Category :
Builders
Address:
1005 - 11 Avenue SW Calgary , AB T2R 0G1
Owner/Manager:
Trico Homes Inquiries
Hours:
8am - 5pm Monday - Friday

Trico Homes Inc

Company Profile

Since 1992, Trico Homes has built new single and multi-family homes, offering a great selection of starter, move-up and semi-estate models in Calgary, Okotoks, Cochrane and Airdrie. Whether you're looking for a quick possession home or something more personalized, you'll find the house that's just right for you!

Over the past 22 years, Trico Homes has established an enviable reputation and is recognized as one of Calgary's top residential builders. With a history of integrity and community...

more...
Servicing:

Calgary and Surrounding Areas (Airdrie, Cochrane and Okotoks)

Reviews for Trico Homes Inc

Show:

Apr 22, 2014, Calgary

10

Can't say enough about how great the experience was. Right from the start with Jennifer and Sam at the show homes in Mahogany to Clayton servicing our needs after possession of the home and everything in between has been seamless and effortless. I'm currently looking for another home and Trico will be the first builder I'll go to. Possibly the only builder I'll consider. I'd definitely recommend Trico to all my friends and family.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$604,000.00
Company Response:
Hi Alvin Thank you for posting this review! We are thrilled to hear that Trico would be your builder of choice if you choose to build another home! Thank you for recommending Trico Homes to your friends and family! Please do not hestitate to contact us at anytime if you have questions or concerns regarding your home! Nicole Walker Customer Relations Manager

Apr 21, 2014, Calgary

10

We bought our first home from Trico and have been very impressed so far with the quality of workmanship we have received. The sales team, Erin and Carmen have been wonderful to work with, full of knowledge and always ready to help. The house has had a few minor issues, we have our 100 day inspection coming up soon so hopefully it will al be addressed and fixed in a timely manner. So far so good but I will reserve final judgement until all our issues have been resolved. At this point, I'd have no issue recommending Trico to others.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$350,000.00
Company Response:
Good Morning Michael Thank you so much for this review! The community of Legacy is such a beautiful community and the developer has done a great job to ensure it is a wonderful place to live. We are so happy to hear that your experience was so positive with the sales team! The warranty team looks forward to meeting you at the 100 day visit. Your service representatives are Doug Grant and Yasmina Rodsely. Please do not hestiate to contact us at anytime and we look forward to meeting you and your family! Nicole Walker Customer Relations Manager

Apr 19, 2014, Calgary

3

We bought our first home through Trico. Yes they have beautiful layouts and show homes show great quality, but your product will never be built to that standard. I feel like I'm constantly dealing with issues. When I moved in my stairs was missing hardwood due to the flood they had no product. Fine that's understandable, when it finally arrived it was not even the same product totally different color. My husband & I battled that one for the longest time. They told us every home with hardwood the stairs looked like this. My husband went to the showhome, of course it didn't look like what we had two different colors of hardwood. After 4 months of different people coming in and out to look, and saying "I'll look into it". Finally we had it fixed, that was seriously a painful process and stressful. Taking off work constantly just for people to "look" at it. I had a leak in a ceiling fan, that took me being persistent for them willing to send a tech. A warranty tech from trico confirmed my hose in the exhaust fan was kinked, so the humidity was running back down causing red drippings all over my floor. After they fixed the hose I haven't had any leaking. But I still had some staff from head office that never leave their desk to see what the problem is, try telling us it was our issue because we had a humidity problem. Same reason why they didn't think it was necessary to send a tech in the first place. Just a bit of advice; If you don't feel right about it, be persistent this is your home that you have to live in. Your entitled to your warranty, so use it! I'm in the process of developing my basement now, and I realized I have a leaking problem all around my basement there is wet concrete. Seriously I am just wondering is it my luck that my house has so many problems? Now I have to wait for trico to fix this issue before I can do my flooring. Don't get me wrong some of the trico staff is very helpful and nice. But they need a better standard in the contractors they hire, some of the work is absolute garbage and I can't believe it can be accepted.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$400,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Double check their contractors work, as they represent Trico homes reputation with the standard of work they perform.
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
I would suggest buying a quick possession home. They need to be built to a standard to be sold. You will get what you see in there. Don't build from new, or buy a quick possession before it's built.
Company Response:
Dear Billie Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear about your challenges and will speak to the warranty department today and discuss how we can move forward. You are definitely entitled to your warranty and Trico is committed to working with you and honoring that warranty. I will pull your file and be in contact with you this week. Thank you for your patience. Nicole Walker Customer Relations Manager

Apr 15, 2014, Calgary

10

My wife & I sold our Douglasdale Estates family home, rightsizing into Trico's Berkley model in Cranston SE. We purchased the house in July 2013 with pocession date March 13/14. Entire process was relatively painless and received plenty of help from the both Chalsey and Sharon, our Sales Managers. We actually had (3) sales managers & kudos to Sharon for taking on the file handling all questions and changes quickly & efficiently. Even with the great winter, our home was delivered as promised on March 13/14. Walkthrough went very well with only minor items noted and corrected. The built in cantiever width was short by 1 inch and Trico worked to correct the problem in a quick positive manner to accomodate our buffet and hutch. (it now fits) I would certainly recommend Trico Homes and sales managers Chalsey and Sharon to work with you, to build your new home

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$543,000.00
Company Response:
Hi Robert Thank so much for your review! Sharon & Chalsey will be thrilled to hear how happy you are! They work hard to ensure our customers receive exceptional customer service. It is so great to hear that we were able to exceed your expectation even when there was a construction challenge with the cantilever! Thank you for your recommendation to other potential buyers who may choose to build a Trico Homes! Please do not hesitate to contact the warranty department at any time if you have question or concerns regarding your home! Nicole Walker Customer Relations Manager

Apr 09, 2014, Foothill Ranch

9

We went to quite a few different showhomes and comunities looking for a home. When we walked into the Trico showhome at Mahogany Jen made the difference when she took the time to ask what was important for us in our future home. Something that nobody else had done up to that point. She went over the floor plans that she thought had what we were looking for and we found the one we loved. Everybody working for Trico were extremely helpful and committed to making sure we were happy and satisfied trough the whole process. Even after moving in the sales rep that took over Jen, (chalsea) went out of her way helping us find a few things we needed for the new house. The only complain I have is with the Home Theatre company. Trico works with showcase to run your speakers and home theater wiring and this was a huge disappointment. To make a long story short I had to to go into the crawl space (which is very hard to do given the design of my house) and locate the wiring for the ceiling speakers myself after I had to pay showcase to tell me where the wiring was located. (yes I had to pay them to tell me where the wiring was for the wires I paid them to run). I had to do this myself because this is what they recommended after I cut the ceiling where I was indicated by them, only to run onto a ceiling beam. It was very difficult for me to get a hold of the guy in charge of the wiring in my house, he only replied after I left a msg saying i will be there next morning to talk to him in person. They did patch my ceiling and installed the speaker but only after I told them that's what they had to do given that they gave me the wrong location for the speaker which I had to pay for! This was not the only issue I had with showcase but it was the biggest one, and every time It was very difficult for me to even get someone on the phone. I basically wasted my money paying them for the locations of the wiring, because they were not accurate and the end I had to go find the locations myself. Other than that dealing with Showcase, Trico has been great to us, the sales Team (chalsea and Sylvia), Clayton going out of his way touching up scratches and nicks that we did ourselves moving in, and the warranty team making sure we are happy. We love our new house, we made the right decision choosing Trico, and we love the service they have provided! Thank you Trico!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$580,000.00
Company Response:
Hi Ricardo Thanks so much for this review! Mahogany is a beautiful community! We are so happy to hear the staff at Trico Homes was extremely helpful and commited to making sure you were happy and satisfied throughout the whole process. I am sorry to hear about your experience with the Home Theatre company. I have been in touch with the owner and brought your concerns to his attention. I will follow this up further and ask that he contact you. We are so sorry you had this experience and will work with them to ensure this does not happen in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact myself or the warranty department at anytime if you have questions or concerns regarding you home. Nicole Walker Customer Relations Manager

Apr 07, 2014

10

My wife and I were looking to buy our first home. Upon visiting and reviewing a number of home builders in the south, Trico homes stood out. As soon as we walked in, the sales team and their very friendly demeanor welcomed us into the show home. Apart from a very impressive presentation of decor and use of lighting and the space, we favored Trico's layout over the rest. Both Erin and Carmen, the sales team, guided us during the entire process on our first home by reassuring us, went above and beyond our requests of our home, and provided us with security by exemplifying such professionalism and in-depth knowledge of the home-building process. They both were very informative, accommodating, and pleasant to work with. We bought a 'spec home' but were still able to make a few changes to the home. We were allowed visits to our home any time as long as we were accompanied by one of the sales staff. And we were sent, via email, photo updates of our home every time there was a new change to the house. We appreciated this very much and highly anticipated these updates since we lived on the opposite side of the city and could only visit every so often. Right up to the final walkthrough, the transition and process continued to be smooth. The home inspector, at the end, doing the walkthrough with us was a third-party affiliate. He worked with us in "trying" to identify any issues with the home prior to us moving in so the trades-people can fix it. But he was impressed to see not any major issues only a few touch-ups on the house. Overall, my wife and I are extremely pleased with it being our first home. Thank you Erin, Carmen and Trico on a job well done and for making this decision as smooth and stress-free as possible!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$350,000.00

Mar 31, 2014, Cochrane

9

I was very happy with the experience of purchasing a new home from Trico. The sales team in Riviera was excellent and did a great job with getting me setup in the right house. The trades were great as well, and the warranty staff have quickly worked through the few small issues that you'll find in any new home. I would definitely recommend Trico to any prospective buyer.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$1.00
Company Response:
Hi Jared We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Thank you for your kind words. The Riviera team will be thrilled to read! Please do not hesitate to contact our warranty department if you have questions or concerns regarding your home! Have a great day! Nicole Walker Customer Relations Manager

Mar 27, 2014, Calgary

1

We build our first new home with TriCo and from that start there were issues with sales, paperwork errors and misinformation. The sales team did there "best" to resolve the errors and promised there would be no more issues. We have been in our home for 6 months and Trico refuses to assist with numerous issues with the warranty of the our home. Our cabinets are crooked and un- level wall and flooring gaps that we acknowledged from our initial walk through that we have been told are not covered and are considered by their "expertise" to be cosmetic. The MAJOR issue that Trico has …..Closed… and thats our hot water tank. The first night ever we spent in our new home my wife sat in our bath tub only to be shocked that the tub would only get halfway filled and the hot water would run out. The following day we went into the tub together and tried to enjoy a bath and same thing now with two adults in the tub you would think that there would be a sufficient amount of hot water? Well think agin, two bodies in the tub and still the hot water ran out before the tub was full. We communicated the issue to Trico and they inspected the hot water tank, no issues with the tank discovered. The plumbing company gave a simple diagnosis the tank is too small. Now let me relay that the ensuit tub is a STANDARD layout. We did not upgrade the size of our tub. Its a Trico standard spec tub size. Between months numerous emails and three more hot water tank inspections Trico has "closed the issue".What does that mean? We are just saposed to live in our home, without a significant source of hot water? I am 31 years old and my wife is 27 and 14 weeks pregnant with our first child. This home was the kickstart to our exciting future. The failures, apathy and candour of Trico are un-nerving. I am sure there are lots of couples like you out there that are considering Trico for your future, please don't. To this day my 14 week pregnant wife can not enjoy a bath. It hurts. Trico pains us every email we get. I can only say again do not choose Trico.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$500,000.00
Company Response:
Hi Shaun I will look into this matter and discuss further with our warranty department. The hot water tank that you have installed in your home is the standard size hot water tank installed in all our homes unless a customer asked for an upgrade or a second tank. Rarely do we get negative feedback regarding the tub and hot water. There are many factors that can affect the amount of hot water supply such as showering, washing dishes or doing laundry. If the hot water tank is depleted of water then the tub will not fill to a standard height. With that said; I understand your concerns and will look into this matter further. Sincerely, Nicole Walker Customer Relations Manager

Mar 20, 2014, Calgary

10

I would like to thank entire Trico team for the house they built for us, we got the house that we were looking for. All products, services, management are awsome. Thanks for the wonderful home 178 Nolan hill dr :)

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$460.00
Company Response:
What a great way to end our Friday! Thank you so much for this post! The Nolan team will be thrilled to hear how happy you are! Please call our warranty department at anytime or stop by the showhome! Enjoy your weekend! Nicole Walker Customer Relations Manager

Mar 19, 2014

10

March 19,2014 Brooks Our home was a spec home, so we had no input on the actual design & upgrades, we loved our home from the first time we seen it. We were very satisfied with how we were treated. Neil Donnelly, the area sales manager for Trico Homes in Cimarron, Okotoks was a pleasure to work with. Neil was very patient, knowledgeable and accommodating while he helped us through the whole house purchasing procedure. Anytime we had a question, he was more than willing to help us. Our walk through was done in a very friendly & professional manner. Khurram at Coast Wholesale Appliances was very knowledgeable & friendly to work with. To summarize our experience with Trico Homes; if you want a company that is competent, reliable & stands by their word, then Trico Homes is the builder for you.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$440,000.00
Company Response:
Hello Mr. & Mrs. Brooks Thank you so much for this post! Cimarron is a lovely community. Neil has done a great job of selling this community and our product/services. Possession day is very important time and we want to ensure your walkthrough experience is done well! It is nice to hear it was very friendly and professional. Coast will be so pleased to hear about your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact our warranty department at anytime if you have questions or concerns regarding your home. Sincerely, Nicole Walker Customer Relations Manger

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of Home Stars Directory Inc.

Company Profile

Since 1992, Trico Homes has built new single and multi-family homes, offering a great selection of starter, move-up and semi-estate models in Calgary, Okotoks, Cochrane and Airdrie. Whether you're looking for a quick possession home or something more personalized, you'll find the house that's just right for you!

Over the past 22 years, Trico Homes has established an enviable reputation and is recognized as one of Calgary's top residential builders. With a history of integrity and community support, we're proud to have built a legacy of over 8,000 single and multi-family homes.

New Home Builder, New Homes, Condos, Townhomes,
Single-Family Homes, Multi-Family Homes, Apartments, New Condo Projects, New Condo Development, New Communities.

North West Communities
Beacon Heights
Evanston
Nolan Hill
Sage Hill
Viridian

North East Communities
Redstone

South West Communities
Coach Ridge

South East Communities
Cranston
Cranston - Manor Lane
Legacy
Mahogany

Out of Town Communities
Cimarron, Okotoks
Cooper's Crossing, Airdrie
Heritage Hills, Cochrane
Riversong, Cochrane
Riviera, Cochrane
Hillcrest, Airdrie

Products & Services

Products
Single and Multi-Family Homes
Services
Homebuilder
Brands
Trico Homes

Credentials & Financial Information

YEAR ESTABLISHED
1992
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
110
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT PROVIDED
Yes

In this week's newsletter: Best of season is in full swing!