisfied with work, but would need more to rate them as 5 stars.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Company Response:
Dear Laura: Thank you for your candid feedback. This is how we improve our services. As the construction is underway now, we are looking forward to seeing the finished project, and hope that it will be all that you hoped for ... and more. Best Regards, Paul

Feb 15, 2011, Toronto

10

In the fall of 2009 we hired Paul and his team to turn the cramped cellar of our 1922 home into usable space. We also installed new heating and hot water systems. Paul was very creative in finding ways to get the most from the limited space. He listened to what we wanted and found ways to fit it all into the fairly limited space. He was insistent when he needed to be and as a result we have spaces we love and that work for us. His whole team was very professional. Special thanks are due to John Andrews who oversaw the whole project and was terrific to work with. In fact, it was such a positive experience we are now beginning to think about how to redesign the second floor of our house and we will be hiring sustainable.to for that work as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$120,000.00
Company Response:
Thanks Anne !! The pleasure was all ours ! We do love a challenge. Basements are like three-dimensional Tetris ... you've got limited space to fit in all sorts of components. Good thing that we love Tetris !! Looking forward to the second floor challenges ... and opportunities ! Paul

Dec 09, 2010, Toronto

10

We were faced with a major challenge in constructing the house of our dreams amidst four walls of an old triplex in The Beach. Sustainable worked with us in coming up with just the right design, that helped maintain the character of the home -- but give us the modern, open feel we craved. We could not be happier with the result.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Company Response:
Thanks Brad & Julie: It was our pleasure working with you and the rest of the team. We hope that you and your family are happy in your new home for many years to come !! All the best, Paul

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of Home Stars Directory Inc.

Company Profile

SUSTAINABLE.TO provides sensible, sensitive & sustainable solutions to create or renovate your home or workspace.

After two decades of green architectural practice, I understand the client's challenge: to see clearly through the fog of green technologies, products and philosophies. I began sustainable.TO to provide expert resource and energy-efficient design /build solutions that are realistic achievable and affordable.

SUSTAINABLE.TO
Architecture + Building
Toronto

Products & Services

Services
sustainable architecture, consultation and construction management
Specialties
renovation/addition, new construction, residential, commercial buildings, institutional buildings, off-grid, grid-connected, heritage preservation, adaptive re-use, retrofit design, tenant improvement

Credentials & Financial Information

PAYMENT METHOD
cheque
LICENSES
OAA
MEMBERSHIPS
MRAIC, LEED AP, CanPHI Passive House Planner
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
B.E.S., B.Arch.
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
as required
WRITTEN CONTRACT PROVIDED
Yes

In this week's newsletter: Best of season is in full swing!