Category :
Landscape Contractors & Designers
Address:
12 Chesterfield Road Brampton , ON L6W1K9
Owner/Manager:
Donald Kirkpatrick

Gardens Of Distinction By Kirkpatrick

Company Profile Gardens of Distinction is a family owned company operating for the past twelve years in the Greater Toronto Area. We are a landscape design/ build company that works with the clients in developing their own Garden of Distinction. Top Landscape Contractors & Designers in the GTA and Beyond. Proficient in ...

You Might Also Consider

Markham Landscaping Nurseries Ltd

MLN_logo.JPG

In Sept/13, Markham's ByLaw Dept gave us a punitive deadline Order for a pool fill in. Disappointed for various reasons...

jc from Markham 1 Nov 25, 2013

Reviews for Gardens Of Distinction By Kirkpatrick

Show:

Dec 09, 2012, Scarborough

8

We contracted Gardens of Distinction based on their design, price and a recommendation from a friend. They deliver exactly what we wanted. The work involved a complete re-grading of the backyard with retaining walls (armour rocks and timber wall)and stone steps. Next spring, We will finally start enjoying a nice and functional backyard for years to come

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
Company Response:
Thank you for the giving me the opportunity to work with you and I do hope that you enjoy your backyard for years to come. If there are any issues, please don't hesitate to contact us. Thanks.
This review has been removed by the author.
ken and Ann in Mississauga Aug 08, 2012
Why am I seeing this?

Jan 02, 2012, Mississauga

10

I will recommend Don and Harold to everyone I know!!! They are awesome hard working people. Don is a perfectionist.. They re-did our whole entire front entrance and interlocking connecting to garage and driveway. It was a detailed job. They even re-used our old plants and re-planted them. They gave us much more than what we expected. Very detail. They worked when it was raining and even snowing to try to finish the job before snow storm. We appreciate what they did for our house. It was perfect. Thank you!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$12,000.00
Company Response:
It was a pleasure working for you and thanks for the hospitality, it was greatly appreciated. If there is anything else you would like to have done, please don't hesitate to call us. Thanks.

Oct 05, 2011, Mississauga

Review has Multiple Versions 1
8

We contracted Gardens of Distinction based on their design, price and a recommendation from a friend. They deliver exactly what we wanted. The work involved a complete re-grading of the backyard with retaining walls (armour rocks and timber wall)and stone steps. Next spring, We will finally start enjoying a nice and functional backyard for years to come. See pictures Rene and Basia (Mississauga)

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Company Response:
I am glad that you liked the final outcome, want to apologize for the length of time that it took, but I have never seen so much rain in one season, made the job interesting. If there is anything else that I can do for you, please don't hesitate to contact me. Thanks.

Jul 07, 2011, BRAMPTON

Review has Multiple Versions 1
8

We hired Don to prep the site for a Hydropool swimspa installation. This included digging a hole as the pool would be installed half in-ground, pouring a concrete pad, installing a retaining wall to form a crib for the pool, installing stone facing around the pool, installating stone patio and walkways as well as final landscaping (garden beds, trees). Although hampered by the weather and heavy rains (which I fully understand), he was delayed but got the work done. We were very happy with the look of the finished product ... it came out better than we expected as we love the Stone-link product that Don recommended. The only problem we had was that the depth of the hole was slightly miscalculated so the stone surround does not come up to the edge of the pool as we had originally discussed. He had to improvise with wood skirting which we are not really happy with. Don has offered to change the skirting to a stone coping so we are discussing that with him now. Other than that, everything has held up well except for some settling of the stonework around the pool. Although it took a long time, Don was out to fix everything up and it looks as good as new now.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$30,000.00
Company Response:
Steve, I am glad that you are happy with the project, and now that we have replaced the wood skirting with stone, the hot tub looks better than ever. If there is anything else that I can do for you, please let me know. Thanks again, Don.

Mar 05, 2011, Brampton

10

All I can say is Wow! Laura and I cannot thank you enough for the great job you and your team did on the Landscaping of our home. When it all started we had some vague ideas of what we wanted done around the yard, but relied on your experience and advice to really pull the project together. Although we originally thought we wanted a straightforward interlock driveway with some rockery bordering, we could never imagine the work of art that we ended up with. The driveway turned into a drive and courtyard with a beautiful curving inlaid arch design cutting in and out of the rock gardens. The flat rocky steps leading from the driveway up into the garden adds that perfect extra touch. You are a master at blending rock into many of your landscape ideas. From the rock steps cutting into our hill and leading up from the pool, to the second driveway at the side of our home built of heavy fieldstone. The driveway blends in so well that it’s often mistaken for a walkway or rest area. The English cobblestone style interlock walk way leading up to our front porch adds an element of elegance, while looking as though its always been part of the landscape. Laura and I found your team very courteous, patient and most importantly professional. I was very impressed with all the specialized vehicles and equipment that your company had available to do all the heavy work. I highly recommend Gardens of Distinction to anyone who is looking for quality and professional landscaping work.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Company Response:
Thanks Barry, I am glad that you and Laura are happy with the work.

Mar 03, 2011, Oakville

9

When we moved to Oakville and needed to rework our entire front yard we didn't hesitate to call Don. This is the second home that Gardens of Distinction has done for us. Both required new layouts of our entire front yard. Each house was done differently due to the slope and design of the house. The work was done on time on budget and when completed was better than expected. We have referred Don to a number of people who have also used his company and been very satisfied. Call me if you have any questions 905-815-9473

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$7,500.00
Company Response:
Thanks for he review, as always it is a pleasure doing work for you, if you need anything else, don't hesitate to call.

Jul 08, 2010, Etobicoke

Review has Multiple Versions 2
7

This was a very large project with many time delays ( some were weather related but not all) and warranty issues. In the end the project turned out very well. Yes , he has some very good ideas and he will complete the work. Follow up for warranty work requires improvement. We are happy that they are back to complete the warranty work this week.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$60,000.00
Company Response:
To, D. Just want to let you know, I will be taking care of ALL the warranty issues this spring, which is a few plants that died, and the cover to the access area for the hot tub, anything else, let me know. I will agree with you, the project was delayed and you are right, I should have been there more to supervise, but the weather that year really hampered us, but that is no excuse. Based on that experience, I have changed the way the company operates, I run with only one crew, only one job at a time, with me supervising, learned from my mistakes. I think that you will agree with me, the overall project looked great when we finished and still looks great to this day, and as I said, I will make amends this spring regarding the warranty work. All the best, Don.

Mar 24, 2010, Brampton

10

First hired Gardens of Distinction, Don Kirkpatrick, to cover our front porch and redo the existing stairs in the summer of 2008. Don came up with the idea of changing the stairs, removing them from the side of the porch and placing them at the front. This was an excellent idea as it accentuated our 'new' front door and we were also able to add in a front pathway to complement the new porch and door. Last spring, when we were thinking of putting in a fence and a new patio, we didn't hesitate and called Don right away. The fence Don built is incredible, built with 6x6 posts, a gate to the park and a lovely double gate at the side of the house, with an arbour on top. The patio at the side of the house was built wth the same material as the front porch and looks great, Don even put in a pathway from the patio to the sidewalk. We will be doing more work this spring, finishing the stonework in the rest of the backyard. I would highly recommend Gardens of Distinction, Don Kirkpatrick, to anyone doing landscaping, hard to find someone who cares as much about their work as Don does. Carmen.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
Company Response:
Carmen, Thanks for the review, hope you continue to enjoy your landscape for many years. Thanks, Don.
This entry did not meet HomeStars review criteria.
digruntled Mar 10, 2010
Why am I seeing this?

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of Home Stars Directory Inc.

In this week's newsletter: Best of season is in full swing!