Category :
Basement Renovation
Address:
2-395 Harry Walker Parkway North Newmarket , ON L3Y7B3
Owner/Manager:
Dino Napolitano
Hours:
Mon-Sat

Kayland Construction Concepts

Company Profile We are a Full service Renovation & New Build construction company, which specializes in complete home renovations, Design Build projects, Kitchens & Bathrooms, Home offices, Professionally Finished Basements, Legal basement & separate dwellings, Home Additions & top ups.

You Might Also Consider

Palmeri Construction

 

We were happy to welcome back Gabe and Joe for our second project with them. With a baby on the way and starting to...

Gord M in Toronto 5 May 10, 2013

Reviews for Kayland Construction Concepts

Show:

Nov 21, 2012, Scarborough

10

Dino has an exceptional team of tradesmen that he has worked with for years and their professionalism, courtesy, and expertise really shows on our home renovation project both behind the walls and in the finished product of what you see. The first time we met Dino we got a really good impression from him and appreciated his knowledge, expertise and advice. We had him and his team brought on board to repaint the entire house, renovate our master bathroom (incl. a new shower room with body jets), completely gut and renovate our kid's bathroom, upgrade two old brick fireplaces and designing/installing a wall unit in the family room, upgrade the backsplash in the kitchen, convert a basement bedroom into a home theatre, convert a basement laundry room into a bathroom, convert our furnace room into a storage/furnace room, remove an old bathroom in the basement, completely remove and rebuild the ceiling in the main basement area and relocate the main water meter and shutoff in the basement. The flooring was originally included within their scope however, we wound up going with an independent flooring guy. Likewise, the flooring guy did an exceptional job and worked so well with Dino and his crew that my understanding is that he is now 'Dino's' flooring guy. Suffice to say, this was a big and complex job and my wife and I both being of a technical background would not have trusted anyone else unless they could have boasted a similar team of experts which I am sure is very hard to find. The project took a little longer than we had expected however, unlike the other reviewer, our delay was more due to the wait associated with the custom cabinetry and vanity rather than the availability of his tradesmen. The project started in February of this year and was essentially completed by June-July. Just a few key highlights of the project: The Master Ensuite - Whereas we had originally considered a complete gut and renovate of the bathroom, Dino helped us to work out the details of our plan to minimize the amount of things we had to change and yet still give the room an overall facelift of a more modern bathroom, Kids Shared Bathroom - He replaced the vanity to a double sink and recommended Asia Marble (another very professional outfit that I would recommend to anyone) to provide the countertop; kids love the new double sink and use it everyday, The Basement Theatre - affectionately called the "Man Cave", need I say more! This was actually a fairly complex mini-project in itself as it involved breaking up the concrete floor to relocate the main water shut-off and building some custom shelving for the entertainment unit, Re-facing the fireplace in the basement - Dino and his guys came up with an inexpensive way of re-facing the fireplace and giving it a really fresh new look rather than replacing the whole thing. I should also note that the basement was finished before by a previous owner whereby the plumbing and electrical workmanship was a nightmare. We felt a lot more at ease when Dino and his plumber and electrician fixed the code violations and a few blatant safety issues. Of course, the electrical workmanship was inspected and all things were done to code. In finishing, I recommend Dino and his crew to anyone who appreciates what goes on behind the walls as well as the attractive finish.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$60,000.00

Nov 09, 2012, THORNHILL

10

We interviewed several contractors for our basement renovation and found Dino from Kayland to be the most professional and the best communicator - throughout the project he responded to any questions quickly and clearly, and he stayed on time and on budget - a great accomplishment! He was able to translate our needs (e.g. warm, comfortable play area) into design (HVAC location, insulated floors, etc.) and was able to work with, and improve on, our original design ideas. The tradespersons he works with all went beyond expectations to ensure the construction and appearance of our new basement was exceptionally good. His attention to detail and commitment to quality are fantastic and we will definitely call him again for future projects.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$50,000.00

Jun 17, 2012, Richmond Hill

10

Dino and his team took over a project I had started to completely finish our basement (~1200 sq ft), when I realized I had neither the time or the expertise for parts of the work. The space included a games/eating area, full bar, dance room, family room, full bath with glass shower, electrical/work room, under stairs storage and finished furnace/storage room. They completed framing, leveled a very uneven floor, did the plumbing, electrical and lighting including upgrading our electrical service to 200 amps, drywall, tile and hardwood flooring, refinished stairs in maple, doors, and finish trim and paint. Dino and his subs were great to work with. They were polite, friendly and always had great suggestions when we ran into complexities we didn't expect. Dino himself is fantastic to work with and there were no shocks from unexpected extras when the project was finished. The finished product surpassed our expectations. Barb and I wouldn't hesitate to hire Dino again and have already recommended him to friends.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$35,000.00

Jun 09, 2012, MARKHAM

10

Kayland Construction was recommended by friends who had their basement finished by them. Dino is the owner and he is very helpful knowledgeable and friendly. His assistant Scott was also very hardworking and friendly. They were meticulous and careful and Dino made sure that we were satisfied with everything even if it meant coming back to fix/touch-up small things. The 2 trades that had to come in were also very good. Dino's company is getting busier though, so in the beginning I had to follow-up with him a few times since he had some bigger jobs going on but once the work started and the ball got rolling everything was done as quickly as possible. We are very happy with our new hardwood floor, baseboards and backsplash and would definitely use Kayland Construction again for future renovations.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00

Dec 22, 2011, MARKHAM

7

We were very happy with the work and craftmanship of Dino, the contractor. He was very personable and reasonable and respectful of us and our home. We were unhappy with the amount of time it took to finish the project which was mostly due to getting the various tradespeople here, as they were busy with their main jobs and this seemed to be something that they had to"fit in" to their schedule; consequently the project took a lot more time than we were quoted and this was an inconvenience to us as this was our only "bath" room in our house and we had to make other arrangements for quite some time. After all this, though, we are very happy with our beautiful newly renovated bathroom.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Company Response:
Hello Blayne & Sandy, I'd like to thank you for reviewing our Company & Service. It is great to hear that you are very happy with the Work & Craftsmanship and yes, we do take our time with no rush to ensure our high level of attention to detail. (A2D) Sometimes, when dealing with multiple professional tradesmen for a small project we have to wait a bit longer for their availability. This isn't exactly fair...but I'd much rather wait for my trusted trades to show and know that the job is being done right. Thanks again for the opportunity, it was a pleasure to being of service to you.

Dec 05, 2011, NEWMARKET

10

We cannot say enough about the exeptional work Dino and his crew carried out during our basement renovation. From the moment he walked into our home we were impressed with his professionalism and knowledge. His friendly demeanor and honest approach made him easy to talk to and his expertise and attention to detail resulted in a basement that was exactly what we wanted.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$30.00
Company Response:
Hi Celina, Thank you for your kind words! It was our pleasure to be of service to you and the family. We are now edging closer to your next project (Complete home reno 2013) and are very proud & honoured in knowing that we've been asked to build your dream home! See you soon...

Nov 14, 2011, THORNHILL

10

Here are a few key themes when we contracted with Kayland to finish our basement: 1 - professional licensed trades - all the trades that were brought in for electrical/plumbing/HVAC/framers/painter were not odd job handymen. The trades Kayland brought in for our project were full time tradesmen and that's all they do. All the trades are part of his team and they have been working together for a long time. Everyone has their specific skill. We never got the tile setter doing drywalling, as an example. 2 - completion on time - any company can claim to do the work well but do they work for months on end with no end date in sight? Dino ran the build well to ensure his trades came in one after an another with very little delays between them. 3 - clear communication - along every step of the project we knew exactly what was next in the build. Dino was always available to answer questions. There were no surprises even with add-ons we did mid way through the build. 4 - follows code and more - he provided us with the options and trade off of going with code and/or going beyond building code. 5 - quality work - following code in itself doesn't always mean doing it right. There were many cases during the build where Dino and his team ensured it was done right. These details will never show up on the finished product as these details are hidden behind dry wall. This really goes back to point #1 and his trades take their time to ensure the job is done right.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Company Response:
Hi Chris, It was a lengthy but rewarding project and we are very happy with the results. I really enjoyed creating your huge movie screen and learned a few things about home theatre systems. Im sure you and the family are enjoying movie nights! all the best and Thanks for the review.

Jun 12, 2011, Richmond Hill

10

What more is there to say, but that Dino and his team are real professionals. Dino was great to work with! We had a couple of life matters that pushed the start date of our project back many months but there was never any pushing to sign off on contracts. He's someone who carries the honour of his word and that he did. Dino became not only our contractor, but actually became our friend! Dino and his team (tiler, plumber, electrician - his dad) were great in their work. Anything we had questions about they did not hesistate to ask. Our family is very inquisitive, but they never had an issue with all the questions. The work is great, we are very pleased with how everything turned out in the end as we feel both our projects look great. We definitely got our money's worth in the end and when doing a renovation that's the big thing you want to ensure. I (and my entire family) would highly recommend Dino (Kayland Contruction) for your reno needs! You'll be happy dealing with great people and your finished project will make you happy as well!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$35,000.00
Company Response:
Alim & Family, Thanks so much for this wonderful review! Im sure your Mom is cooking up some seroius food and you are all enjoying your new kitchen space.

May 27, 2011, Markham

10

Kayland Construction Concepts did a complete basement finish for us and we couldn’t say enough good things about Dino and his team. They were professional, reliable and trustworthy from the initial phone call to the end of the project. Dino was very helpful in suggestion options, ideas and workarounds. His attention to detail showed throughout every aspect of the project. The quality of workmanship was outstanding! Through each step of the renovation, Dino took the time to explain to us which made the process interesting and educational. He also went beyond the call of duty to help us with other issues in our home. He created minimal mess and inconvenience for us and was very clean and tidy. Having young children in the house Dino was so patience and understanding with them too. We felt comfortable with Dino and his team in our home as they were all very professional. Our children actually miss “Uncle Dino”! We got a building permit from the city and all the inspectors who came actually commented Dino’s great work as well. Our basement is beautiful and we are very happy with it. We would not go with anyone else for any of our future home improvements. We would highly recommend Kayland to anyone! W&D Markham

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
Helpful? Yes No
Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Company Response:
Thanks so much Wil & Dorothy for your kind words & support. It was a pleasure working for you & I know that you'll enjoy your new living space for many years to come. Talk to you soon, Dino Napolitano
This review has been flagged for verification.
Miran in Bradford Oct 01, 2010
Why am I seeing this?

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of Home Stars Directory Inc.

In this week's newsletter: Best of season is in full swing!